We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in San Jose
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel.
Very clean and the rooms is big with very nice design.
The hotel staff are very friendly and patient , helping us in direction how to go to places. The briefest is very nice.
Near the hotel there is bus station , 20 minutes from the airport.
I had a good time!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvadahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    334
    131
    32
    10
See reviews for
134
239
65
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

When we arrived on the evening of December 10th the was no bellboy to carry luggage up 12 front steps after we had been told they would do it and had waited 10 minutes.
Never showed up even when we were checking in. The next morning the man on duty was Mario and he was SUPER.
When we returned for our second stay Mario remembered me from last time, took our luggage from our hands and took them quickly to our room. Helped us get a second chair in the room.
When we returned for our third visit he greeted us with open arms, brought our luggage to our room, returned with our storage suitcase and then gave both my wife and I a Christmas gift. He is so full of life and energy!

We had very difficult problems with front desk staff in all three visits to the Tryp Sabana. Would not look at me when I spoke, were very distracted, non-caring, aloof. On the 24th I asked for the wash that had been left and was told it would be sent to my room. Two hours later still no clothes. I was then told that I had not signed for them. When I showed the receipt to the young lady who had asked me to sign, "Oh, I forgot."
This is the reason we rated this hotel Very Good instead of excellent. Front desk people are the first contact with the customer.

All the rooms were super, clean, neat, and well appointed.
The internet was very fast and worked very well.

Breakfast buffet was the best we had in all our stays in 15 days in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
209 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

arrival at the hotel was non eventful -- Just what you want after a days journey. the room is nicely appointed and very clean. Had tapas and wine in the restaurant...delicious. Internet access was easily accomplished by my wife. A little bit of traffic noise outside but not too distracting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EndlessSummerCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

If you take in account prize-quality this is a wonderful hotel! The staff is very friendly, always with a smile in their faces even if they have a lot of work. You can easily walk downtown. The food is really nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aafarelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for five nights in a deluxe King Room. We had a large studio apartment sized room, which was well appointed and had a wonderful view of the mountains surrounding the Central Valley.

It's located near a large park in a slightly out of way part of town, but its very close to public transport, and a reasonable walk to get into the centre of town. Nevertheless, it's well served by taxis, and it's located near several car rental agencies.

The service staff were fantastic - always attentive, polite, and never intrusive. Whenever there was an issue, it was always addressed without fuss or delay.

The in-house restaurant was great with breakfast - staples were consistently good, and every day there were some changes to the menu to keep it interesting. It wasn't fine dining, but definitely not fast food fare.

Noise was typical for San Jose, but much more tolerable on the higher up floors.

Overall, a highly recommended hotel for its price!

Room Tip: The extra cost for the Deluxe rooms is well worth it - they are higher up which gets you away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nerdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Clean, modern decor, organic soaps and lotions, huge breakfast, friendly staff, comfortable bed, walking distance from huge park and stadium. 10 minute taxi ride yo downtown. Urbsn viewd but of course this is in a huge urban center. The art museum at park entry was free and full of wonderful sculptures. A huge light and music festival happens around the corner mid-December.

Helpful?
Thank gorobingo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice and clean business hotel.
Breakfast is very nice. Internet and phone service is free and service is really good. Parking on site is safe and scure.
In the middle of San Jose. Didnt try any services (spa or so).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrAbdallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.1 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#9 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Property: Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp By Wyndham San Jose Sabana Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing