We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,162)
Filter reviews
1,162 results
Traveler rating
430
464
193
51
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
464
193
51
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand tourpremium suitecosta ricanice hotelbreakfast buffetcorner roomcomfortable bedscoffee makerhotel restauranttour groupmini bartwo blockspaseo colonenjoyed my stayyogurtstayed here for one nightairport
Filter
Updating list...
584 - 589 of 1,162 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning and end of our Costa Rica trip, and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were great. Not exactly spacious, but very comfortable bed and clean bathroom (no tub, however). There was enough space for our luggage.. the decor is very modern and tasteful. Our friends who stayed with us got a free room upgrade, and stayed in a room which came with a sofa and sitting area -- very roomy. The room had good amenities -- big flat screen tv, coffee maker, iron, hairdryer, etc. My only complaint is that the area tends to get pretty noisy in the middle of the night. There was some sort of banging noise while we were there. (Construction maybe?)

In general, the staff was alright. (There was one guy who offered no suggestions, and was very clueless about the area.) There was one young lady who was very nice and helpful -- she patiently offered us tips on where to go for dinner and New Year's Eve. They were all bilingual too, which was great since nobody in our party was very fluent in Spanish. The hotel was located in a pretty convenient location (very close to Machu Picchu and Soda Tapia) off the expressway. The taxi ride downtown cost about $5. However, it might be better known to taxi drivers by its old name (Hotel Centro Colon). We had some trouble with taxi drivers not knowing where Tryp Sabana was.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank on-the-equator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica,

Thank you very much for your nice review..I appologize for the service provided by the gentleman at the front desk, I will immediately will start an investigation to improve service. Thanks for taking the time and reviewing us...happy new year and hopefully we´ll see you around in the near future.
Esteban Oreamuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Just stayed 2 nights at the Tryp Sabana Hotel on 2 different occasions during our trip to Costa Rica. The hotel has been the best value for the money of anywhere we stayed in Costa Rica during our 2 week stay. The staff could not be more helpful. They provide free international calling which is a definite bonus. The rooms are nice, newly renovated and the beds are very comfortable. While we also had a noisy neighbour one night, that was not the hotel's fault and we just called the front desk and the noise immediately stopped. The breakfast was the best we had in all of Costa Rica. Highly recommend the hotel and would definitely stay there again. This hotel is definitely up to North American standards.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a great view of the surrounding mountains and Poas Volcano
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eric e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Dear Mr. Eric,

Greetings from San José. Thank you very much for your beautiful review..we´re doing a big effort to provide outstanding service and reviews like yours motivate us to keep going! Thanks again...

Yours truly,
Esteban Oreamuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is a truly wonderful hotel in all regards, from the comfort, size and cleanliness of the rooms, the super-comfy bed, the extremely helpful, friendly, bi-lingual staff who were always ready with suggestions of places to visit in the area, and of course, the hotel is perfectly located near to key points of interest in San Jose. We stayed here for 3 days at the start of a 10-day Costa Rica trip and were so happy that we chose this hotel. We were able to walk easily to downtown San Jose to check out the various sights (museums, parks, youth theatre etc). Also, the hotel is located a couple blocks from the Museum of Costa Rican Art, which is a must-visit, as well as a large national park with running trails, a roller-skating rink and other outdoor activities. We were pleasantly surprised to discover that we had free international calls (VOIP, so the connection took a while, but calls always went through) in addition to free wi-fi access, so keeping connected with home was a breeze. The hotel's restaurant is very modern and beautifully decorated. The included hot buffet breakfast was traditional Costa Rican fare (black beans and rice too!) but the selection varied daily so you weren't tired of the same thing over and over again. If you like omelets (like me), there's no omelet station but you could simply ask one of the super-friendly staff for one and they see to your order right away. One rainy night when we couldn't make it to our dinner reservation at a nearby restaurant, we decided to dine at the hotel's restaurant, and I must say, the food was really great, especially the ceviche.
Also, for those of you who want a little vacay mani-pedi, check out Mindy Salon & Spa which is located in the office building adjoining the hotel, and ask for Helen Prado who can ensure you're well taken care of.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Calle Central (ideally on a higher floor) so that you get beautiful views of Parque Sabana and the Museum of Costa Rican Art. A corner room is also more ideal for a panoramic view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zelillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thanks you very much for your nice and thorough review, I will make sure the staff reads it, they will be very happy to see their passion and effort reflected in happy guests like you. Thanks again and the entire staff at Tryp Sabana Hotel wishes you and your family a merry christmas.

Esteban Oreamuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Nice room. However, hotel very noisy. Made it difficult to get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H2ODoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Dear guest,

Greetings from San José! I´m sorry to hear you didn´t had a good time at our hotel. For your next visit please email me, I will assign a room facing south, wich is far from the street. The entire staff at Tryp Sabana wishes you and your family a merry christmas.
Esteban Oreamuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed at the Tryp Sabana on two occasions for a total of three nights. The rooms are top-notch, really comfortable, clean and spacious. For slightly more than you'd pay at one of the downtown "boutique" hotels, you can stay here and get a much cleaner and more comfortable room.

The location isn't great if you want to walk around downtown San Jose (a short cab ride away), but it is 1 block from the Sabana park, which has good jogging trails.

My one issue with this hotel is that if you get a room on the west (facing Sabana park) or north side of the hotel, you will hear a loud bell ringing from the parking garage below any time someone pulls out into the street. It sounds like a fire alarm, and it's worse than annoying, since it's extremely loud, grating and rings throughout the night. Traffic is also noisy on that side of the hotel, so best to ask for a room on the south or east side of the building.

Room Tip: Make sure to get room on east or south side of hotel (see above)
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 8, 2011

Dear Mr. Nick M,

Thank you very much for your review..the entire staff at Tryp by Wyndham appreciates your comments..is the first time we hear the bell is annoying to our guests..I will immediately lower the volume....thanks for letting us know.
Warm regards,
Esteban Oreamuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews