We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Peruvian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu
Ranked #175 of 599 Restaurants in San Jose
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Peruvian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Tucked away in a corner of San Pedro, this restaurant has some of the best Peruvian food I have tasted. The ambience is cozy (they have an outdoor seating area and a little play yard for kids), service is great, prices are reasonable, but best of all the food is great!!

Try their appetizers (octopus, and other seafood), and for entrees try the Secco lamb (fantastic, cilantro curry style tender lamb), or one of the sea-bass specials. My colleagues had steak and they said it was very good too.

I went there twice in two trips to CR and highly recommend it.

Prices will likely range about $16-$20 per person (including one drink, service charge and tip).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVG108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perhaps it was a bit too late for there to be any vibe at all...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely excellent seafood. Very high quality. However the ambience was quite drab and the waiter may have taken advantage of me some, but that's probably my fault. My wife and I ended up with two separate plates of octopus versus one plate for two people. In other words, LOTS of octopus... We would have been more than fine sharing a plate for 1. Oh well. Food was outstanding...maybe a little pricey, probably worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pisco Sour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went to this place near our hotel in Sabana for a late evening drink and snack, and found one of the best Pisco Sours I've ever had. The Papa Rellena and the Papas a la Huancaina were both delicious, and enough for a light meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
224 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I went to both: San Pedro and paseo colon. San Pedro is more formal, though still casual, paseo colon much livelier and open. I prefer the latter. All the food was great, mine and my companions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackietrehorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
204 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to find this jewel! A tad pricey but excellent fish as well as great steaks! Atmosphere is wonderful !
Within a few blocks of hotel.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machu Picchu also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing