We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most incredible food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Ritorno

Il Ritorno
Ranked #169 of 599 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most incredible food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I known this restaurant for 5 years and it has been one of the best things that ever happened to me. Since I was in italian classes in the same building I get to know most of the menu. Agnolotti Mezza Luna are one of the best pasta dishes, the sauce is spectacular!!! The Nutella crepe is a must as well!!! Super recommended and the place is super cozy for family dinners or going for a nice dinner out with your loved one.

Helpful?
Thank Mariela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best service in San jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I eat here several times a month. I have never had a bad meal here in 8 years under the ownership of Tony or Marco. Having the owner/operator in the kitchen makes all the difference. I don't think I have looked at a menu in 5 years, They will make you anything you want. The staff has been there forever. You won't go wrong here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjoseguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselshell Mt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Italian food at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just get into a taxi & tell the driver Casa Itatia, My friend & owner of many years,Tony, sold his restaurant to now the new owner,& chef Marco. The food has been & still is as fantastic as ever & very inexpensive. Take it from me a true New York, Italian & eating at this place for so many years, I have come to make it a point that I introduce everyone to this classic eatery. My Tica Doctor girlfriend has all her Hospital staff eating here. As Tony would greet you at the door or your table, Marco has followed this tradition. He & all his waiters speak English & are all very helpful with suggesting the evenings specials or help with the menu.Great Wine list & Bar. If you have a special request for Dinner,just call Marco & he will do his best to accommodate your needs. I get treated to all the Italian deserts that are made fresh every night, just like home. Tiramisu, Heavenly, beyond taste buds. You will enjoy or forgetaboutit!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
1 review
“A wanna be Italian, very expensive.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just visited this restaurant a few days ago and I must say I did not like it at all. The food was really spicy and definitely not Italian, not even close.

I ordered a pesto plate to start, the portion was small and had a few pieces of Costa Rican salami and nothing else. no mozzarella, no prosciutto, Italian pepper, zucchini, no basil or olive oil. Two small pieces of cheese that tasted like it was found in the garbage, came without garlic bread and when I asked for bread which is served with any pesto plate anywhere in the world, they served me two tiny pieces and charged for it also.

The pasta was way over cooked. an insult to Italian culture.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MauriceDeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“La comida fue excelente!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The food was very good and the restaurant is very quaint. The service is fast, but not friendly, so don´t sweat it, just enjoy the wonderful food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Ritorno also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Il Ritorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing