We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best thing you can do in San Jose”

Barrio Bird Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Bird's Nest: 2-hour San Jose City Highlights Walking Tour
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Artist Bird - San Jose Creative Side Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 Food & Drink in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Group & Private City Tours of San Jose, Costa Rica and Central Valley day-trips. Food, History, Culture and Art.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It's so easy to write off San Jose while traveling in Costa Rica, and while there is a lot to see and do throughout the country, you'd be remiss if you didn't spend a few hours on a walking tour with Stacey. We learned and saw so much we otherwise would have ignored. Stacey was a great guide who made us feel comfortable from the beginning and was extremely knowledgeable in all things Costa Rican. Some tours can feel like you're being herded through various sites and given rote script about landmarks. With Barrio Bird it was like walking through the city with an old friend. I can't recommend it highly enough.

1  Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaiis, Owner at Barrio Bird Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

What a nice review! Thank you. We really try to make it a personal experience so that everyone really has fun and can learn about their specific topics of interests. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Barrio Bird Walking Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Well worth it...a great way to spend some time in San Jose learning about the history of the buildings, and Costa Rica. Stacey is so open and helpful and includes everyone in the group. thanks for a great tour!

Thank Canadiantravellers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaiis, Owner at Barrio Bird Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We are working on discovering more hidden gems in 2013-2014 season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stacey is an easy going and well organized young lady. If you have the time and want to learn about the city please contact Stacey and spend time with her you will not be disappointed. Her walking tour took us past the facades and into a part of the city which you would otherwise just walk past.

2  Thank aus4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaiis, Manager at Barrio Bird Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for the review and appreciating the time we've taken to design the tours! We're really excited about new 2013-2014 packages if you're ever back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stacy was excellent at introducing local haunts, anecdotes and historical facts in a very casual way. Most consider San Jose as hub for other eco-tourism ventures. Stacy makes San Jose approachable as a destination.

Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaiis, Owner at Barrio Bird Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thanks for leaving a review, we are chipping away at San Jose's image one day at a time! It's a fun destination for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked the walking tour based on all the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. Overall, we were very pleased with the tour. This was a better way to get to know the city than a bus tour or the cute "Tico Tren" we saw toot tooting down some side streets as we made our way to the city's famous historical monuments. Our three children (7, 14, 15) were a little bored listening to the descriptions of the buildings and the time periods in which they were constructed. They did perk up anytime we had a discussion about modern day Costa Rica and its inhabitants. Not sure such conversations would have occurred had we not asked such questions. The guide, however, was patient, very obliging and dutifully responded to our many queries in flawless English. She did make her political views known, but this did not bother us.

We hope Barrio Bird Walking Tours continues to be successful, but here are a few suggestions:

1. We paid $98 for the five of us. It was quite pricey considering there was no transportation or equipment required. As we were joined by another nice couple, the tour was not private. This made our desire to stop for a drink or snack awkward as we did not want to inconvenience the couple or delay the tour. Perhaps the guide should suggest a time to get a drink at the halfway mark, especially when children are involved. We shied away from asking to stop out of courtesy but after the tour was over, our children were famished (we did bring our own water but it was immediately consumed). There are shops every few meters so a pit stop is totally realistic. (Better yet, for the price we paid for the tour, it would be nice for the guides to give each visitor a water bottle at the beginning of the tour to set a friendly tone. Granted it is a small, cheap gesture, but has the potential to go a long way in goodwill.)

2. I wandered around Parque Morazan for at least 10 minutes trying to identify our guide. Turns out she was engaged in a conversation with the couple who was joining us and did not appear to be actively looking for us. Perhaps Barrio guides should wear a logo'ed t-shirt, hat or some other identifying marker to make the initial meet up smoother and less fraught with worry. When I couldn't find our guide, I was convinced I had just been scammed out of $98. I suppose the laissez faire nature of the meet up is part of the Costa Rican "Pura Vida" philosophy; something I have to adjust to.

3. We asked our guide for a recommendation on where to get good Costa Rican coffee. She kindly gave us the name of a popular cafe and directions to get there. Her directions were spot on! Unfortunately, we got there only to discover the cafe is closed on Sundays. We were hugely disappointed as it's unlikely we'll be able to return. It would have helped to have known this information in advance so we wouldn't have spent the time to get there as well as the extra money on parking, not to mention the let down of seeing the cafe closed.

These are all petty suggestions, to be sure. We still enjoyed ourselves and were pleased we had the opportunity to see the city on foot guided by a friendly, knowledgeable local.

1  Thank justkaijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaiis, Propietario at Barrio Bird Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you so much for this honest feedback, it really helps!

I take full responsibility for these smaller details not being tended to, as they were either missed or not reinforced enough in training, and do apologize! We always try to make stops for kids to help energize and entertain them, and we're constantly working to improve the script for younger clients to keep it interesting.

We've taken note that Mariel should watch more closely for clients arriving. And, we're working on shirt designs as well -- growing pains we're happy to have!

I've also supplied Mariel with a list of great Sun. dining options, as many places do close.

Again, thanks for the feedback, I know you have lots of options on a Costa Rican vacation so I absolutely appreciate having been chosen.
-Stacey, owner and founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio Bird Walking Tours also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Barrio Bird Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing