We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Abierta B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Abierta B&B
Ranked #6 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

After having bicycled from San Francisco to San Jose Costa Rica experiencing every imaginable accommodation from mountaintop campsites to indigineous villages to roadside "hotels", landing at Darrylle's door was a gift from Hermes himself. Truly a touch of home was apparent at every turn. From the exquisite breakfasts of fresh organic fruits and breads to the impeccable interior appointments I couldn't have felt more at home. Darrylle's broad life experiences allowed fascinating conversations with utmost curiosity of his guests. Casa Abierto defines the B&B experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeloGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
66
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I am finishing up an 8-day stay here (dentists' office 3 blocks away!). I had intended to travel over the weekend, but got so comfortable here, I decided to stay put! Darrylle, an incredibly kind ,gentle , gracious and generous host, has made my stay just about perfect. I love the breeze coming thru the upper windows, and the birdsongs that lend just enough jungle sound to make me feel like I'm in the tropics --without the mosquitoes!
As a single woman traveling alone, I also appreciate the safety as well as the centrality of the neighborhood ---an ideal place to take a late afternoon walk. (Even the nearby cash machine is safe-something, alas I can't say about some other parts of Central America...)
Darrylle has also been incredibly generous, including me in meals with friends, and a trip to San Jose's main food market (see Pix!) His housekeeper, Maria, is incredibly efficient, attentive and unobtrusive.. To summarize, I can't imagine how this stay could be improved!..
One more kudo: I had to take care of some unexpected business matters, and Darrylle was incredibly gracious in printing and scanning the paperwork I needed. So convenient not to have to go to the business office or front desk in some hotel!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms is fine....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sfmaria101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Four of us spent four excellent days at Casa Abierta: a wonderful calm atmosphere in delightfully decorated and furnished rooms with one of the best breakfasts you could wish to have! Ewa and Maria were delightful and thoughtful hosts who were keen to ensure all our needs were met and were always very helpful. It is very conveniently located in a quiet neighbourhood- it's a twenty minute stroll into the centre of San Jose, while there are some good restaurants nearby- we particularly enjoyed Whappin, which serves Caribbean food. This was the first place we stayed on our holiday and and was a wonderful introduction to Costa Rica. A great place to stay!
Paul H , Norwich, England.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Casa Abierta is infused with a spirit that comes from the owner that is kind, generous and respectful. I did not meet him, as he was in India, but his good friend Ewalina and Maria, the administrator, cook and house keeper, were delightful. Staying at Casa Abierta was a perfect respite from the trials of traveling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WaveHogW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful stay at Casa Abierta in San Jose, for 5 nights. Darrylle's assistant Ewelina helped us to get settled in and was a very helpful resource in providing information and tips for travelling in Costa Rica. Maria prepared excellent breakfasts for us in the morning; we got to try her delicious homemade jam and banana/papaya breads, gallo pinto and fried plantains, amongst many other breakfast items. Maria also kept our room nice and clean while we were away during days.
It was really nice to meet other travellers in the BnB to share our experiences; a completely different atmosphere than an isolated hotel room. The BnB is secure in a secure area with a gated and manned entrance 24 hours a day, and we never felt unsafe.
The location is about a 15 minute walk from downtown which was convenient for us, as we walked there twice during our stay. Lastly, the WIFI in the upstairs bedroom is pretty fast. Thanks for the great experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashe x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My fiance and I stayed with Darrylle both upon arriving and departing Costa Rica. We had the most comfortable and welcoming stay we have ever experienced. Darrylle is made for being a BB owner, he is gracious, great company, and very helpful. Breakfast was the best ever thanks to the efforts of Maria and Darrylle. He was able to help us book tours and find our way around. Dont be in a rush to leave San Jose. While the city itself is not exactly world-class, staying at Casa Abierta is!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Casa Abierta on the way in to CR and the way back out - one night each. Management was extremely accommodating - picking us up at the airport on the way in, and arranging a taxi for us very early in the morning on the way out. They provided great breakfast and food when we came in late one evening.

The room was reasonably sized, with plenty of places to put luggage. Comfortable queen sized bed with an adjoining bathroom (shared with another room but easy to lock up when you're in it, so no problems with sharing at all).

At the price I can't think of a better place, and an impersonal hotel wouldn't have helped us get oriented into CR and have a great trip like Darrylle and his staff did. Totally great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScienceExperiments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#5 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kaps Place
Kaps Place
#1 of 66 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa 69
Casa 69
#2 of 66 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Abierta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Abierta B&B

Property: Casa Abierta B&B
Address: Barrio Dent, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in the suburbs of Santa Ana and Escazu, far from cultural activities and requiring expensive taxis through heavy traffic to get you where you want to go? We are located in one of the best neighborhoods in the heart of the city - centrally located, safe, quiet and within walking distance to the University of Costa Rica, galleries, museums, parks, theaters, cinemas, fine restaurants, shopping areas and excellent public transportation. At the end of our street is a lovely park that runs along a creek for several blocks. Relax and immerse yourself in the beauty of our home's tranquil, multicultural and open-minded ambiance. Breakfast on fresh tropical fruits, homemade breads and jams, organic cereals, yogurts and rich Costa Rican coffee, share some stories, explore ideas on how we can develop a better world and enjoy an intimate inside experience of what life can be like in Costa Rica. Casa Abierta is well organized and clean, but relaxed, warm and meant to be enjoyed. Great conversation and daily breakfast are included. Laundry services are available upon request. Although not intrusive on your privacy, our host is available to share interesting conversations and meals and assist you in any way. Easy access to all forms of public transportation. We provide safe, comfortable and efficient airport transfers for a fee and can book other tours and transportation needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Abierta B&B Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing