We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best property of our entire two-week trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Primo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Primo
Ranked #10 of 67 San Jose B&B and Inns
Oregon USA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best property of our entire two-week trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Being in Elizabeth's home is like being in your own. She instantly makes you feel welcome and you soon are aware of what customer service should be. Always available but never intrusive, she will help with all the little issues that we all have when on the road. The home is spacious, wonderfully appointed and in an upscale, safe neighborhood close to good dining and shopping options. I would stay for a month if I could! Thank you, Elizabeth.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the little bit higher cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

After almost two weeks traveling to many locations throughout Costa Rica and staying various lodging, some not so nice, it was a complete joy to arrive at Casa Primo and be greeted by Elizabeth. The facility is immaculate. Our suite at the end of the hall closest to the pool was spacious and wonderfully decorated. We were treated like family and friends. I had to take a business call from early to mid-morning so without any particular request, they delivered my breakfast to the room. We received a parking ticket and were not sure how to handle so Elizabeth called the issuing police department and received direct instructions on what we should do. We purchased food at a local grocery store and were taking it to the room when Elizabeth invited us to the dining area where she warmed and served us. I would stay here for a month. All for a monthly rate that was close to the least expensive we encountered anywhere for so very much value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REB4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A lot of places advertise that they treat guests like family, but Casa Primo is the real deal. Elizabeth and her crew are absolutely some of the nicest, most helpful and accommodating people I've ever met while traveling. From the moment we arrived, everyone could not have been nicer or more genuinely interested in making us feel at home. Whether offering to cook meals for us (in addition to the included and delicious made-to-order breakfast), giving sightseeing advice or just generally making sure we had anything we needed, what a wonderful place to stay.

A great choice if you need to be near the airport, in Alajuela or on the outskirts of town. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom cheshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a beautiful property on the out skirts of san Jose and has the advantage of being close to the airport. The owner and staff provided help and advise prior to our travel and during the course of our stay in Costa Rica, nothing was ever too much trouble. We stayed on arrival and again on departure from Costa Rica and stayed in three different rooms as we were up graded on our initial stay and can say they are all beautiful. The place is absolutely spotless and so well kept with all the facilities you could possibly need while away from home. The staff are excellent and we leave feeling we have made some Costa Rican friends. Well done and many thanks to Elizabeth, the owner, Alberto, Fatima and all the staff at Casa Primo for getting our holiday off to a really good start and finishing it on a high.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kascrofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faifax, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Pros: Staff was exemplary, breakfast was delicious, rooms were beautifully appointed and large, pool was clean and the perfect temperature, value was excellent.

Cons: A little difficult to find. But then, so are a lot of things in Costa Rica.

Our experience at Casa Primo began prior to our arrival, when I e-mailed to ask about the area and restaurant options. Elizabeth responded to all of my questions with great detail, and also included several tips that demonstrated the commitment the hotel has to its guests. When our flight was delayed 8 hours, she responded to my concerned e-mail about holding our room in less than 5 minutes. Upon our arrival after midnight, we were greeted with a smile and warm hospitality that continued throughout our stay.

The room was absolutely gorgeous; appointed with a fireplace, lovely Costa Rican artwork, a solid wood bed with towels formed into swans atop, copious furniture, and a huge bathroom. Had I known that this would be by far the most gorgeous and accommodating hotel we would stay in (and we stayed at the Tabacon Spa, to lend a comparison), we might have stuck around a while longer. As it was, we had not been so lucky with maintaining the rental car due to our late arrival, and despite promises from the company that we would have one the next morning, we did not.

The gentlemen who had greeted us the previous night realized our predicament, and began to work on our behalf, despite his limited English and our pathetic Spanish. After several hours of calling every rental company we could locate and coming up empty, we were beginning to think our vacation was seriously sidelined. However, our new friend came through; he called another friend who was able to hook us up with a 4 wheel drive for the duration of the trip that ended up costing half of the amount the big name rental company was asking. (A totally legitimate rental company, just not in any of the tour books). This friend not only provided us a car, but drove us to pick it up, translated the rental agreement, and provided us with very detailed directions and drew us maps to get around the area. We'd probably still be in San Jose had it not been for the concern and personal interest Casa Primo took in ensuring our visit to Costa Rica was a pleasant one! A wonderful example of the Costa Rican hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Casa Primo hotel is not easy to find. Trafficjams to and from San Jose all day long make it very hard to leave and to reach. Personal is lovely people ; very kind ; very helpfull. Swiming pool is very cold water!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunoPottok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

It just doesn't get better than this! The staff is so friendly and go out of their way to help you with any and all things. We had a large room with a safe, refrigerator (the grocery store is a 10 minute walk through a really nice neighborhood - as well as some good restaurants), microwave, flat screen tv, fireplace. The pool and grounds are lovely and made for relaxing conversation with drinks. Breakfast is included in the price (very reasonable) and is delicious and plentiful. Our stay was a delight. I've never felt so welcomed and cared for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dontbebossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#3 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel
Terrazas de Golf Boutique Hotel
#1 of 6 in San Antonio De Belen
5.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kaps Place
Kaps Place
#1 of 67 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Primo

Property: Casa Primo
Address: Cariari | 1km South/East from Ramada Herradura Convention Center, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Primo boutique hotel is a former hacienda house. This boutique hotel provides its guest with a warm and intimate atmosphere. Perfect for both lisure and business trips. Situated 1 km from Whyndhan San Jose Herradura Convention Center and in the beautiful golf community of Cariari. It is just 7 minutes from the international airport in San Jose and 3 minutes from the Hotel Marriott in Belen de Heredia and 15 minutes to San Jose center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Primo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Primo Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing