We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is what Americans tend to expect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is what Americans tend to expect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were on a tour, and this was the staging hotel. It's everything Americans expect in a hotel. A/C, TV, coffee in the room, big towels, hot water, etc. The staff is very helpful and the restaurant has excellent food. Because we were with a tour, I don't know the cost of anything, but it was all top notch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    396
    157
    40
    13
See reviews for
158
285
74
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here two separate nights as part of a OAT tour group. Accommodations are really nice, with large rooms,and very clean. The buffet breakfast was good the first morning....our box breakfast for 5:30 AM departure the second morning was well boxy! Very nice hotel,not a very nice location.

Room Tip: Hotel is located very close to the bus terminal...at 5 AM the city really becomes noticeable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimboMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived on 3/2/13 and we had reservations on a regular standard room for 2 nights, but they did not have any regular rooms available the first night so they give us a suite the first night and we were told that we needed to check out the next day so we can get a regular room, but we had activities early in the morning to do go white water rafting at 6:00 AM, so we talked to the manager and she allowed us to keep the suite at no extra cost, so that was very nice!!

I got injured at the white water rafting activities and when we got back to the hotel I was seen by the hotel doctor at no charge, and they even offer to take me to the hospital in an ambulance.

The hotel staff were very helpfull as I was having trouble printing my travel insurance policy at the loby computer and the hotel staff did it for me at front desk.

We also had wfi in our rooms and international unlimited phone calls anywere in the world, so that was nice, I was able to communicate with my family in the States for free.

The breakfasts consisted of different kinds of cereals, eggs, sausage and of course gallo pinto, fruits and coffe.

It was walking distance to the center and a lot's of restaurants as well, definitley recomend it and great price!

Room Tip: we had a corner suite on the 6th floor, with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcarteaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My mom and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we loved it. It was in a very good location just a quick taxi ride to downtown San Jose. We thought the neighborhood the hotel was in seemed very safe, we did not feel threatened at all and we walked around at night. The breakfast is very good and the staff was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you stay on a higher floor there are beautiful views of sunrises over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieRrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanlivery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pleasant well maintained hotel within 20 mins walk of central San Jose (and driving is not an option because of horrendous traffic).Surroundings mainly car parks and small houses with railings and razor wire. Advised not to go out at night but we did without problems .Plenty of restaurants nearby and supermarket and park too. Most rooms are spacious and well equipped but some have no windows and in most the windows don't open. .Breakfasts good.Dinner not.Staff pleasant and helpful, particularly the women.

Room Tip: There is a very noisy nightclub operating at the back until 4am on weekends.Rooms on the 8th floor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Tryp by Wyndham in San Jose, Costa Rica is a great place to rest one's head after a day of travel. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and convenient to the airport and downtown. The breakfast provided tables of egg entrees, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, and pastries. A variety of juices and Costa Rica's special coffee completed a great start to the day. The Tryp is a reasonably priced alternative to the high rent rooms at the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,ON
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here two nights on a weekend. [F/S]. we were assigned a top floor corner room - very spacious, beautiful view of San Jose and the huge park just a block or so away. Check in and check out was quick, efficient and pleasant. Food in restaurant was very good, reasonably priced for a hotel and wait staff was most accommodating. Breakfast provided was excellent. I would not recommend staying on the south side of the building on a Sat night until there is some sort of noise bylaw curtailing the outdoor concert / discotheque / mosh pit just a block away. It started at 10:00 pm Sat night and did not stop until 6:00 am Sunday. Restarted at 8:00 am and was still going when we checked out. Front desk personnel indicated that the hotel has had lawyers working on getting some resolution - but none so far. They made no attempt to provide any compensation for a totally sleepless night or then 'sorry'. We were not advised of the potential problem and the fact that we were placed at probably the noisiest room in the place, I would be reluctant to ever return. During the week this would be a very desireable hotel, easy access to the pedestrian mall streets and the downtown attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Noth side would be quieter on Sat nights. Suggesdt avoiding the South side rooms on Sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottyjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Property: Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp By Wyndham San Jose Sabana Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing