We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, friendly staff, nice rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Nosara
1 review
“Convenient location, friendly staff, nice rooms.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I chose to stay here for location, but was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff and the modern decor. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and I loved the breakfast menu (included!). Great hotel if you are staying in San José, close to restaurants and La Sabana park wich is ideal for jogging. I would recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Felipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    396
    157
    40
    13
See reviews for
158
285
74
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel was nice, room was clean, and breakfast buffet was a huge plus, except there was construction on the floor below us that started at 6:45AM! It's in a decent location for enjoying nightlife but if you want to stay out until 2AM, the last thing you want is to hear hammering and drilling right under you hours before a normal work day would even start. It took three complaints before anything was done about the noise. We called reception twice then by 7:30AM went down in person to complain. Management had no idea what was going on, it was the maid that informed them that there was construction right below our room. It was nearly an hour before the noise subsided. It would have been much better if construction did not start until 9AM, not the crack of dawn. It's a HOTEL where people SLEEP.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcshortie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel was a nice, clean hotel that you would expect from a Wyndham property. The beds were rather comfortable and the front door service was top notch. It is in a rather lackluster and, at night at least, somewhat questionable neighborhood and I did not feel comfortable walking back from the downtown area to the hotel past dusk.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mcshortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here on our first night in .Costa Rica .It is quite near to the airport in a busy area . It is secure-has guards outside the entrance. Check in was fast and smooth and staff pleasant. Lifts have a security feature too as you have to swipe your room keycard to get it to accept the floor you are going to.
Our room was fairly long and spacious with A/C and was quiet as it was at the back away from the street but had no view, just concrete buildings to be seen. It was clean,had large flat screen TV ,Coffee maker, phone and a safe also free wi-fi. Bathroom had a spacious shower and a toilet ( as is usual toilet paper has to go in bin, not down loo) There was a separate sink/vanity area with plenty space to lay out toiletries etc.
Breakfast was a buffet and was nice-plenty fresh fruit,cereal or cooked items to choose from.
There is no pool nor Spa but it does have a gym.

Room Tip: Probably ask for one at the back as our friends one was at the front and noiser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a very nice,business oriented hotel. Ask for a room that doesnt face the street to avoid the noise (only in the daytime). Within walking distance of Machu Pichu restaurant which is fantastic. Breakfast is fantastic. gallo pinto is perfect (unless it is at room temperature). the fruit especially papaya, is good. The coffee is great. I had the greek salad in the bar,not as good as I hoped for. The drinks at happy hour are perfect(I had a cosmo). The internet computer is almost always available. I did not go, but I heard there is a great market down the street. We went for a walk in the Sabana park nearby and it was very nice and safe. This is a very civilized area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here recently and was pleasantly surprised.
Rooms are decent sized with nice comfy beds. Not much sound proofing from the windows but there's not much of that anywhere to be honest.
Bar area is good with knowledgeable staff all of which spoke decent English.
Good range of excursions but think it's about 10 to 20% cheaper if you pay the tour people directly.
Would definitely come back here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were just there for one night but it was easy to get there from the airport by car, super clean, friendly staff and great breakfast. Also free wifi and free phone calls to the states to let our family know we safe. Our only disappointment was we picked a different hotel to stay at on the way out of San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Property: Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp By Wyndham San Jose Sabana Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing