We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Isla Verde Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Verde Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Verde Hotel
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Florida
1 review
“Isla Verde Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

a fantastic experience, owners were awesome and always helpful. it was very convenient for getting a cab or bus for travel into the city or surrounding areas. the breakfast and coffee were good and the entire facility and rooms were super clean. thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank judith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Judith J,

On behalf of Isla Verde Hotel and Restaurant, I want to thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to know you´ve enjoyed your stay with us, as it encourages us to become better every day.

We look forward to have you again when in San José!

Best regards,

Lucia Shum
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    85
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
56
36
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Been there with my wife for 2 nights.
The rooms in the new section are great: new design, clean, comfortable and quiet.
The best staff we've ever stayed with.
We forgot our money and cameras in the room safe, and discovered that when we were already at the airport. We called the hotel and they sent us right away a taxi with our stuff sealed in a bag (obviousely we payed for the taxi).

Room Tip: take a room in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Netanel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Netanel,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are very pleased to know you´ve enjoyed your stay with us, and trust you had a safe trip back home.

We look forward to have you and your wife again when in San José!

All the best!

Lucia Shum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

stayed at Isla Verde on a short business trip, the hotel is clean and very comfortable and the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, going out of their way to help me and my colleagues with everything we needed. The restaurant is very good too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank beth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucia S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Beth M,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to know you and colleagues enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to have you again when in San José -hopefully for pleasure-!

Best regards,

Lucia Shum
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here only one night but was extremely impressed. It felt like a 5 star hotel for the service but at an amazingly good price. Especially when you get free taxi rides to and from Pavas Airport. I flew in was picked up, taken to the hotel, allowed to check in really early because of my flight, helped to arrange my next day travels with another free taxi ride, and a snack to go since I missed the free breakfast. The place is really clean, nicely updated, good room, comfortable bed, TV, computers to use, and good Wi-Fi. I would definitely recommend this place and if you are in between flights at Pavas Airport it wouldn't make sense to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: I took the cheaper of the rooms, the newly updated one's are a bit more, and was still really pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaGringaRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyShum, Propietario at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear La Gringa Robin,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to hear we fullfilled your expectations! We look forward to see you again next time you´re in San José!

All the best,

Lucía Shum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is literally an oasis - you walk through the doors and feel at home and relaxed by the wonderful atmosphere complete with indoor atrium and seating/social area. Excellent wifi keeps connecting with the outside world easy - if you want to. The owners are wonderful and caring and will make sure you have a top notch stay. The meals available in the attached restaurant are excellent and inexpensive, vegetarians will find it easy to meet their dietary needs here. The rooms are spacious, clean, modern, and wonderful. The shower alone is worth the stay - modern and great water pressure. The buses to nearby downtown run by just outside the hotel, and a small convenience grocery store is within two blocks walking distance. The area is safe for walking or running nearby - if you are looking for a great base camp for San Jose and surrounding area - this is a great choice at a very attractive price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just ran a large scale airborne mission in Costa Rica, called MAC13. Our research team stayed at Isla Verde for almost two weeks and I don't have a single complain. The staff understood from day 1 the seriousness and complexity of our project and provided full support. Needless to say, everybody in the hotel made our life easier. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Parroyo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here 1 night, after arriving flying in late at night from the US. The day after I took an early morning flight with Nature Air from the domestic airport Pavas.

The hotel was ideal for this; it is only 5 minutes from Pavas and the taxi to Pavas was included in the price. The rooms are comfortable and clean, service was very good (also in the booking process, which I did via email) and we had a nice breakfast. Unfortunately we didn't have time to try the restaurant or explore the area, .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariannl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
2.2 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Verde Hotel

Property: Isla Verde Hotel
Address: West Of the United States Embassy 200m | Pavas, San Jose 10109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Verde Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and Restaurant Isla Verde is a family owned business. We are located 2 blocks West from the US Embassy in Rohrmoser, close to most important bussiness centers, embassies, commercial and industrial areas, of San Jose. We are 2 miles away from the Tobías Bolaños Airport, and 12 miles from the Juan Santamaria International Airport.We have 40 rooms in total, 17 Standard rooms and 23 Deluxe rooms. Our Standard rooms are equipped with: full size and twin size beds, cable TV, private bath, AC, security box, and telephone.Our Deluxe rooms are brand new and larger rooms, equipped with: queen size beds, cable TV, 32" flat screens, modern bathrooms, AC, security box, hair dryer, telephone, complimentary gourmet coffee, and free ethernet connection to internet. All rooms include complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, use of our business center and gym.Our mission is to make you feel comfortable, wether you are in San Jose for business or pleasure. Let us service you and become "your home away from home"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Isla Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Verde Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing