We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, simple and affordable”
Review of La Casona de Laly

La Casona de Laly
Ranked #71 of 620 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, simple and affordable”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Ate here twice in the last two weeks. Both times were great. Good, simple food for a good price. Lots of typical 'tico-food' and a good atmosphere including great music!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marieke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    57
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious local food”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

This was our first meal after arriving in San Jose. It's a local spot that serves a lot of food for a little $. We tried the patacones, chicharrones, and ceviche. Everything was delicious and the staff was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank swxnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Typical food”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This is the place to be if you want to try some local food and enjoy a beer while you have some ceviche or chicharrones.

Patacones are amazing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Chicarrones”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a great place in Escazu to get some real good pork chicharrones. The value is good. They offer typical Costa Rican dishes at local prices. This is not some tourist trap. It's well known amongst locals and I highly recommend it if you're into this type of informal, country cuisine.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My Favorite for Tipica”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Casona de Laly is my favorite place for tipica in the San Jose area. Prices are good and the food is tasty. We particularly love the dedos de queso and the patacones mixtos. (Yes, we usually go for snacks and beers.) This is on my visit list each time I'm in the Central Valley.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casona de Laly also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
Curridabat, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Casona de Laly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing