We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ram Luna tour & Poas/Doka/Grecia/Sarchi tour”

Expediciones Tropicales Day Tours
Ranked #15 of 94 Tours in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Orange Cove, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ram Luna tour & Poas/Doka/Grecia/Sarchi tour”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our Ram Luna tour was great.We were picked up from our hotel on time and taken to a typical Costa Rican buffet as well as folkloric performances. The food was great and the show was amazing. There was not a cloud in sight and we were able to see the valley with all the city lights. The fireworks were ok, but overall the night was great. Our tour guide gave us so much information about San Jose while we were picking up other tourists joining our group. He made sure we were all having fun.

Our second tour to Poas/Doka/Grecia/Sarchi was great! Our tour guide Jesus was so informative and fun. He made gave us plenty of time to explore and shop. We learned so much about the volcano, coffee, and the metal church in Grecia.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    37
    16
    7
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Investment in Costa Rica”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We took the combo tour, Poas Volcano-Doka Coffee-La Paz Waterfalls and had the best time ever in one day. Our tour guide was excellent, Adrian, and our driver, Edgar, was a boss. Even the cows crossing the roads stopped for him. It was a day packed full of nature, walking and fun! I would recommned it to all first time travelers.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank LadyDiNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“First rate tour”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was impressed with the tour I took (One Day to Irazu Volcano Orosi Valley and Lankester Botonical Gardens) in June 2012. The group was small (8 of us), the guide, Hernan, knowledgeable and willing to share about all things Costa Rican, and the lunch at a coffee plantation was super.
The mini-van, by the way, picked me up at my hotel early!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One amazing day is Costa Rico”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just got back from an amazing day in Costa Rico! We signed up for the combo tour.
The company picked us up at the hotel right on time and we were off to the Doka coffee plantation for a traditional CR breakfast and a great tour of the facility. The guide was incredibly knowledgable, speaking fluent English and actually taking us on the tour. Very scenic.
After the tour, we were off to the Poas volacano. Again, our guide took us up to the volcano crater, providing history and geology fact, along with info about the ecosystem. The morning was clear do we got to see the volacano crater with no issues.
After the volcano, we headed out to the La Paz waterfall garden. Don't let the name fool you--there is so much more than just waterfalls( in case the waterfalls weren't enough). There an aviary with Tucans and parrots, a butterfly garden which is amazing, mountain lions and cogars, snake and reptile exhibits and much more. Once again, our guide took us down into each exhibit and provided amazing details. We had lunch at La Paz-- very good, with a mix of costa Rican and some American fare. After that, we went on to the waterfalls. There's no way I can put that experience into words, so I'm not even going to try. I'll just say it was breathtakingly amazing.
Once we let the garden, our bus picked us up and brought us back to the hotel--simply an amazing day.
If you're in Costa Rica, have a day, and want to learn and experience a variety of what the country is about, I would highly recommend this tour with this company. A truly amazing day for a tremendous value!

Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great Rainforest Adventure Tour and Excellent Guide”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was my third tour from Expeditiones Tropicales in the past 3 years. This one was the RainForest Adventure 3-In-I. Out guide was Ricardo Quesada. He arrived promptly at our hotel with a clean mini-van. There was only threee of us on the tour so we had plenty of room. On the drive to Puerto Viejo, he provided great commentary through the National park and stopped once to allow us refreshments and several times for photos. The trip up the Sarapiqui river was excellent with a great boat captain and guide, who spotted a lot of things that we would otherwise have missed. Great coffee and fruit was served after the boat trip. The Selva Verde nature walk was nothing too special but they served a terrific lunch at the lodge. The third part of the tour was the Aerial Tram was exceptional. On the way back to San Jose Ricardo kept us amused with excellent conversation. He is extremely knowledgeable, charming, and good company. If you get an opportunity to take a tour with Ricardo, you won't be disapointed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Expediciones Tropicales Day Tours also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Expediciones Tropicales Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing