We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Delightful meal in San Jose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrasse French Cuisine

La Terrasse French Cuisine
Ranked #1 of 513 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful meal in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I visited Costa Rica in Dec 2012 and we stayed in San Jose for a night at the charming and lovingly-restored Mansion del Parque Bolivar hotel. We decided to eat at La Terrasse and I am so happy at that decision! The prices were steep for a restaurant in San Jose, but the food more than made up for it. We sat in the lovely terrace that evening and got some fresh bread to nosh on as we decided on our courses. The wines were very nice, and my husband's vegetarian eggplant dish and salad were wonderful. My fish dish was fresh, flavorful and I enjoyed every succulent bite. The icecream was fantastic and I wish I could have that food all over again! The next morning, we had breakfast at the restaurant again (compliments of the hotel) and they had French breads, cheeses, omelets and chocolate tarts out for us. It was indeed memorable! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cakeowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    48
    11
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
747 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Excellent food and nice outdoor setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We walked a lot on that day and were happy to just eat at the hotel. What a good decision we made as the food was amazing. I cannot believe that ther are too many restaurants of this caliber in San Jose. They serve french cuisine in a great outdoor setting. The prices were reasonable for the food and wine.
Definitely worth a visit when in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice French resto right where we stayed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The cooking was surprisingly good; we found out that the chef was actually French, hence it lent authenticity to the food. We had a long trip and it was our first night at the country, so it was nice to have good food right where we stayed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rfoz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
391 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Romantic terrace eating, good food, fun owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a new location for this restaurant. They have good, French country style meals and the decor and location is charming. Located in the Hotel Bolivar, in the historic mansion section of San Jose we loved the old terrace, fresh roses on the table and shabby chic feel of the place. The co-owner, husband of the chef, is very attentive and seems to delight in describing in great detail each item on the menu. I had the shrimp and my husband had the stewed beef and that night he seemed to enjoy his meal better than me. Dessert was divine and their house wine was thoughtfully chosen. Don't pass this up for a special evening.

Helpful?
Thank Peytonsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing french food- a must dine in the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A french restaurant in a recently renovated historic building - run by a friendly and highly talented french couple in the heart of the city---- we're thrilled to be enjoying this new favorite dinner spot!

We absolutely love coming here for dinner--- the atmosphere: ringing the buzzer, being warmly greeted and making our way out to the 2nd floor beautifully-decorated, intimate and comfortable terrace.

It's always hard to choose what to order. We usually chat it up in spanish with Gerald (chef's husband and waiter) who is always has good suggestions, is funny with strong opinions - a great conversation is guaranteed.

You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Our favorites are: la terrasse chicken, salmon entree, tuna tarte appetizer, vegetable lasagna, sometimes we do the price fixed menu (which is another good option) Basically everything is well thought out and the combinations are extraordinary!

Save room for dessert as the chocolate cake or manzana tarte is out of this world with homemade basil ice cream- yum!

The food is incredibly well priced for the value, ingredients and laborious preparation. There's nothing quite like in CR. We are always shocked at how low the bill is at the end of the night and how satisfied we are with what we ate.

FYI. You can park on the street across from the restaurant - (well-lit, we have't had any issues)
This restaurant is on the 2nd floor (just ring the buzzer) and is behind the Ministry of Foreign Affairs building.

Bon apetit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katma_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse French Cuisine also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Terrasse French Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing