We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable hostel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Casa Colon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Casa Colon
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable hostel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The rooms are very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the hostel itself is quite nice and well-kept. The staff were kind and helpful. It was a bit noisy, but that is probably to be expected anywhere in central San Jose. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are much closer to the washrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    88
    50
    11
    16
See reviews for
20
74
80
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have travelled far and wide in Central America and always stay at hostels. I actually live in Playa Manuel Antonio and come occassionally to San Jose and spend the night. I somehow missed this one...and was glad I found it. I just happened to be passing by on Paseo Colon going to another hostel when I saw Casa Colon and thought I should go check it out. My mouth dropped open when I saw how incredibly beautiful it was. Furniture, floor plan, restaurant, bathrooms, showers..TV room or gathering room. Everything was totally top notch. I had a good night sleep better than I have had in previous hostels and now I find myself going to San Jose more frequent. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Casa Colon. The receptionists deserve a mention also. They are great, friendly and aim to please.

Room Tip: As for one in the back so the street noise doesn't disturb you....They are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donareina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was my first time in a hostel, and it was amazing it didnt feel like a hostel. the staff were very accommodating, and Linda went out of her way to help us with everything we needed. On the weekends the bar does play the music really loud, so make sure your room is far away from there as possible.

Room Tip: The private rooms are worth the money, especially if you are not used to hostels. On weekends the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for one evening.
Amazing service, clean, and very reasonable price for what they offer.
Even the food was good.

ABOUT THE NOISE COMPLAINT: This is in the HEART of San José. Our window faced the street and we didn't have much noise (Friday night). They did have a "social night" (loud people drinking and talking), but it was until about 9:30pm, then things began to quiet down and by 10pm things were pretty quiet.

Even still... this is not the place you should be staying at if you are looking for quiet R and R-the rest of Costa Rica is much better suited for that.

So if you are looking for a place to stay in between stops, or need a place to stay for a few days while in the city, look no further!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you book throughnExpedia, make sure to confirm with the hotel personally that they have a record of the reservation. We showed up in the evening, and the lady, despite nice, had no record of us. Good thing they had an empty room, but I see other travelers have not been so lucky!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaybaybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

My friend and I arrived late in the evening after our flight from the states. We had booked a private room and were hoping to get a good night's rest. Upon our arrival they told us the horrible news that a group of Italian boys had stayed in our room the night before and had TOTALLY TRASHED the room. They offered to put us in a dorm-style room...this is not what we wanted but given it was nearly 23:00, we just wanted to shower and sleep. The woman lied and said there were only 2 other girls in the room but when we walked in, there were at least 4 people in the room. We decided to leave Casa Colon and had the girl at the front desk help us book a most horrible place a block down the road at Hotel Ambassador (that's another review). Instead of offering to completely remove the bill for us the girl walked us down the grimy, late-night streets of San Jose to the other hotel and just paid the difference. Unbelievably so, the room at Ambassador was 20 dollars more expensive (lord knows why!!!) We were hoping for a great first night in San Jose but unfortunately, Casa Colon left us with a very bitter feeling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MMHworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stayed at this hostel quite a few times since the start of 2012. I keep going back and having had some quite different stays there I am now starting to weigh up whether I actually think it is worth the extra money over other hostels in San Jose (of which I have been to about 5 others).
Starting with the good points. I like that there is a bar and restaurant in the hostel as sometimes this can just be more convenient (and nicer) than the ample supply of fast food chains on Paseo Colon. The rooms and bathrooms are always spotless and the beds comfy. The place feels more like a hotel rather than a hostel. The cleaners are always milling around and the staff are friendly and happy to help.
On the downside, some of the rooms are really noisy through the night and the morning. One of them to the point that i couldnt sleep in there as every 2 minutes the beeping of the pedestrian crossing by it would go off. Many people have commented on the noise before and this is just what you get with a hostel situated on Paseo Colon. However, the noise from the restaurant and bar has also been too much on a couple of occasions. If this was down to people staying at the hostel then you just have to take it, but the owners seem to put on a lot of functions for large groups. As someone else also commented, this can make the location of the downstairs bathrooms somewhat tricky if you are in a dorm and need to walk through the bar to get to the shower! At the beginning they also seemed to have many wifi and hot water problems, but this seems to have been rectified now. The wifi isnt the fasted I have had in a hostel still though.
The breakfast is nice, but as you need to pay $5 extra for the basic breakfast this isn't great value compared to other hostels that will give you pancakes/fruit and include in the bed price which is already cheaper.
Overall, I think that maybe it isn't worth staying here (compared to other hostels in San Jose) if your budget is stretched. But if you end up here you will be happy.

Room Tip: Refuse the dorm at the bottom of the stairs (Room 101, I think) as it is by far the noisiest and als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillipsrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.9 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#28 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#62 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
2.7 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Colon

Property: Hostel Casa Colon
Address: Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte | Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Casa Colon 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Casa Colon is a beautiful colonial house in the 50s, with an architectural design typical of the period, with artisan hand carved cedar. We are a boutique Hostel with excellent quality, higher standards of each of the services Located in an excellent tourist and commercial area with easy access to services (banks, ATM machines, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, gas stations, shops, transport, etc) We offer private and shared rooms, bar and restaurant, security, excellent customer service and tourist information, free parking, TV room with flat screen cable TV. The comfortable private rooms have flat screen, cable TV, wireless internet access and housekeeping. (In addition sofa in Junior Suite) The dorms have bunk beds, free lockers, shared bathrooms spotless. The bar and restaurant offers delicious dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Casa Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Colon Hotel San Jose
Hostel Casa Colon Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing