We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome home, welcome to San Jose!”
Review of Casa Abierta B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Abierta B&B
Ranked #9 of 68 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Located between the liveliness of The University of Costa Rica campus and peaceful Barrio Escalante is a place that breaths joy: Casa Abierta. With his genuine attentiveness and knowledge, host Darryle Stafford not only makes your stay an unforgettable one, but with his local team he provides unique opportunities to get the most of your trip while in the Central Valley of beautiful Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 141 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

Darrylle is a great host and has most charming BnB !
The only place to stay in all of Costa Rica.
Plan on several weeks if available.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 777vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We felt very fortunate to find Casa Abierta and Darrylle's hospitality far exceeded all expectations. His condo is artistic and immaculate and Darrylle served us wonderful breakfasts and even made dinner for us (although I don't want to promise that for every guest). My husband and I accidentally put our credit card in the wrong slot at an ATM near his place, and Darrylle worked with others to retrieve it and hold it for us until we were able to pick it up. I can't recommend Casa Abierta more highly. Simply the best!! Ann

Room Tip: There are two rooms that share a bath. They are both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovehiking77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had a great stay with Darryl at Casa Abierta. His home provides a wonderful and welcoming sense of calm and we felt immediately at home. Darryl picked us up at the airport and we got a quick tour of the city driving to the location. It is well located and we could walk in 15 minutes to the centre of town. We had such a good time talking with Darryl about the city and his perspectives on the best things to do and he had such good reccomendations for restaurants etc. We had a lovely breakfast, great sleep in a comfortable bed and the internet worked instantly and quickly when we needed it. we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks so much Darryl!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaunty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This was my first trip to Costa Rica. One of the reasons I wanted to stay at Casa Abierta was to get some local knowhow to ease my transition into vacationing in Costa Rica. Casa Abierta is conveniently located in a safe neighborhood and is easily reachable via taxi and buses. The spacious house is nicely decorated with tropical flowers and has a small garden and fountain just perfect for relaxing. The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. Darrylle is a great cook and serves baked pies, seasonal tropical fruits and coffee for breakfast. He has been living in Costa Rica for 17 years and can assist you with almost any of your local needs. He helped me plan my itinerary and even booked hotels and tours. It was a pleasure to stay at Casa Abierta.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SanjayX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

It was very nice location since you can walk to downtown and nice neighborhood area!
The owner was an amazing person. I could easily stay a week to hear his stories and finding out what his projects over there! It was trasure to meet him :) Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpringMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Words cannot describe the level of care and hospitality Darrylle gives his guest. I was originally suppose to fly into Liberia, due to plane issues I had a last minute detour to San Jose and I need a place to stay for one night. I contacted D, really late the night before I was due to arrive. I told him my sob story and asked if he had room. Luckily he did, it was the best night ever. He picked me up from the airport and made me broccoli soup on the cold and rainy day I arrived. It was just so perfect. Later that evening he made me and the other guest, beans and rice with spicy chicken mole followed by a night of great conversation. If you want feel like being around friends and family I say stay with Darrylle. He is more than a host. I would recommend him as the only place to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colorful c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
2.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
963 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Casa Lima B & B
Casa Lima B & B
#2 of 68 in San Jose
191 reviews
6.2 mi away
La Boruca
La Boruca
#7 of 68 in San Jose
158 reviews
1.3 mi away
Exe San Jose Center
Exe San Jose Center
#1 of 68 in San Jose
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Abierta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Abierta B&B

Address: Barrio Dent, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in the suburbs of Santa Ana and Escazu, far from cultural activities and requiring expensive taxis through heavy traffic to get you where you want to go? We are located in one of the best neighborhoods in the heart of the city - centrally located, safe, quiet and within walking distance to the University of Costa Rica, galleries, museums, parks, theaters, cinemas, fine restaurants, shopping areas and excellent public transportation. At the end of our street is a lovely park that runs along a creek for several blocks. Relax and immerse yourself in the beauty of our home's tranquil, multicultural and open-minded ambiance. Breakfast on fresh tropical fruits, homemade breads and jams, organic cereals, yogurts and rich Costa Rican coffee, share some stories, explore ideas on how we can develop a better world and enjoy an intimate inside experience of what life can be like in Costa Rica. Casa Abierta is well organized and clean, but relaxed, warm and meant to be enjoyed. Great conversation and daily breakfast are included. Laundry services are available upon request. Although not intrusive on your privacy, our host is available to share interesting conversations and meals and assist you in any way. Easy access to all forms of public transportation. We provide safe, comfortable and efficient airport transfers for a fee and can book other tours and transportation needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Abierta B&B Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing