We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Reasonably Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Spent four nights at this hotel while in Costa Rica. First, don't be fooled by the look of the hotel. Once you walk in you will really like it. Check-in was efficient and staff were very friendly. You have FREE international calls? Where have you heard that? The room was very spacious and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. Clean, clean, clean! Had some problems with hot water but I finally figured it out! The restaurant serves an awesome breakfast buffet. In summary, I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in San Jose. Great deal!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OffTheBeatenPath2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hello! greetings from Costa Rica. Thank you very much for your nice email! I´m glad you liked our hotel specially our free international and local phone calls! most of our guests love it! thanks again.
Sincerely,
Esteban Oreamuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. In a city that doesn't really seem to have much to do, this hotel was a great retreat in the city. It had great comfortable beds that I had no problem sleeping in. The rooms were spacious enough for 2 people and our 2 suitcases and we had ample room to move around. The bathroom was very modern, the only issue was that when the toilets would be flushed in other rooms, the water temperature would go from very cold to very hot. We found the hotel quiet and there wasn't too much noise, except for one night our room was facing the parking lot of the hotel and we could hear the car alarms, and car horns honking, but it wasn't that often. The staff was extremely helpful and Oscar at the front desk was always able to answer my questions regarding restaurant suggestions, tour suggestions, exchanging money, getting our exit visa for leaving the country, etc... He was great and never hesitated to help. The gym was a little lacking, it only had a few machines, but the basics were there if you needed to work out. The location was close enough to downtown that we could walk there in about 20 mins and everything we needed was close by. Breakfast was good, and the restaurant menu in the evening was simple but delicious.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you need a "western" style hotel in San Jose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plavaseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hello...greetings from Costa Rica. Thank you very much for taking the time in writing the review of our property. We already are taking actions regarding the cold and hot water. I´m very happy to hear Oscar was nice and helpful! I will make sure he reads your comments..he will be very happy.

Sincerely,
Esteban Oreamuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Schaefer A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel was very OK. The room had great space, and the bed was to stay in it to never wake up. Very clean, strong wi fi signal, and even free phone calls abroad (to some countries) We only were puzzeled by how the shower worked.. took us a while figuring it out :) Breakfast was absolutely exellent! oh, probably the entrance is a problem if you carry luggage. You must sort some 20 steps long stair and the guys at the entrance most probably will just look at you...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PirataGambrinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice in a 12 day span. This is one of the hotels for those who take the OAT (Overseas Adventure Travel) tours. OAT is a whole different review but I will say here that it was a very good tour. [we took the Affordable Costa Rica tour].

The TRYP is part of the Wyndham family of hotels. We felt it was a pretty good hotel. I will advise anyone who gets room 618 to run or request another room. One of the women in our tour had this room and complained that there was a column in the middle of the room. Needless to say, she got up in the middle of the night and walked right into it which cause a huge bruise and slice on her leg [which later got infected.... YUK].

The hotel does offer some nice things. A buffet breakfast, free international calls, a semi-decent location near fast foods and Sabana Park.... San Jose's version of Central Park.

They have cable TV with some English speaking channels (the 3 major stations in English). The beds were fine, and the bathrooms nice.

A solid 4 star property.

Room Tip: Avoid room 618 there is a concrete pillar/beam in the middle of the room which could hurt if you wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank one_lucky_guy-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $77 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp By Wyndham San Jose Sabana Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing