We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice French resto right where we stayed.”

La Terrasse Cuisine Francaise
Ranked #1 of 630 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The restaurant La Terrasse French Cuisine is a concept of table d'hôtes of 12 covers. A private and personalized restaurant that offers you a unique experience to share with generosity the French gastronomy. An elegant place, chic ventage and romantic. The conviviality in the restaurant La Terrasse constitutes a tradition. The chef Patricia Richer receives you in a house of 1925 from Tuesday to Saturday with reservation and will have the pleasure to share with her clients a creative and contemporary French cuisine realized around organic products and the season.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice French resto right where we stayed.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The cooking was surprisingly good; we found out that the chef was actually French, hence it lent authenticity to the food. We had a long trip and it was our first night at the country, so it was nice to have good food right where we stayed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rfoz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    56
    11
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
445 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Romantic terrace eating, good food, fun owners”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a new location for this restaurant. They have good, French country style meals and the decor and location is charming. Located in the Hotel Bolivar, in the historic mansion section of San Jose we loved the old terrace, fresh roses on the table and shabby chic feel of the place. The co-owner, husband of the chef, is very attentive and seems to delight in describing in great detail each item on the menu. I had the shrimp and my husband had the stewed beef and that night he seemed to enjoy his meal better than me. Dessert was divine and their house wine was thoughtfully chosen. Don't pass this up for a special evening.

Helpful?
Thank Peytonsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing french food- a must dine in the city!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A french restaurant in a recently renovated historic building - run by a friendly and highly talented french couple in the heart of the city---- we're thrilled to be enjoying this new favorite dinner spot!

We absolutely love coming here for dinner--- the atmosphere: ringing the buzzer, being warmly greeted and making our way out to the 2nd floor beautifully-decorated, intimate and comfortable terrace.

It's always hard to choose what to order. We usually chat it up in spanish with Gerald (chef's husband and waiter) who is always has good suggestions, is funny with strong opinions - a great conversation is guaranteed.

You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Our favorites are: la terrasse chicken, salmon entree, tuna tarte appetizer, vegetable lasagna, sometimes we do the price fixed menu (which is another good option) Basically everything is well thought out and the combinations are extraordinary!

Save room for dessert as the chocolate cake or manzana tarte is out of this world with homemade basil ice cream- yum!

The food is incredibly well priced for the value, ingredients and laborious preparation. There's nothing quite like in CR. We are always shocked at how low the bill is at the end of the night and how satisfied we are with what we ate.

FYI. You can park on the street across from the restaurant - (well-lit, we have't had any issues)
This restaurant is on the 2nd floor (just ring the buzzer) and is behind the Ministry of Foreign Affairs building.

Bon apetit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katma_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
“A perfect way to spend lunch!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is one of the better restaurant experiences we have had. The setting is wonderful, the service pleasent and attentive, and the food is marvelous!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Shocking chocolate cake”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Wife cooks and husband is waiter. They are from France. The food is very good, the chocolate cake the best I ever had - freshly baked by Madame. Had chicken with chutney and couscous as main dish, my best meal in three weeks Costa Rica.

Only problem: The owner started a political monologue towards the end of our stay (we were the last guests) and took this a notch too far. Spoiled the enjoyment of our desert a bit. A little bit more tact and professionalism please... That's the only reason for 4 instead of 5 points.

Helpful?
Thank dgor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse Cuisine Francaise also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Terrasse Cuisine Francaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing