We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irazu and Poas day tours”

Expediciones Tropicales Day Tours
Ranked #24 of 102 Tours in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed January 7, 2017

In December 2016 we took 2 tours with Expediciones Tropicales -- 1) Irazu Volcano, Orosi Valley and Lankester Gardens (day tour), 2) Poas Volcano and Doka Estates (half-day tour). Our guides were Jorge and Martin respectively.

The guides are very friendly and competent, overall both tours were worthwhile to us -- we did see the scheduled main attractions. However, I do have a bit of reservations about these tours: first, and this is the biggest problem, they should go to the volcanoes the very first thing and allow ample time for people to explore. On both tours, we made stops before heading to the volcanoes (on the Irazu tour at a cafe/restaurant; on the Poas tour at Doka Estate). But as we know, the volcanoes are usually more clear in the morning and covered by clouds as the day progresses. Also, as we arrived at the parks late in the morning, the line waiting to enter became longer. Thus, precious time was wasted. This is more so on the Poas tour when the visit to Doka Estate took longer as people walked around and bought coffee, etc. It is much better to move this visit to after the volcano visit. As such, when we arrived at the crater, clouds were rapidly moving in, whereas earlier, we could see that it was much more clear.

In addition, the Irazu tour only allows 40 minutes to explore the volcanoes, this is not sufficient (the Poas tours allows more time). The Irazu tour in general is very rushed, I think it is much better to move the Lankaster Garden visit to after lunch, and allow us at least 1 or 1.5 hours to explore the volcano.

Another problem is that these groups tend to be bigger than the ones we joined -- at least 12 or more people. Thus, as the tour bus stopped at various hotels to pick up people, more time is spent.

None of this is the guides' fault per se (although they probably could provide input to their company to optimize these tours). I suggest that the tour company take these into consideration and optimize the tours to make them more enjoyable for tourists.

2  Thank howiewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"combo tour"
in 22 reviews
"la paz waterfalls"
in 20 reviews
"poas volcano"
in 39 reviews
"doka coffee plantation"
in 14 reviews
"strawberries"
in 14 reviews
"tabacon hot springs"
in 12 reviews
"coffee tour"
in 13 reviews
"calypso cruise"
in 2 reviews
"waterfall gardens"
in 8 reviews
"lankester gardens"
in 5 reviews
"second stop"
in 2 reviews
"international buffet"
in 2 reviews
"bagged lunch"
in 2 reviews
"half day tour"
in 6 reviews
"tabacon grand spa"
in 2 reviews
"zip line"
in 11 reviews
"the coffee making process"
in 2 reviews
Filter

44 - 48 of 229 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2016

The tour started with a pick-up from our hotel at 7a - We traveled to pick-up a few other passengers before heading to breakfast. The breakfast in my opinion was nasty - the restaurant did not appear clean - the ceiling fans had a ton on dust on them and the floors did not appear clean. The served plantains, rice/black beans, scrambled eggs, and fruit. No meat! We than started the tour of the Coffee Plantation which was excellent. After this we traveled to the volcano which was quite a hike - be sure to wear sneakers (comfortable shoes) its a lot of walking - I traveled to the top of the volcano to see the Lake but it was too cloudy to see. Afterwards we traveled to a little store where they were giving samples of cheeses - than we went to La Paz Waterfalls. the lunch was OUTSTANDING! nothing like the breakfast - the waterfalls were beautiful - the animals were also very nice - Overall the experience was nice!

1  Thank Rasheeda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016

The tour and tour operator (Eric) was great, but I wouldn't recommend using this company as I won't in the future. They charged me wrong and I had to pay three times for the same tour while waiting for refunds for their mistake. I highly recommend going elsewhere because if you have an issue they are unhelpful.

2  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2016

If you are truely interested in walking around the downtown área of San Jose and discovering the real native treasures the city offer, but you are timid, or have a poor sense of direction. Perhaps you just like getting a lay of the land in a new environment. This tour is perfect for that. Jorgen, from Intrepid Adventure tours, is a 23 year old vegitarian who loves his city. In this tour, he meets you outside the 1880 Mercado (market) in the center of downtown, to give you a personalized walking tour of the Fruit-Veg Bazzar, Food-Goods Bazzar, National Cathedral, and Municiple church. Jorgen gives you a taste of unknown items, while explaining the history and stories of Costa Rica coffee, fruits and vegitables. The unidentified currios in the market, are explained, and the history of Costa Rica is outlined while naviagiting the streets of downtown San Jose. The contact or confirmation number, does not always pick up, so keep trying until you get Adventure Tours.

Thank charles g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I have traveled so many times with Expediciones Tropicales, this is a serious and excellent agency. Tours are so nice, prices are according with the tour offer, they have so many "one day tours" so, you can visit nice places in Costa Rica in only one day and make the best use of your time. They are so punctual and organized, they always offer the best restaurants of the area, and all tours are English talked. If you visit Costa Rica, I recommend 100% Expediciones Tropicales to make your plan.

Thank Cris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia L, Gerente at Expediciones Tropicales Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2016

Dear Cris A,

Best regards from your Friends at Expediciones Tropicales.
Thank you for your time and your comments.

Your comments help us so we can maintain the high quality services we are known for since 23 years ago.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to our country, especially your services with us.
Best regards

Sylvia Lobo Romero.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Expediciones Tropicales Day Tours also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Expediciones Tropicales Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing