We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here the last few days of our trip throughout Central America. We absolutely loved our stay here. The people who run it are really nice and helpful. They make homemade pizza which are great as well. Good beds, nice people, clean bathrooms, exactly what you want in a hostel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
33
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and was really happy with the choice of hostel. It's in a really nice area of San Jose. The hostel is clean, has a sociable vibe to it with a big tv, laptops for guests to use, clean bathrooms, well equipped kitchen, good dining area and huge sofas in the living room. It feels more like living in a house than a hostel. The owners are friendly too. Will be returning on my visit to San Jose. It's also around the corner to a huge supermarket (good if you're cooking in), San Pedro Mall and an amazing cafe, Sweet Sensations, for a cupcake fix.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DXCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hi,

I stayed here on my first and last night in costa rica.

The owners arranged :

# transportation from the airport and return

( verry kind driver was waiting for me with a sign with my name on , this was a good start for the vacation for me )

# Rental car

( 4 x 4 , small jeep as asked , it was perfect and looked brand new , and the most importent the cheapest " when traveling around casta rica comparing the prices with other travellers and searching the internet )

# I could always ask for information when travelling trough facebook or email.


# The Hostel is a little out of the city area , buth the prices are nice's , Rooms are basic but verry clean.
They provide , free laptops , x box and other.

# breakfast ( quite simple : pancakes but good )

Overall : The staff was verry helfpull , friendly there was a nice vibe , had a good rest in the rooms , and they arenged me good deals and information.

I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL TO ANY TRAVELLER. !!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrbievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed two times at the In&Basic at the very begining of our trip to Costa Rica and at the end before leaving for the airport.
Ron & Karlis (the owners) had very good knowledge of all the activities that one can do in Costa Rica along with info on how to do them and how to get there. Quite impressive.
The hostel is clean and the common areas are freshly decorated and comfortable (giant TV, pool table, nice sofas, well equiped kitchen, exotic garden, wifi, ...).

During our second we arrived quite late at the hostel and Ron drove us to a 24h store so that we could grab some late groceries for diner.

I would definitely recommand this place for an entry or exit point in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnyhermosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and are gonna stay one more on the way back. We came late in the afternoon with a taxi that was waiting for us at the airport. When we arrived the owner made us a delicious pizza! Its a family owned hostel so the vibe is friendly and laid back. You can relax and watch tv or play video games. All the other guest were also really nice. The owner helped us out with a car rental and got us a really nice deal! The agent was friendly too. We decided to stay an extra night when we come back to SJ. This hostel is an ideal place if you want to relax after the hustle of downtown San Jose! Its right in the university area so there are lots of nice bars and restaurants! Just ask the owner and he will gladly help you out with all you need! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

In and Basic is a very good hostel not too far from the local university in Pan Pedro. Ron and Karlis take good care of their guests and are more than happy to offer travel advice. The rooms are basic, nothing special but the common area is very nice and is great to meet other backpackers.

Room Tip: The breakfast consists of good pancakes and fruit. This is a good spot to start or end your Costa Ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed there for three nights. The rooms are very simple but comfortable. To get into the city or a bus station you simply let them know and they call a cab for you (approx.4-6dollars), works fine. There are plenty of places to eat nearby. The breakfast is "just" pancakes and jam or peanut butter, some fruit...but it fills you up until lunch.
The staff is friendly and always happy to help you out with whatever you need. I would go there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#14 of 77 in San Jose
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 83 in San Jose
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Urbano
Hostel Urbano
#1 of 83 in San Jose
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Urbano Yoses
Hostel Urbano Yoses
#8 of 83 in San Jose
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 83 in San Jose
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#4 of 83 in San Jose
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In & Basic Hostel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In & Basic Hostel Lounge

Property: In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Address: 200 m South and 75 m west of Spoon, Los Yoses | Fatima's church North side, San Jose 10511, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 83 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hostel - One home - A different way of living in San Jose...In&Basic is a beautiful custom made hostel, the owners have created an amazing experience in a suburb called "Los Yoses" they want to invite all the travelers to experience a one of a kind Family & Friends Hostel, we want you to see for yourselves a little bit of two small worlds that combine nature and a glamorous House. In&Basic has the doors open to create a new family everyday!..We want you to be part of our family!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your In & Basic Hostel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In & Basic Hostel Lounge Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing