We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Hotel, Pleasant and Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here two nights on a weekend. [F/S]. we were assigned a top floor corner room - very spacious, beautiful view of San Jose and the huge park just a block or so away. Check in and check out was quick, efficient and pleasant. Food in restaurant was very good, reasonably priced for a hotel and wait staff was most accommodating. Breakfast provided was excellent. I would not recommend staying on the south side of the building on a Sat night until there is some sort of noise bylaw curtailing the outdoor concert / discotheque / mosh pit just a block away. It started at 10:00 pm Sat night and did not stop until 6:00 am Sunday. Restarted at 8:00 am and was still going when we checked out. Front desk personnel indicated that the hotel has had lawyers working on getting some resolution - but none so far. They made no attempt to provide any compensation for a totally sleepless night or then 'sorry'. We were not advised of the potential problem and the fact that we were placed at probably the noisiest room in the place, I would be reluctant to ever return. During the week this would be a very desireable hotel, easy access to the pedestrian mall streets and the downtown attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Noth side would be quieter on Sat nights. Suggesdt avoiding the South side rooms on Sat...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottyjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
There are newer reviews for Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights - at start and end of trip. good hotel airport pick up $27 location not at all interesting and did see some much better looking smaller places so it's not impossible in SJ. rooms - premium suite - very large but very dark, no windows open even if there is a large balcony. doorman very nice. in room wifi fine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatinRzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Based on prior reviews, I did not expect much. But everything was much better than expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. We stayed in two rooms on separate visits that were well insulated from outside noise. Apparently they upgraded some windows. We found a decent Mexican restaurant around the corner from the hotel, otherwise not a lot of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rerBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

There was a person with a sign with our name at the airport when we arrived, after a very long flight. The room was lovely and cool, with two queen sized beds for the three of us and a great bathroom/shower. The restaurant suggestion was excellent, and only a short walk away. The included buffet breakfast was filled with fresh fruit juices and chunks of papaya, pineapple etc. Freshly omlettes made to order, along with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes and all we could have wanted before setting out on our journey. Close enough to Centro to access tourist attractions, and far enough away to feel safe.

Room Tip: We were on 5 and it had a good view and was quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KootenayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

After some trouble locating the hotel and with our luggage missing, it was a nice surprise entering in the spacious, clean room with two very comfortable beds, as many pillows as one could put on a bed, clean luxurious bedding, large bathroom... The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast with enough choice for all tastes and once again, very friendly staff for a city. The hotel is located just far enough from the hustle and bustle from the city, but not a long walk from all the shops etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Awesome hotel. This is in my estimatation the best hotel in San Jose. Very clean, nice staff and a pleasure to stay there. Only negatives are, no pool and a bit of a walk from San Jose center. Stay away from the Gran Hotel. There are thieves working there. this hotel is safe and really nice

Room Tip: very nice, excellent value
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johninogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed one night at beginning and end of a two week tour of Costa Rica. The staff were pleasant and helpful plus the rooms were clean and a good size. We were on the ninth floor each time and had a view looking over the city from each room. We did have drinks in the bar, which is very pleasant and had the buffet breakfast which provided a good selection of foods. The hotel is only a 30 minute ride from the airport. Since it is in the center of the city the lower floors can be noisy with the traffic and on the weekends when they have music in the bar and surrounding places. However, it is a central city hotel so one has to expect that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,396 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $72 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp By Wyndham San Jose Sabana Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing