We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but beware of certain rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My first night was horrible. Really dirty carpets that made the bottoms of my feet black. The traffic noise was horrible and I stay in a lot of cities. The buses ran constantly until at least 1230am and started really early. The windows rattled with every single one. The next day I tried to check out because I was exhausted. The front desk apologized and moved me to their quiet side and room 802 was larger, clean and really nice! Slept like a baby. We rented a meeting room for 25 and it was well appointed and coffee breaks and snacks were fine. The restaurant was fantastic and our server Heiner was attentive, offered suggestions and spoke great English. I would stay here again and most definitely eat here again!

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless you can get a high floor and along the quiet side or take your sleeping aids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thanks for your review..it would be a lot of help if you can tell me what room number you stayed the first night? I´m glad to hear you had a nice experience after all....thanks again. Esteban O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

The staff wasn't very friendly right off the bat. We weren't dressed in business wear so we may not have been treated as well. In fact, it looked like they were talking bad about us in Spanish, pointing and saying "tourists". The continental breakfast is not very good, the food was cold and tasted like it was pre made box food. Despite first impressions, we cracked a few jokes with them and they warmed up to us and gave us good service - However, we were sure to dress up the next day. The location is in walking distance to lots of fast food places and a walkable distance to downtown San Jose, which we liked. Overall, there was nothing impressive about this place except the fancy decor in the lounge and the decent location... we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Esther,

Greetings from sunny San José! Our major type of guest are tourist approximately 60% of our entire guests, so our staff is very used to the tourists. I will have a talk with them and see what happened. We spend a lot of money in breakfast which is included in the rate and is not continental it includes 3 hot plates and 3 cold plus fruit, 2 types of breads and delicatessen..I´m sorry to hear it didn´t met your expectations. I will make sure F&B reads your review and improve. Thanks. Esteban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's a great hotel, right on Sabana and Paseo Colon so it's about 5 minutes max (without rush-hour traffic) to Escazu (mall, restaurants) once you're on the highway and close to pretty much everything. Breakfast is great, buffet style but really good and included in your stay. It's got a cool little bar/lounge area that it well done decor-wise. I have stayed there on at least a half dozen occasions and it's a great call, clean and very consistent. Close to Furca (one of the three best restaurants in San Jose) Under $100 and way better than the Crowne Plaza, which is old and kinda beat up, just across the street at about the same price. I like.

Room Tip: The best are the corner rooms, they are double size. Not sure how to get them but I've gotten l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonomaisbushed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hola! This is just a little thank you note for your nice review! Please contact me if you need anything from us for your next visit! Esteban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed one night upon arrival and one night before departing Costa Rica. The hotel was clean and beautifully appointed with TV, coffee service, and a pull-out tray at the desk for dining, writing, or computer work in the room. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the best we encountered in 12 days of travel throughout the country. A small bottle of water was provided in the room, although water was drinkable from the faucet. The staff was polite and efficient, and everything worked beautifully, with the exception of the thermostat on my last night. There was a power outage on the day of departure, but the emergency generator kicked in, and the elevators continued to work. Water pressure was good, and the temperature remained fairly constant in the shower. We were within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops, and parks, and the "sights" of the city (The Gold & Jade Museum, the Central Market, and the Theatre) were not far away. This was part of a tour, so I can't speak to the value, but since the tour was not terribly expensive, I would assume that the rate was not exorbitant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the hotel have a better view than those on the front and less street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A comfortable hotel is a not very attractive part of the city. Handy for fast food joints, better restaurants & supermarkets on Paseo Colon. The city centre is about 20 minutes walk away, but five minutes walk in the other direction takes you to the more relaxing atmosphere of La Sabana Park – ideal for a post-breakfast walk.

We stayed at the Tryp for one night at the beginning of our two week trip to CR and one night at the end. Both rooms were on the 9th floor – great views across the city towards mountain – but still constant traffic hum. From the room on the south side of the hotel we also heard club music until 4.00AM. The hotel itself isn’t that noise proof, but thankfully our neighbours were considerate.

Both rooms were large & well-decorated, clean & with air-con., a good temperature to sleep. Ample hot water, toiletries and towels & tea/coffee making facilities. We ate one lunch in the restaurant - we decided to have a sandwich, but it was so well supported with add-ons that we didn’t need much that evening. Breakfasts are excellent, with a wide range of hot & cold foods available at the buffet.

Hotel staff are friendly & efficient … & the lobby porter is a real star.

An ideal hotel for one night or business trip.

Room Tip: 9th Floor, facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A grey, anonymous hotel, could have been anywhere in the world. Room was spacious and had everything I needed, however on my return journey I had a room without a window which I did not like. Close to Sabana Park and near enough to walk into the city centre if you are a reasonable walker. It just needs brightening up!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear PandaUK,

Hola. Thanks for your review. I´m sorry to hear it didn´t met your expectations..The room you stayed it does has windows but they have sandblast since the view they have is of our neighbor roof, but unless I´m mistaked there´s natural light that comes in the room. Sincerely,
Esteban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel a little way out of the main downtown area of San Jose. We stayed two nights on arrival in Costa Rica and one night prior to leaving at the end of our holiday. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable although in one case very dark and in the other a large pillar seriously restricted free space in the room (obviously a structural feature!).

Breakfast was OK and the restaurant was adequate for an evening meal. A longer stay would get a bit tedious since there are no restaurants in close proximity so a taxi would be needed to eat out of the hotel (especially given the general warnings not to walk in San Jose at night!).

Not superb but not bad either.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $72 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp By Wyndham San Jose Sabana Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing