We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable and affordable”

Gray Line Costa Rica
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose
Ranked #30 of 94 Tours in San Jose
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a full-service tour operator and destination management company (DMC), affiliated to Gray Line Worldwide, the most recognized international network of sightseeing and DMCs around the globe. We are recognized for our high quality standards, our professionalism, and corporate responsibility.Tourism leaders in Costa Rica and Central America since 1978, we give our services to over 100,000 tourists per year. We offer one day tours, countrywide daily shuttles to Costa Rica’s main tourist attractions, hotel reservations, car rentals, airport shuttles to/from the San José and Liberia airports, vacation packages, tailor made itineraries, and our hotel pass open voucher program. In addition, our proprietary operations throughout Central America allow us to offer multiple-destination programs, as well as extension packages within the various countries. We have offices within the country’s main tourist regions (the Central Pacific, Guanacaste, Arenal Volcano, and San José) and in major hotels, and over 24 customer service centers throughout the country.With Gray Line Costa Rica, you enjoy personalized service while discovering and appreciating the natural wonders of our beautiful country… like a local!
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Reliable and affordable”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I booked a return trip San Jose to Manuel Antonio with Grayline. Very pleased with service. Clean, comfortable minivans. Comfort stop half way.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    34
    13
    16
    48
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We used them for airport transportation and they were on time. The drivers were safe and timely. We also used them for one of our day tours. and we had the same experience. The tour guide was informative and lead the tour wonderfully.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I had a Good experience on Gray Line”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I was very pleased with the service I received from Gray Line. The bus was comfortable, roads were in poor condition, but out of Gray Lines control. We stopped half way through the trip for a comfort stop at a really good place. They had a wonderful fresh pineapple smoothie type drink at a reasonable price, bathrooms were clean. My backpack was taken off the bus mistakenly, unnoticed by me until the end of the trip, several hours later. Harold the driver found it and got it back to me somehow. Needless to say I would use Gray Line again in the future.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jessica82oklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exelent combo tour "Doka, Poas Vulcano and la Paz Waterfall"”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the most conplete tours to start in Costa Rica. Starting with beakfast in Doka coffe plantation, later the Poas vulcano where the view of the crater is amaizing.

La paz Waterfalls is a compelete natural park with animals and forest, is very clean and installations are good, also food is good. High recommended.

The Bus was clean and driver very efficent, the space between sits is very small but roads are small also So a bigger bus will lead in problems to drive through this small roads.

Helpful?
3 Thank JulioCesarGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not up to Gray Line Standards”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Where do I start?

1. Bad roads. I know, Gray Line cannot control the roads, but it can control some other things that make the roads more tolerable.

2. Uncomfortable buses: Extremely unstable. Absolutely terrible. Way too small. And it gets worse. Frankly, you could hit your head on the top of the bus from all of the bouncing upside down. Wear your seat belt. That is, if you can find a seat belt. See #3.

3. Don't be the last ones picked up, as if you can help that. The buses all have seats over the wheel wells. If you are not one of the first few to be picked up, you may have to ride in seats in which your leg room is completely absorbed by the wheel well. Imagine the most crowded you have ever been in your life, with say your knees under your chin. Then double your discomfort. Get the picture? The fetal position is just not a good idea. And if you don't have to sit on the wheel well but have to sit in the back, the backs of the buses magnify the incessant bumps from the terrible roads. If you are so unfortunate to be picked up somewhat near the last, that's what you get for the same price as those who ride comfortably.

4. Poor information on tour length: Take your starting time, add the length of the tour, and then add 2-3 more hours. That's how long it could be. Plan accordingly. You don't want to miss a dinner reservation or worse, an evening flight.

We booked four tours before arriving. We did three and attempted a fourth but had to bail out due to bus discomfort. I know they cannot help the roads, but the bus problems are beyond anything I have ever experienced and I have been on bus tours in probably 30 different countries. Even in Egypt it wasn't this bad.

Gray Line, you can do better!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Deltatraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line Costa Rica also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 

Been to Gray Line Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing