We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed everything about this hotel except for the sound...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
San Diego, California
1 review
“Enjoyed everything about this hotel except for the sound...”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Enjoyed everything about this hotel except for the sound coming through the A/C vent. I could only hear it at night, but it sounded like road work was going on outside, and I was on the 9th floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Hector R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmigoCostaRica, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Hector,

Hola. I already checked all the rooms in our 9th floor..and you were right, we corrected some a/c´s that were making noise, it´s fixed! please visit us again! Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    413
    161
    42
    14
See reviews for
169
296
78
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I worked in Costa Rica for a summer leading high school students on service and adventure trips, and before sending them back to the airport we sometimes stayed at Tryp. It is a very nice hotel (like any other nice chain hotel in the US) Their breakfast is amazing!

If you're not traveling for business, I would recommend spending as little time as possible in San Jose. Fly into the airport (which is in Alajuela) and get out to Fortuna or Monteverde or Manuel Antonio!
Traveled June-August 2013

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elyse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmigoCostaRica, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi Elyse, greetings from Tryp Sabana! Thank for your nice review on our property. I will share it with the staff they will be extremely happy.
Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

It's pretty close to the airport, and the rooms area nice. They've got no swimming pool nor gym and the breakfast was average. Some of the staff were unhelpful, whilst some were very nice. The surrounding streets look a bit shady during nighttime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh5874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmigoCostaRica, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Josh,

Greetings from San José. Thanks for taking the time in writing the review. I´m glad to hear that overall you likes our hotel. I will email your review to the entire staff so they are aware about your sentiment regarding customer service. Thanks.
Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

No problems with the Tryp Sabana, but if you want a memorable warm & fuzzy hotel, this isn't it. It's a sterile, international-chain hotel that draws a lot of big tours. You'll get a good bed, a hot shower, a decent meal, and good service, but nothing memorable. And it's a long walk to downtown San Jose. But if you do stay here, consider going to the Machu Picchu Peruvian restaurant just a couple of blocks away. Great meal there at a great price.

Room Tip: They're all about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveinconcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmigoCostaRica, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Steveinconcorde,

Greetings from Tryp by Wyndham, thanks for your comment. We are happy to hear you value our services and product! thanks!!!
Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,353 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Property: Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp By Wyndham San Jose Sabana Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing