We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than my home, and beautiful”
Review of Casa Primo CR

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Primo CR
Ranked #8 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Belmont, California
1 review
“Better than my home, and beautiful”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

On arrival we received a super friendly greeting with smiles, and were given help to move in everything. The area was quiet, and in a safe neighborhood -a VERY rich neighborhood. When we asked about snacks, we were given fresh fruit and cookies with a sip of juice, even after a 10:15pm arrival. Upon walking in, the place was spotlessly clean, and gorgeous, and it has the character of a truly Central-American Casa. It is NICER than shown in the photos on the website.
The beds were large, and comfortable. The breakfast was enormous, and delicious, and we were given fresh squeezed juice, and even a fresh coconut that was cut right then. The inner-garden area is filled with flowers, it is quiet, has plenty of seating, and is simply beautifully taken care of. There is a small garden to walk around in, and a fabulously deep and cooling pool, with a hot tub that had strong jets at the right back-level!
The bedrooms were large, larger than most in the USA. The shower stayed hot for a very long time. We stayed 20 minutes over the limit, and were not kicked out. The woman who takes care of this property (March - April 2013) is extremely kind, and helps with everything. She even gave me money for the toll, which I didn't know I would need! The internet worked very well, on a computer that they provided.
Though we stayed only one night at first, we came back to stay another night at the end of our trip, and felt like we could just stay for a week to relax and enjoy the beautiful weather. Even though the location is "hard to find," they send you perfect directions that you can print out, with maps, and directions in Spanish for Ticos that make perfect sense. Getting from the airport to the hotel is extremely easy with the directions, and probably a bit harder with a gps. Because this 8 or 9-room Bed and Breakfast is close to the Main highway 1, you're quick to get in and out. After driving the distance twice in a Taxi, I could find it without a gps from Hwy 1. Being on a road with no exit-way, it is very peaceful.
Go here, it's so worth it!

Room Tip: Upgrading to suites is cheap and they're amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altamonte Springs, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is so comfy. I liked it so much. The owner is very cute and friendly. Location is absolutely safe and quiet, between Airport and Downtown. Our room was huge and very good furnished.
You need GPS coordinates to get there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetiana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is relatively small boutique-style hotel located in very nice neighborhood, very neat, spacious and beautiful. Very friendly and helpful stuff. It is very quiet and located conveniently.
WARNING: Tico`s address system is designed to turn your trip into adventure. Enjoy it. I suggest finding all turning points described in the address on google maps. In our case route description was correct and gps coordinates in the email were also correct, but booking.com messed it up providing wrong location on the map so we had to ask lady in some other small hotel. She told us that this is her friend's place and gave us very the same instructions that we had to follow instead of using booking.com map. It was easy after that - find shopping center along the road, turn right, go straight etc...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimaWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth S, Owner at Casa Primo CR, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much to both of you and to everyone that has reviewed our boutique hotel. We started some years ago providing accommodations for small groups and individuals looking for a warm atmosphere boutique hotel that will feel like home. Casa Primo is 7 minutes to the airport in San Jose and has easy access to the main roads that takes you to the most visit tourist attractions.
We want our guest to feel at home and that makes us different from a big hotel. We enjoy providing good service, clean rooms and a relaxing place while in Costa Rica. I hope you come to Costa Rica soon and stay at Casa Primo where you wiil always be warmly welcomed.
Rember the GPS coordinates to get to Casa Primo CR are N09.96920 W 084.15744
and we are in Residential Cariari Same neighborhood as Ramada Herradura Hotel , DoubleTree Cariari Hotel and 3 minutes from Hotel Marriott in Belen Heredia.
We thank you for your visit and we appreciate your excelent reviews. Best regards, Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The owner and helps will make you feel completely at home in this beautiful place. There's opportunities to do you own cooking, or participate in shared cooking with the owner et cetera. It's all great fun. The rooms are well maintained, very spacious and very comfortable. There's a nice lounging pool outside, with a hot tub.

Though the area it self is quite isolated from 'real' Costa Rica, you're very close to the airport and convention centers, so for business trips it's great. It's also easy to vist San Jose from here.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlavJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We cannot thank the owner enough to rent out her house to us (party of five). We would definitely coming back to this house when we are in San Jose, CR. Everything is perfect and beautiful. Daisy was the best helper that one can ask for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1stclassbudgettravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#6 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
4.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
880 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Primo CR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Primo CR

Property: Casa Primo CR
Address: Cariari | 1km South/East from Ramada Herradura Convention Center, San Jose 40703, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Primo CR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Primo CR Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing