We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite in Escazu!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spoon

Spoon
Ranked #130 of 589 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Cafe, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barrie
1 review
“Our Favorite in Escazu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We eat here every time we visit the Multiplaza in Escazu for shoipping. We've tried everywhere else.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank higherlifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    84
    61
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Slow day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

They was just a slow day. I eat there often, it's just ok. Good coffee! But some things are good others are just ok. Some are even less than ok. But definetely get coffee

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Montserrat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for quick food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Large fast food chain in Costa Rica.

Grat food and deserts for been fast food and really affordable. try!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Violar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ichi Ban!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I first visited Spoon in Los Yoses 29 years ago, and am pleased with the success of what is now a chain over the years. Recently we enjoyed chicken lasagna in one restaurant and if my son´s wife is with us we cannot leave without treasuring once again their torta chilena - best we´ve found anywhere! On the odd occasion when thety´ve sold out of torta chilena, we´ve enjoyed their cheese cake. An excellent spot for an afternoon coffee break! (Ichi Ban = #1 in Japanese)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Don't get the maracuya cheesecake”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Pretty clean considering how many tables turned during my visit. I know it's a chain, but that should not diminish the quality of the food. Our cheese cake was more like a vapid passion fruit jello with a very thin crust. Our cappuccinos were tasty, but the yuca bites were very oily and chewy, obviously reheated in the microwave moments before being served. Don't be fooled by their ubiquitous locations in CR. Slick Mass-produced food chain operations will never compare to the local Sodas and cafes that San Jose and Costa Rica in general has to offer.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pololos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoon also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing