We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exceptional value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Desire Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Desire Costa Rica
Ranked #49 of 83 Hotels in San Jose
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Remote location offering privacy for rest, relaxation, romance or indulgence in a hedonistic lifestyle. The hotel personnel were very friendly and considerate. The manager arranged for guides to escort me to various restaurants, nightclubs, live music and local bars in Heredia and San Jose which were open very late. The room(s) overlooking the pool was spacious enough with king sized bed, complete kitchen (minus a blender which would have been provided upon request) with a dining area and sitting area with cable tv and portable radio. Rooms were cleaned daily and kept stocked with clean towels and linens. The main building where the restaurant/quaint bar/small library are located has hardwood floors, a carved wooden column staircase, carved furniture and picture frames was kept impeccably clean. Breakfast meals were awesome. You can choose the local fare, or meals made to order. I would recommend the authentic homemade banana pancakes (with sliced bananas in each cake) served with
fresh pineapple, watermellon, cantaloupe, and berries. I
chose to open the sliding doors each morning at breakfast and take in the sight of flower gardens, local flora and fauna in the manicured gardens with San Jose in the distance
surrounded by mountains and volcanoes against an azure sky with bright white clouds. To take in the sights get a rental car with gps. You'll be glad that you did. The nine night stay during the tail end of the rainy season at this hideaway is forever etched in my memory.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERK0776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was amazed to see the reviews of this hotel on this website. Of the nine reviews, only the first and the next to last describe the place as it really is. TA needs to send an undercover guest reviewer down there to see what the place is really like.

Caveat Emptor: Reservations are prepaid in full and non-refundable. When you sign in you are signing away your right to a refund. If you decide you want to leave early and seek a refund they will fight you and your credit card company in a most miserly way to keep every last cent they can. I ended up paying not to stay there. If you must go, do not reserve a room for more than one night and don't worry about extending your stay as very few people visit with them. If they insist on an extended booking in advance, leave.

The place is isolated and difficult to find even for seasoned taxi drivers. I visited during the green season and I shared the entire place with two other couples who kept to themselves. I wouldn't have even known they were there had we not made the hundred meter plus trek to the main building (in near total darkness) for dinner at about the same time. There was nothing going on in the way of adult lifestyle activities so don't run around naked unless you want that creepy grounds keeper to smirk at you. Also, be prepared to roll your suitcase through the mud as paved walkways don't connect all the buildings. Wi-fi was available in the main building only. The so-called adult pool looked okay but the jacuzzi, and rec room looked shabby. In fact, the only nice building was the main building. The king-bed room in the cabin I stayed in was crude and unfinished. There is not much water pressure to the toilets. When I refilled a water bottle from the tap in the room the water was so cloudy I couldn't see through the bottle; be sure to take your own bottled water. You will also need a good flashlight if you intend to go anywhere outside of your room after dark. Unless you rented a car you are pretty much stuck there. They know this and charge accordingly: Their taxi into town costs $25 one way and the day trip arrangement I requested was quoted at nearly twice as much as what tour operators in town charge. Add to everything mentioned three things about Costa Rica in general: be prepared for a lot of rain, high food prices, and high gasoline prices. If you must go, do not base your expectations on their slick advertising, be ready for policies that are unreasonable and inflexible, and expect prices that are out of line.

On the positive side, nobody's there to bother you (so you can write that book you were working on), the staff was nice, the night air is cool and refreshing, there is hot (albeit somewhat murky) water in the showers, and the view of the central valley is beautiful, especially at night. I'd have given them two stars had they not taken my money for time I did not spend with them. The verdict: one star. Go elsewhere, you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon and were only able to stay for one night but we really liked it! The staff was friendly and attentive, our room was beautiful and the grounds were gorgeous! We pretty much had the place to ourselves which was a bonus. It is high up in the hills so if you are coming here it is probably best to plan on staying exclusively on-site.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank demif816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our first time in Costa Rica and it will not be our last. We were met at the San Jose airport by Geovanni, one of the drivers used by the hotel. He had looked us up on Facebook and recognized us right away. We were greeted warmly and taken right away to our hotel.

Carmen welcomed us and checked us in without delay. Room 105 - the other reviews are right... best room there! We had a huge room with lots of dark wood, and an outstanding view. My only comment on the room is that the mattress was a little on the elderly side... not a major issue by any means.

Saturday night is the busiest night of the week as locals enjoy coming to enjoy the facilities. Sunday was busier as well, then we had the place to our selves for most of the week which was wonderful. It was very quiet, which is what we enjoy. It is loud on Saturday & Sunday - the rest of the week Henry and Carmen would set it as loud or quiet (or off) as we asked. No problem.

The staff are excellent - Henry and Carmen are always happy to bring drinks or food as requested. Carmen makes a mean pina colada... wonderful! Anna & Katya cooked wonderful meals and Wendy & Laura kept our rooms clean. One of the pleasures of a small resort is that we had a chance to get to know everyone's name and that always make the service more personal.

Katya & Anna kept us fed with very tasty fresh food. The menu had plenty of choices and all that we tried were very good. Not amazing - but good. No complaints in that area.

The grounds are immaculate... there were a few gentlemen around constantly pruning, trimming, etc... and the pool was kept quite clean. We enjoyed the sun beds when the weather was agreeable, and as we had run of the place, we also enjoyed reading in the living room, porch, etc...

If you are looking for a big party scene or lots of action and entertainment - this would be a bad choice for you. We wanted quiet, and that's exactly what we got. We met some wonderful people and totally relaxed.

I'm sure we'll be back again, and we'd certainly recommend this hotel to any one looking for a relaxing holiday. Of note - we hired Geovanni to take us on day trips, canopy tour, etc... and that is the way to go. There are tour groups available, but by the time you add your cab fare to meet them, plus the excursion, they are very pricey.

Room Tip: 105 if you have a choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonesBurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Is a wonderful hotel with amazing views , the rooms are really nice and clean. The food was amazing with a large menu. The staff took care of all our tours and they help us with anything we need. We love to be nude so to find a clothing optional place for couples only in Costa Rica was great!!!! Is Close to many good tour like Poas Volcano, La Paz Waterfall, White water rafting and Canopy, just ask the front desk they will do it for you.

Room Tip: I love room 105 the view is amazinggggggggg!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicaragua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My wife and I visited the Hotel Desire complex. This hotel has huge, well tended gardens with hidden areas and many different types of accomodation to stay at. This is a romantic setting with breathtaking views from many of the rooms. Intermate evening meals in the restaurant. We relaxed by the pool, had cocktails and just chilled out on the four-poster beds. The hotel area is very interesting with wood being featured thoughout the whole building. The bedrooms were spacious and luxurious, and reminded us of our honeymoon! Do you self a favour and visit this resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeSpirit4ever16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del sur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We had a great time at Hotel Desire satyed for 4 nights All inclusive... great party on saturday with many local couples and amazing pool party on sunday. Helpful and friendly staff.. Then we move to Jaco .. transfers and massages were included!! we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Don't know the name of the room but was 105, Great room with AMAZING VIEW
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.4 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
3.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
7.2 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#28 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
7.3 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desire Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desire Costa Rica

Property: Hotel Desire Costa Rica
Address: Santa Barbara, San Jose 10109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desire Costa Rica is an All Inclusive, Lifestyle,Clothing optional ADULT/COUPLES ONLY Resort in Santa Barbara, overlooking the valley of San Jose and 20 minutes from the airport.It is for couples that do not have to be nude and that are not offended by nudity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Desire Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Desire Costa Rica San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing