We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A private dining experience”

Restaurant La Bastille
Ranked #25 of 599 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A private dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

When I called to book for the 5 of us tonight, our only night in San Jose, Tommy told me while he was closed, he would love to cook and serve us, if that was ok. We had the best meal, fantastic, with French wine and complimentary limoncello ..... An experience that has started our trip beautifully. Would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karenbAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    15
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“From the outside, you would never guess the inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The restaurant is unobtrusive, in an older building that many would simply walk past, not realizing that behind this simple facade, there is a pearl of a restaurant and a world-class chef.

We could not have been more pleased with our meal, from the exquisite soup to the chateaubriand with such subtle flavours and seasonings. The chef suggested an excellent wine, as he said "far better than the price would lead you to think." So instead of suggesting the most expensive wine, we got an excellent wine at a reasonable price (for Costa Rica, where wine is generally very expensive). This was our Christmas dinner and I cannot think how it could have been better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 605flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good quality, will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went for dinner with a friend was a good meal, nice atmosphere, owner is a very warm person. One of the best places to eat in San Jose!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“......will be back......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Visiting San Jose frequently I will never miss Thomy's place, La Bastille. It is simply the only restaurant out of many I visited in San Jose where the owner cares about his guests very personally. The food, French/Swiss, is delicious, the service is perfect. You feel to be welcomed in a warm and charming place by warm and charming people. You have the choice, beginning with Swiss Cheese Fondue, Zueri-Gschnetzeltes, Berner Roesti, Wiener Schnitzel, Bratwurst, Seafood, and much more, also delicious local specialities. Last but not least, the food is worth the very reasonable prices.I guess, anyone who has been here, will come back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siegfried S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Just amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

A really pleasant atmosphere, with great music. Service was excellent. The onion soup is probably the best i have ever had, Main dishes were incredibly detailed. The owner and chef is a very warm and helpful person. I´m sure we´ll be coming back. Prices are okay by the way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMunozA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Bastille also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurant La Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing