We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Abierta - Highly Recommended”
Review of Casa Abierta B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Abierta B&B
Ranked #7 of 67 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My stay at Casa Abierta was nothing short of wonderful. Darrylle is perhaps one of the most gracious people I have ever met and made me feel right at home for the 5 days I spent in San Jose. The home is beautiful, breakfast is incredible, and overall, the accommodations were much better than you would find at a hotel. Not to mention, you have the opportunity to meet other fellow travelers and make friends all over the world. If I am ever in San Jose again I will most certainly be staying at Casa Abierta

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 141 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Darrylle has an absolutely beautiful home and invites you to consider it your home during your stay. Breakfast was delicious and more than ample. Morning conversations were interesting, enlightening, and helpful. Darrylle did everything possible to ensure that we enjoyed our stay in San Jose and were able to see and do everything that we wanted to. Not only would we recommend this B&B, but we have already and would do so again to anyone going to San Jose. We would love to return and spend more time with Darrylle in his home. We travel a lot and it is hands down the best B&B we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms are equally beautiful and amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHunt_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The location was quite convenient to downtown and the attractions. Darrylle was a great host, serving beer and cookies upon arrival and providing a lift to the airport early in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BW_McCullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at Casa Abierta a couple of times during our stay in San Jose in May 2012. Darrylle´s home is gorgeous: it is beautifully decorated, spacious, full of interesting art and thoroughly comfortable. The patio attached to the dining room is a little paradise. Darrylle was the perfect host. He was accommodating, full of useful information, very friendly and extremely generous. He even drove us to the bus terminal on our last day in San Jose. The breakfast is exceptional and includes many typical Tico dishes. We now feel like we have a friend in San Jose, and will return there if we ever have the opportunity.

Room Tip: Both rooms are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheHBuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I travel extensively, prefer B&Bs and have had many wonderful experiences. This has been the best ever. Darrylle is the consummate host: gracious, generous, interesting, helpful. His home is beautifully appointed--the bedding is scrumptious. Breakfast at Casa Abierta is memorable. Safe neighborhood for walking to nearby terrific restaurant for dinner. We recommend Casa Abierta wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharleneButler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed for one night at Casa Abierta B & B before flying out the following morning. A perfect room with shared bathroom in a very pleasant and comfortable home. Wish I could have stayed for longer. Darrylle was the perfect host serving coffee/tea and cookies(!) at arrival. He is a very warm and friendly person with many interesting experiences and projects. I have been lucky to meet him and wish him all the best re. his future endeavors. Got a lovely breakfast before my flight-even as early as 4 a.m. You will not regret staying here-an oasis in San Jose!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stinetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

It doesn't matter if you stay for one night,a week or the weekend... Darryle makes you feel like you are in your own home. In "Casa Abierta" you'll find a smile, new friends, kindness, a nice chat every morning with your breakfast and of course i nice place to stay.

If you are looking for places to visit while your staying in Costa Rica they provide you with a map, directions and pick you up in the airport.
In my own experience i'm glad to say that i love my first visit to Costa Rica, love Casa Abierta and definitely the next time i'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jojoxz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jade
Boutique Hotel Jade
#1 of 3 in San Pedro
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
909 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa 69
Hotel Casa 69
#1 of 67 in San Jose
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Abierta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Abierta B&B

Address: Barrio Dent, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in the suburbs of Santa Ana and Escazu, far from cultural activities and requiring expensive taxis through heavy traffic to get you where you want to go? We are located in one of the best neighborhoods in the heart of the city - centrally located, safe, quiet and within walking distance to the University of Costa Rica, galleries, museums, parks, theaters, cinemas, fine restaurants, shopping areas and excellent public transportation. At the end of our street is a lovely park that runs along a creek for several blocks. Relax and immerse yourself in the beauty of our home's tranquil, multicultural and open-minded ambiance. Breakfast on fresh tropical fruits, homemade breads and jams, organic cereals, yogurts and rich Costa Rican coffee, share some stories, explore ideas on how we can develop a better world and enjoy an intimate inside experience of what life can be like in Costa Rica. Casa Abierta is well organized and clean, but relaxed, warm and meant to be enjoyed. Great conversation and daily breakfast are included. Laundry services are available upon request. Although not intrusive on your privacy, our host is available to share interesting conversations and meals and assist you in any way. Easy access to all forms of public transportation. We provide safe, comfortable and efficient airport transfers for a fee and can book other tours and transportation needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Abierta B&B Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing