We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel in San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hostel in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

In and Basic is a very good hostel not too far from the local university in Pan Pedro. Ron and Karlis take good care of their guests and are more than happy to offer travel advice. The rooms are basic, nothing special but the common area is very nice and is great to meet other backpackers.

Room Tip: The breakfast consists of good pancakes and fruit. This is a good spot to start or end your Costa Ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
33
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed there for three nights. The rooms are very simple but comfortable. To get into the city or a bus station you simply let them know and they call a cab for you (approx.4-6dollars), works fine. There are plenty of places to eat nearby. The breakfast is "just" pancakes and jam or peanut butter, some fruit...but it fills you up until lunch.
The staff is friendly and always happy to help you out with whatever you need. I would go there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place has everything going for it, but the greatest value is the guidance and travel tips the friendly family/staff have to offer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josiah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

After flying in and taking the bus to San Jose, we had a hard time finding this hostel. We asked many of the locals and still had a very difficult time. The staff was kind enough, but our plans changed and we weren't refunded our room for our second night even though we didn't stay (but they did follow their policy so it was fair). To us, it didn't seem like an exciting area although we did find a nice restaurant attached to another hostel. The room was private and clean but smelled overly perfumed. The whole experience was only okay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
I do not have knowledge of this guest or this review.
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
198 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed here two times overnight and was quite happy with it. It was very clean, and in a safe neighborhood. Even the shared bathrooms were immaculate. The facilities are nice and comfortable, and the owners are hospitable, and breakfast is tasty. The owners will give you tons of advice and help you with pretty much anything you ask!

The only downside of this hostel is its location. While it's in a quiet, safe, great neighborhood and near a supermarket, it's at least a forty-minute walk from the center of San Jose and the bus station. Fortunately, it's only a $6.00 cab ride to the center of town if you need to get somewhere really early.

Room Tip: The Safari Room is great for a couple and is next to the shared bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbinz410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Really stylish little hostel, very friendly staff, hot water, great (safe!) location - everything you could want for safe, budget accommodation in San Jose. Would return for definite. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cawte21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the in & basic hostel for two nights. We had a great stay, met some interesting people and got very good advice and help from the owners Karlis and Ron. The hostel is an oasis of friendliness and rest in the rowdy city of San Jose. It has a very nice common area, a proper kitchen and our room was clean (no bedbugs!). The bed wasn't very comfortable. The bathrooms were fine, could have been a little cleaner. I highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#13 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#42 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.2 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 80 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In & Basic Hostel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In & Basic Hostel Lounge

Property: In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Address: 200 m South and 75 m west of Spoon, Los Yoses | Fatima's church North side, San Jose 10511, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 80 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hostel - One home - A different way of living in San Jose...In&Basic is a beautiful custom made hostel, the owners have created an amazing experience in a suburb called "Los Yoses" they want to invite all the travelers to experience a one of a kind Family & Friends Hostel, we want you to see for yourselves a little bit of two small worlds that combine nature and a glamorous House. In&Basic has the doors open to create a new family everyday!..We want you to be part of our family!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your In & Basic Hostel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In & Basic Hostel Lounge Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing