We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose(San Jose)
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$110
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$82
$73
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
57
27
9
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
27
9
2
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 100 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and was really happy with the choice of hostel. It's in a really nice area of San Jose. The hostel is clean, has a sociable vibe to it with a big tv, laptops for guests to use, clean bathrooms, well equipped kitchen, good dining area and huge sofas in the living room. It feels more like living in a house than a hostel. The owners are friendly too. Will be returning on my visit to San Jose. It's also around the corner to a huge supermarket (good if you're cooking in), San Pedro Mall and an amazing cafe, Sweet Sensations, for a cupcake fix.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DXCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hi,

I stayed here on my first and last night in costa rica.

The owners arranged :

# transportation from the airport and return

( verry kind driver was waiting for me with a sign with my name on , this was a good start for the vacation for me )

# Rental car

( 4 x 4 , small jeep as asked , it was perfect and looked brand new , and the most importent the cheapest " when traveling around casta rica comparing the prices with other travellers and searching the internet )

# I could always ask for information when travelling trough facebook or email.


# The Hostel is a little out of the city area , buth the prices are nice's , Rooms are basic but verry clean.
They provide , free laptops , x box and other.

# breakfast ( quite simple : pancakes but good )

Overall : The staff was verry helfpull , friendly there was a nice vibe , had a good rest in the rooms , and they arenged me good deals and information.

I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL TO ANY TRAVELLER. !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrbievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed two times at the In&Basic at the very begining of our trip to Costa Rica and at the end before leaving for the airport.
Ron & Karlis (the owners) had very good knowledge of all the activities that one can do in Costa Rica along with info on how to do them and how to get there. Quite impressive.
The hostel is clean and the common areas are freshly decorated and comfortable (giant TV, pool table, nice sofas, well equiped kitchen, exotic garden, wifi, ...).

During our second we arrived quite late at the hostel and Ron drove us to a 24h store so that we could grab some late groceries for diner.

I would definitely recommand this place for an entry or exit point in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronnyhermosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and are gonna stay one more on the way back. We came late in the afternoon with a taxi that was waiting for us at the airport. When we arrived the owner made us a delicious pizza! Its a family owned hostel so the vibe is friendly and laid back. You can relax and watch tv or play video games. All the other guest were also really nice. The owner helped us out with a car rental and got us a really nice deal! The agent was friendly too. We decided to stay an extra night when we come back to SJ. This hostel is an ideal place if you want to relax after the hustle of downtown San Jose! Its right in the university area so there are lots of nice bars and restaurants! Just ask the owner and he will gladly help you out with all you need! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

In and Basic is a very good hostel not too far from the local university in Pan Pedro. Ron and Karlis take good care of their guests and are more than happy to offer travel advice. The rooms are basic, nothing special but the common area is very nice and is great to meet other backpackers.

Room Tip: The breakfast consists of good pancakes and fruit. This is a good spot to start or end your Costa Rican vacation.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews