We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here recently and was pleasantly surprised.
Rooms are decent sized with nice comfy beds. Not much sound proofing from the windows but there's not much of that anywhere to be honest.
Bar area is good with knowledgeable staff all of which spoke decent English.
Good range of excursions but think it's about 10 to 20% cheaper if you pay the tour people directly.
Would definitely come back here.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were just there for one night but it was easy to get there from the airport by car, super clean, friendly staff and great breakfast. Also free wifi and free phone calls to the states to let our family know we safe. Our only disappointment was we picked a different hotel to stay at on the way out of San Jose.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

the manger Mariela treats her employees very badly does not respect them its was if they are slaves i feel really bad for them they are afraid of her or to lose there jobs im writing this hopeing someone in upper mangement will read this and do something about her she getting away with this cause either no one knows or cares i talk to a few of the staff not only at the desk but a few of the mades as well not one of them had kind words but the hotel it self is nice if it wasn't for her i would give it a higher mark

Room Tip: higher room are more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stan541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thanks for the information, if you really would like to help other travellers I appreciate if you can give me a phone number where i can call you, is difficult to resolve these kind of problems based on a written parragraph, I really would like to know how this internal issue affected your stay which is the ultimate goal of this website. My email is eoreamuno@trypsabana.com or you can call the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank bolicanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a great stay. Centrally located. Eclectic. Felt very safe and welcome in hotel. Breakfast was a hit with my 13 year old son who came to play soccer. We felt so comfortable and enjoyed our stay so much that we extended our stay 2 times during our right day visit! The staff was great. Our maid Eloisa was very hospitable & personable. She always had a smile and was okay with us not needing daily room cleaning. We went all the way to the Banco de Costa Rica near the Plaza de la Cultura to find that the exchange rate was better at the hotel! From that point on, we just exchanged at the hotel. You can't go wrong with this hotel. Only drawback is that there is not a free hotel shuttle. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alohahms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Eliza R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,485 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $76 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp By Wyndham San Jose Sabana Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing