We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for starting or ending a trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Casa Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Casa Colon
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for starting or ending a trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We recently stayed at Casa Colon for one night at the end of a trip and it was perfect for our needs. With a private room, it had more of a hotel feel than a hostel feel. It's in that mid-range of pricing that seems hard to find in San Jose (the $30-50 range). The building is quite nice with clean lines and pleasant decorating; the room clean and not shoebox tiny and with a window (not a view); the breakfast was what you would expect for an included meal (aka pretty meh as to quality) but starts early (6am, although coffee was not ready at that time). We discovered a nice patio area that we would definitely sit on with some beverages next time. There's wifi plus AC and cable TV.

The location is fantastic. It's just a few blocks from rental cars, the Tica Bus station, and the Corner Pizzeria. It's walking distance from a Mas X Menos, Sabana Park, and the pedestrian mall on Paseo Colon including the National Theater, etc. Our room was on the backside and with the window shut and AC on we were not bothered by any traffic noise.

This is now our go to place in San Jose for short term stays (for long term, we look for AirBnB apartments). We like it better than a more expensive hotel we'd previously tried (bigger room, better location, breakfast included, all for less money). It's more expensive that a hostel we'd previously tried but since the location eliminates our need for a taxi to reach say the Tica Bus station or the rental car offices on Paseo Colon, the price difference is offset (and it was much more comfortable).

As a final note - largest and fluffiest towels ever! The evil angel on my shoulder thought I should steal one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelCasaColon, Gerente at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Gratifying to know that you feel comfortable in the hostel. We have implemented common for the enjoyment of all our guests areas, soon we will have food and beverage service in those areas.
Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    93
    50
    11
    18
See reviews for
21
77
84
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at Hostel Colón. I chose this hostel because of my reserch and reviews. It's the second hostel I've ever stayed. Upon my arrival I was pleased by the interior. The staff was helpful and my prívate room for three nights was good. However, i was dissapointed with the dirty sheets on my bed. I complained to the front desk, and there were no clean sheets in the lanudry room. The desk clerk went upstairs and returned to my room with unfolded sheets. The bottom sheet smelled fresh, but the stop sheet smelled really bad. I was annoyed, and decided to buy my own sheets during my stay.
I was given room 201. It's a nice prívate room with a balcony, but the outside noise from the busy street will not allow you to get a good night sleep.
On my fourth night I booked in the same hostel, but in one of the hostel dorms. I wanted to experience hostel living inside of a dorm with other people(so I thought).
I must admit that I overlooked the dorm accomodations on the internet. The dorms were coed, two men and four ladies were assigned to the dorm I was given. The bathroom was coed on the second floor, and a bathroom with three showers for women were located on the first floor.
After being told what to expect in my door bu the front desk clerk. I decided to take a look at the dorm room I was assigned.
I held steady to my positive thoughts, and first time expereince as I approached the door to the dorm.
Needless to say I was not pleased with the smell of feet, and alcohol. The smell was so strong that it knocked me out of dormas 204. There was no windows, and no vents.The sight of two strange men laying on the bottom of two separate bulks staring at me when I opened the door appeared wrong. I said hola, como está usted. No one answered. I knew at that moment, there was no way I'll sleep in a dorm with strangers.
I checked with the front desk for a prívate room, but the hostel was full. I called around San José to local hostel for a prívate room, and they were all booked.
Because of the many rooms in Hostel Colón lobby área, I was able to sleep on a leather sofa for the night. The room was one of many rooms not use often by the guess.
A staff member offered a clean sheet, blanket, and pillow after realizing I was crashing on the sofa for the night in Hostel Colón. Although I never slept in a lobby area of a hostel. I felt safe there on the sofa, and it was better than sleepimg in a smelly room with strangers.
I suggest prívate rooms over dorms when booking a hostel. And please reserch and read all reviews.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BooksbyrobynHowzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelCasaColon, Gerente at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for your comments the hostel has private and shared rooms for all tastes of our customers, there are people who do not like to sleep with other people and prefer to have a private room, like you!
Also We regret the inconvenience with the sheets!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have never been at any hostel where the front desk personal, cook and servers were so friendly helpful and lovable. this is a hostel that I would recommend to the entered world
Cesar Castillo Bertelli from Atlanta Georgia

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cesar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelCasaColon, Recepcionista at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias! Señor Cesar por su comentario, día a día nos esmeramos por brindarle a los huéspedes un servicio de cálida y nos motiva saber que se sintieron muy cómodos en Hostel Casa Colón, los esperamos en Febrero del próximo año!!!

Saludos Cordiales!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bed room and it was great. Very clean with nice sheets. Best shower I've had in Costa Rica. The place was a very charming boutique hostel. Relatively close to the airport as well. Friendly staff.

Trip advisor really wanted me to review this hostel and I'm happy to do it, but needing 200 characters to submit a review is excessive.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lstasi678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelCasaColon, Recepcionista at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Google Translation
Hola Amigo (a)!!!

Nos alegra saber que comprobó por usted mismo (a) el servicio y la grata hospitalidad de Hostel Casa Colón, siempre es un gusto atenderles, y estar a anuentes a colaborar en lo que este a nuestro alcance, nos alegramos de que haya disfrutado su estancia al máximo,

Saludos Cordiales!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Positive: The service by the owner and the ladies at the front desk was excellent. Very helpful and nice. The Junior Suite was very big and comfortable.

Negative: The breakfast was tiny and the juice not always fresh. Also, it rained very strong one night and the ceiling was leaking on the bed and on the floor. The other guests were a bit noisy at times during the night, but it did not especially affect my sleep fortunately.

In general, I was pretty satisfied for choosing this hostel as a single woman. I felt safe and very well taken care of.

Room Tip: The Junior suite 202 with the big bed (small bathroom) was excellent and very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelCasaColon, Gerente at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Google Translation
Hola Eve,

Nos complace saber que le encanto nuestro hostal y nuestros servicios, le pedimos disculpas debido al inconveniente con la gotera en su habitación, lamentablemente estamos en temporada de lluvia y estos problemas empiezan a surgir, sin embargo ya hemos solucionado el inconveniente y le recordamos que la esperamos con los brazos abiertos en Hostel Casa Colón, su casa en Costa Rica.

Saludos Cordiales!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Enjoyed Casa Colon. Beautiful old family home converted into hotel/hostal. Only problems were noise in streetside units due to extremely heavy traffic and slippery floors in shower stalls. Very comfortable with good beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gymwhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelCasaColon, Recepcionista at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We hope see you again in Hostel Casa Colón for us always is a pleasure attend you!!

Best Regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We got a private room, facing the Scotiabank ATM. We felt safe in the area, our room was clean, and the breakfast was fantastic. The staff were not as amiable as we had read, but they were helpful in answering our questions.

Casa Colon arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport, which cost around $28 USD. Breakfast was included.

For the price, it was average, but it's convenient for flights that land later in the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelCasaColon, Recepcionista at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Google Translation
Hola Sophia, lamentamos que no todo el servicio superara sus expectativas, sin embargo nos agrada saber que su habitación siempre estuvo limpia y esta fue de su agrado, respecto al servicio del personal haremos todo lo posible por mejorar y mantener el buen servicio al cliente, me disculpo en nombre de todo el equipo de Hostel Casa Colon y esperamos tenerla de nuevo en nuestro Hostel, le garantizamos desde ya, que no se presentara ningún otro inconveniente en el servicio en otra ocasión.

Saludos Cordiales!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#59 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
2.7 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Colon

Property: Hostel Casa Colon
Address: Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte | Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Casa Colon 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Casa Colon is a beautiful colonial house in the 50s, with an architectural design typical of the period, with artisan hand carved cedar. We are a boutique Hostel with excellent quality, higher standards of each of the services Located in an excellent tourist and commercial area with easy access to services (banks, ATM machines, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, gas stations, shops, transport, etc) We offer private and shared rooms, bar and restaurant, security, excellent customer service and tourist information, free parking, TV room with flat screen cable TV. The comfortable private rooms have flat screen, cable TV, wireless internet access and housekeeping. (In addition sofa in Junior Suite) The dorms have bunk beds, free lockers, shared bathrooms spotless. The bar and restaurant offers delicious dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Casa Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Colon Hotel San Jose
Hostel Casa Colon Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing