We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't imagine a better place in San Jose”
Review of Casa Abierta B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Abierta B&B
Ranked #9 of 68 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Casa Abierta is THE place to go if you are unfamiliar with Costa Rica: Darrylle is wonderfully helpful in explaining the best the country has to offer while providing a beautiful abode in the nicest part of the city. It was a delight to wake up in the mornings, enjoying the gorgeous weather and a huge delicious breakfast downstairs.

We can't thank Darrylle enough for his wonderful hospitality--plus, he was super flexible with us throughout our stay. We weren't always the easiest to accommodate based on our loose schedule, but he was so gracious!

We're totally going to be coming back to Costa Rica... and when we do, we'll be back at Casa Abierta!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCapozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 141 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

No question about it, Casa Abierta is the most comfortable and easy to use lodging that I've had in nearly any city. Darrylle is a pleasure to meet and get to know, his space is clean comfortable and safe, and the location and neighborhood are as user friendly as a traveler can get.

Room Tip: Two rooms. Both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadroneHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night but would love to have stayed longer, Darylle is a marvellous host and the breakfast was out of this world, thanks to Maria. Just take your time over breakfast to engage in some fascinating conversation.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwillmsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We only stayed one night but we instantly felt at home. Beautiful setting with an amazing garden terrace. The house is convenient to all San Jose has to offer. Darrylle and his housekeeper Maria looked after us from beginning to end. This is our new place to stay for our furture trips to San Jose. Highly recommended.

Tom & Pam
Ottawa, Canada

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms and they are identical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ViajeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Casa Abierta or "Open House" really does live up to its name. Darrylle was a very generous open and knowledgeable host who made me feel at home from the moment I arrived. Within minutes of realizing I left my passport back at a hotel, Darrylle explained the "messenger" system in Costa Rica, helped me coordinate with the hotel, and I was reunited with this important document that afternoon. We shared many hours of great conversation about life in the cool, beautiful patio of the house. I also recommend going out to farmers markets on Saturday morning with Darrylle and Maria. And the icing on the cake, you get to go back and enjoy the fresh fruits purchased that morning for breakfast. I will stay here again next time I find myself in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our first trip to this area of San Jose, and I have to say that it was enhanced by staying at Casa Abierta. It's conveniently located; well within walking distance to shops, restaurants and museums. After a busy day, it's great to sit and relax by the garden patio. Darrylle is the perfect host, very knowledgable on such a wide variety of subjects, and just plain fun to talk with. His energy and enthusiam for life is contagious! A great breakfast provided by Maria rounds out the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonTM1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent our first night in Costa Rica with Darrylle Stafford at the Casa Abierta. It was a great way to begin our trip. Darrylle is the consummate host. Our overnight stay was one of a highlight of our two weeks in Costa Rica. He picked us up at the airport and made us feel welcome. His B and B is warm and homey. The breakfast is the greatest. Darrylle's homemade breads are the most tasty ever. Maria, his housekeeper, couldn't do enough to make us feel at home. She's a delight. Thanks, Darrylle for the great sendoff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bsha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa 69
Hotel Casa 69
#3 of 68 in San Jose
642 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa Lima B & B
Casa Lima B & B
#2 of 68 in San Jose
191 reviews
6.2 mi away
La Boruca
La Boruca
#6 of 68 in San Jose
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Exe San Jose Center
Exe San Jose Center
#1 of 68 in San Jose
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Costa Rica Guesthouse
Costa Rica Guesthouse
#4 of 68 in San Jose
285 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Abierta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Abierta B&B

Address: Barrio Dent, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in the suburbs of Santa Ana and Escazu, far from cultural activities and requiring expensive taxis through heavy traffic to get you where you want to go? We are located in one of the best neighborhoods in the heart of the city - centrally located, safe, quiet and within walking distance to the University of Costa Rica, galleries, museums, parks, theaters, cinemas, fine restaurants, shopping areas and excellent public transportation. At the end of our street is a lovely park that runs along a creek for several blocks. Relax and immerse yourself in the beauty of our home's tranquil, multicultural and open-minded ambiance. Breakfast on fresh tropical fruits, homemade breads and jams, organic cereals, yogurts and rich Costa Rican coffee, share some stories, explore ideas on how we can develop a better world and enjoy an intimate inside experience of what life can be like in Costa Rica. Casa Abierta is well organized and clean, but relaxed, warm and meant to be enjoyed. Great conversation and daily breakfast are included. Laundry services are available upon request. Although not intrusive on your privacy, our host is available to share interesting conversations and meals and assist you in any way. Easy access to all forms of public transportation. We provide safe, comfortable and efficient airport transfers for a fee and can book other tours and transportation needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Abierta B&B Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing