We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel!”
Review of Aldea San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aldea San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Turrialba, Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hostel!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I spent a week at Aldea while in San Jose for work. For my entire stay the staff was awesome; helpful, friendly and just all around great people.

One night I had a private room with bath, the rest of the time I spent in a 6 person dorm. Both rooms were clean with everything in good condition.

They were out of towels though...

I was incredibly comfortable and highly recommend Aldea! The internet was fast (important for work travel!) and it was also a great place to just hang and enjoy dinner or a game of pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldeaStaff, Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Always such a pleasure to read about satisfied guests! And we are all really proud of your very kind words about our staff and cleanliness here at Aldea.

Sorry about the towel issue. Sometimes with shortages in what we get back from the laundry it can be hard to keep up with the demand. Thank you for being understanding about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    58
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
3
50
76
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Came for one night and stayed for weeks. Taxi driver recommended the hostel and I am grateful for that. Aldea turned out to be a great. Clean, perfect location and very cool and helpful staff.
Aldea also has an excellent pool table in the lobby and the house is beauitiful.
SJ is a very fun city. I like people watching and mixing with the locals so San Jose was amazing, Aldea was a great base for me. One of the best hostels I've stayed at.
Anything can happen in SJ!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldeaStaff, Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your incredible recommendation! Staff and Cleanliness are our top priorities, and we are always pleased that people notice our attention to these details at Aldea. As for the location, that speaks for itself. We recommend you all come here to check it out for yourselves.

We remember your time here well, and are also very glad that the taxi driver bought you our way- this guest quickly became a member of the Aldea family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had been in the hostel for 2 nights in a private room with bathroom. The room was pretty ok considering that it is an hostel. It is a little bit far from the city center if you want to walk: it takes maybe 30 minutes. Depends if you like walking or not and in the evening sure you need a cab. The service: the guys were very nice but it was not clear about the breakfast and the kitchen use. Is not possible to pay with the credit card.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaringostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldeaStaff, Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking out the time to leave your comments. Happy to hear that you were pleased with our private rooms - by far one of the nicest for that price in San Jose. Here at Aldea, our staff will always go out of our way to be helpful and friendly. Glad that you noticed this. Sorry if use of the kitchen by guests and breakfast wasn´t completely clear. Just to clarify about our location for future reference, we are located very close to all of the main bus terminals such as TransNica, TicaBus, Coca Cola, and just a short bus ride from Tracopa. Paseo Colon is also one of the principal streets in San Jose, with a lot of options for restaurants, night life and very close to the prime green space of San Jose- La Sabana with the National Stadium.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

At 13 bucks a dorm bed it`s pretty pricey. However, the going rate seems to be between 10 and 12 in San Jose. This place seems nice when you first walk in but everything else is not. The bathrooms are disgusting and cramped and smell of urine. The sink empties into a bucket. Checking in took half an hour and they still screwed it up. They charged us for two dorm beds but there was only one available so we shared. Luckiy we were a couple and so don`t mind sharing a bed but when we asked for our money back for the other bed we paid for they said no they couldn`t do that. So we ended up paying 26 dollars for a single dorm bed for two people! Not only is that expensive but in all our travels around central america it was by far the most expensive for the worst service. We have been backpacking this trip for a few months now, not to mention our other backpacking trips, and this place does not make the cut.
Also the kitchen is a rat`s nest and it is LOUD at night. If you want a little sleep don`t stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fatima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldeaStaff, Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Firstly, we apologize for the delay that you experienced while checking in. Understandably, we are currently heading into the high season, so particularly in the evening there can be a bit of a wait when there are a lot of people looking to check in. Also we deeply apologize for the confusion with regards to the beds as well. All I can say is that it was a very busy night but this still should not have occurred.

The leak in our dorm bathroom was not dirty water, it was simply clean water that is dripping down. Water from the sink was not emptying from the sink into a bucket. We have since completely fixed this problem.

With regards to the kitchen, we do our best to keep on top of things, but in the evening when it is busy it can be harder to manage. Realistically it is an expectation of the guests to clean up their own mess and dishes after cooking. Sorry you had to experience this though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I went to Costa Rica for Festival Imperial, and stayed at Aldea with my brother. The place was not what I expected, as water from the shower was super cold and it was too little water coming out. The breakfast was bananas, bread and strawberry jelly everyday, with a coffee flavored water! The receptionist didn't talk spanish well, but he did what he could, and was always wanting to help.
However, rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable, that I can say!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilicenamalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldeaStaff, Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks very much for your feedback. Glad you noticed how clean the rooms were. We go out of our way to ensure the up most in cleanliness here at Aldea. Sorry about the hot water- in an effort to be environmentally conscious with our energy usage the hot water is only available at certain hours in the morning and evening. As you mentioned, even those of our staff who don´t have the best Spanish will always go out of their way to help you as much as they can and make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at Aldea twice while stopping through San Jose on the way to/from elsewhere. Once in a double -- which was pretty dingy and had a gross bathroom -- and once in a dorm, which was well-maintained and had a relatively clean bathroom.

It was really loud the first time, but only till midnight/1 a.m. or so, and it was dead silent the second time.

The common space was spacious and pretty nice. There's a pool table, which is always a plus. I don't remember much about the kitchen.

The staff are generally drifter/drop-out Americans/Canadians/Europeans looking for a way to live for free in San Jose. They're nice and they seem to do their jobs well enough, but they party with the guests, and the guests do a lot of partying, so if that's not your thing, you might want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldeaStaff, Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thanks very much for your feedback. As a very new hostel on the scene in San Jose we are more than welcoming of all the comments that we can receive, whether they be things people enjoyed or recommended improvements. It is paramount for us to deliver the very best experience for our guests. Glad you enjoyed the free pool- It’s a great way to bring guests together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hostel was in the best location, 2 blocks away from the Ticas bus station. It is about 10 mins. walk to the downtown centre. There are good restaurants nearby. Not to mention that there is also a supermarket just infront across the main road where you can buy all your grocery, drinks, beer etc.

The 8-dorm room is very spacious and airy with toilet attached. It is cooling and conducive. The beds are clean and tidy. The bathroom is well maintained and hot water is available from 7pm onwards in the night and 7 am -9 am in the morning.

The kitchen is spacious and good for cooking. There is also a BBQ stove if you want to do BBQ. The kitchen at first was quite messy because the guests did not clean their cups/plates after use. They just left it there. The guests messed up the kitchen. Next day, the hostel put up a sign urging the guests to wash their own cups and plates after use. Then the kitchen was in better shape and much cleaner. Thanks to the reminder sign, otherwise, the guests will mess it up again.

The sitting room was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. They were always ready to hear and help you.

Coffee was free in the morning only. So, I enjoyed the free coffee every morning.

It is a wonderful place to stay and I would recommend to all travellers.

Room Tip: Choose Room 201 at the 1st floor as it is airy and well ventilated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldeaStaff, Receptionist at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Firstly, thank you very much for your wonderful comments! There is nothing more satisfying than reading about a pleased guest!

We are glad you appreciated the close proximity of the bus terminal. It makes those early morning buses more manageable, giving you more time to sleep in! For future reference, the bus terminals for TransNica, Coca Cola, San Carlos are only a matter of minutes away. We are very proud of our location here in San Jose since it means we can offer the upmost in convenience for our guests!

Obviously, cleanliness is one of the prime considerations for us here at Aldea Hostel, and we endeavor to offer nothing but a clean and inviting atmosphere for our guest. Sorry about the state of the kitchen at times. It is the responsibility of our guests to do their own dishes, although we do end up doing them from time to time to avoid there being a mess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 76 in San Jose
284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldea San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea San Jose

Property: Aldea San Jose
Address: Avenida 2 | Calle 28 100m south Pizza Hut Paseo Colon, in front of the Garbo Room, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aldea San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aldea San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldea San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing