We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is really nice and convenient about this place....except they do not change the sheets between guests!”
Review of Aldea San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aldea San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything is really nice and convenient about this place....except they do not change the sheets between guests!”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I am reluctant to write this review, since everything about this place seems great. I've stayed here on two separate occasions, but I will probably not return. The lounge area is really nice and there is even a kitchen available. The owner is nice and helpful (although a bit spacey). As another reviewer commented, "All of the staff were nice but most were 'relaxed' to the point of being apathetic and unhelpful". It is not the quietest place to get a good night sleep, but that is a consequence of any hostel. Otherwise, it is a great place to meet people from all over.

I really like this place, but I discovered on my second stay at the hostal, on the day that I left that they do not change the sheets between guests. I had gone back into my room after checking out to use the restroom, and I saw that the cleaning lady was remaking the beds with the same already used sheets for all the bed even though everyone had checked out.

While the hostal looks lovely and clean, and is a great value, I can't recommend it as the best place to stay. Maybe some are fine with this indiscretion, but be warned. Perhaps, the private rooms get a better cleaning!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feliz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    58
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
3
50
76
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zancudo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Just the facts about my private room:

Pros: decent location to things in the city; friendly front desk girl, relatively clean, relatively quite, ok price.

Cons: cold - seems like it used to be victorian and has not made a good transition to shabby-chic modern, no hot water, no soap, no towels, ceiling fan that couldn't operate without the lights on at the same time.

I guess I was expecting a private room in a hostel to be a little more comfortable and really I felt like it was just shy of being a room you would find in the Adams Family home.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliveincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I stayed 2 nights enroute to Guanacaste - the hostel had been recommended to me by a solo female travel forum member for safety, good location and helpful staff.

I had quite a bit of correspondence with Emir (owner) prior to my arrival and he was very helpful with information.

I stayed in a private room and found the accommodation to be clean, basic and very comfortable... but I have to concur with other reviewers about the street noise. I was in room 203 right at the front of the second floor. The hostel is on the interesection of 2 busy streets - I was glad I had earplugs with me! :)

I had arranged a consultation with a cosmetic surgery clinic that turned out to be on the opposite corner from Aldea Hostel, while convenient I wouldn't stay there if I was recovering from a surgery because of the street noise. Apparently there are only 2 private rooms and neither are at the back of the building

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYCLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Me gusta mucha. Despues 4 X...Amir is a great host and Aldea has a nice style, cool staff, and interesting friendly clientele. I have brought several friends and one sister to stay there and all enjoyed it. Be prepared for street noise however in any rooms thTat border the outdoors.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conductor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Some of the best hostels I've found in my trip were not on the lonely planet or other guides. This is one of them. A lot of space, great hall-relaxing area, nice kitchen, comfortable rooms, all of it with a nice personnality. And great staff. I definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I have never written a review before but I was so surprised by this hostel that I decided to write one. I did not like this hostel at all and yet it has such good reviews...? All of the staff were nice but most were 'relaxed' to the point of being apathetic and unhelpful. The bathroom was not clean plus they openly admitted to not always changing sheets between guests which I think is inexcusable. The place, though nicely decorated, has a very cold feeling. Not a hang out, homely feel that most good hostels manage to achieve. I would not recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KVMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Upon my arrival at San Jose airport, I took a red cab and ask him to take me and my fiancee to a hostel were we have a booking for that night, but the guy told us that the place was closed and a said a lot of bad stuff about the place in the end we asked him to take us to a nice place, he took us to Aldea..... this place is not nice at all, no hot water, only one computer for the guests, no smoking areas, the people on the front desk were rude and I think two of them were high and tried to rob something from us. The next day we left to Jaco and when we came back we find out that the place we booked at the first is open and way better than this place, and they give money to the taxi drivers to tell lies to the people....
For short: Aldea is a place where you are going to get robbed, REAAALLY bad rooms, an AWFUL service, STAY AWAY FROM IT!!!!!
PS: and I heard that the other reviews were written by the owner of the hostel...... thats lame....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobbynjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 76 in San Jose
284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldea San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea San Jose

Property: Aldea San Jose
Address: Avenida 2 | Calle 28 100m south Pizza Hut Paseo Colon, in front of the Garbo Room, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aldea San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Aldea San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldea San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing