We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A fabulous place to enjoy exotic food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sash Restaurant

Sash Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 513 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In Arab cuisine "Sash" is the oven where the bread that traditionally accompanies Eastern dishes are prepared. Condiments, colors, aromas and special ingredients make our Lebanese food tickle your senses. We invite you to taste the legacy that generations have preserved and today we serve with pride! Bon Appetite!
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to enjoy exotic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I love going to Sash. We don't even have to look at the Menu because we know it by heart! Meat, grilled vegetables, delicious Humus.... and fantastic service!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ileana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    44
    5
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great authentic food -perfect for sharing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The food is excellent Lebanese in Costa Rica --- which is hard to find in CR. Great dishes to share with friends and family. The flavors, ingredients and combinations are well thought out. I love their hummus, taboule, and grilled eggplant and zuchini. Highly recommend the "Lebanese Mesa Vegetariana" -- great to share for 2 people. Very filling. The server, Mario, is wonderful- very nice and attentive and the owners are always on site checking to make sure everything is to your liking. Great asset to Rohrmoser/Pavas close to Plaza Major.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katma_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojochal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“I love the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

When you walk in you definitely get a great feeling. The decor is really nice and soothing. Transporting you. We ordered bocas. The baba ghanoush was amazing. I loved the different things served on top. The bread they serve with everything is hot and delicious. And you have to tell them to stop bringing it. I didn't care for the falafel and the hummus needed a little salt and pepper. However these are minor things. I feel when considering this place you should consider the entire package. The owner is ever present to check on you and ensure you are having a great time. The upstairs where they have parties on the weekends is super cool. Check it out for yourself as they are definitely worth a try. I love this type of food, so we will be back. Thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lebanese Cuisine at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Best Lebanese Restaurant in San José. You'll find all the traditional Lebanese dishes and much more, refined, fresh, well served and delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HolaSanJos_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nope”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Haven't found a dish that I will go back for. I end up going again because I'm stuck with someone who decided to go, and each time I'm disappointed. I've eaten Lebanese in the Middle East and this is a very poor imitation.

Helpful?
1 Thank Montserrat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sash Restaurant also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Sash Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing