We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great place to stay for the money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of In & Basic Hostel Lounge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place to stay for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place has everything going for it, but the greatest value is the guidance and travel tips the friendly family/staff have to offer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josiah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    28
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
32
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

After flying in and taking the bus to San Jose, we had a hard time finding this hostel. We asked many of the locals and still had a very difficult time. The staff was kind enough, but our plans changed and we weren't refunded our room for our second night even though we didn't stay (but they did follow their policy so it was fair). To us, it didn't seem like an exciting area although we did find a nice restaurant attached to another hostel. The room was private and clean but smelled overly perfumed. The whole experience was only okay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
I do not have knowledge of this guest or this review.
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed here two times overnight and was quite happy with it. It was very clean, and in a safe neighborhood. Even the shared bathrooms were immaculate. The facilities are nice and comfortable, and the owners are hospitable, and breakfast is tasty. The owners will give you tons of advice and help you with pretty much anything you ask!

The only downside of this hostel is its location. While it's in a quiet, safe, great neighborhood and near a supermarket, it's at least a forty-minute walk from the center of San Jose and the bus station. Fortunately, it's only a $6.00 cab ride to the center of town if you need to get somewhere really early.

Room Tip: The Safari Room is great for a couple and is next to the shared bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbinz410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Really stylish little hostel, very friendly staff, hot water, great (safe!) location - everything you could want for safe, budget accommodation in San Jose. Would return for definite. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cawte21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the in & basic hostel for two nights. We had a great stay, met some interesting people and got very good advice and help from the owners Karlis and Ron. The hostel is an oasis of friendliness and rest in the rowdy city of San Jose. It has a very nice common area, a proper kitchen and our room was clean (no bedbugs!). The bed wasn't very comfortable. The bathrooms were fine, could have been a little cleaner. I highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed there only for 2 nights but the value is the best we came across in San Jose. Located in a nice part of town (San Pedro) with walking distance to the centre, buses and daily shopping. The rooms are modern, themic and very nice (the cleanest in Central America! :), the breakfast was tasty and fulfilling - even if you're late and they make tasty homemade pizzas in the evening if you cant be bothered to leave the place. You can watch all the tv or movies you can muster and there's plenty of internet access for everyone. Upon leaving they were very helpful guiding us further. So all in all a big thank you to the people at In&Basic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monolov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over the new year. Hostel staff were super helpful - the airlines lost my bags and given that it was the new year holiday, it was impossible to contact them on the status of bag tracking. The hostel staff were extremely helpful in tracking the status of my bags while I was out exploring the city

Plus points:
Breakfast (pankcakes!) in the morning was nice, but only from 8-9am; this hostel attracts a fun crowd, it has a home like feeling and chilled atmosphere

Downsides:
- the beds and pillows are not great in quality, but it was otherwise comfortable and clean
- they will try to sell you slightly overpriced tours which you can probably do yourself (but they will try to dissuade you from doing so and push you towards taking their tours)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#11 of 84 in San Jose
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 75 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Urbano
Hostel Urbano
#2 of 75 in San Jose
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In & Basic Hostel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In & Basic Hostel Lounge

Property: In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Address: 200 m South and 75 m west of Spoon, Los Yoses | Fatima's church North side, San Jose 10511, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 75 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hostel - One home - A different way of living in San Jose...In&Basic is a beautiful custom made hostel, the owners have created an amazing experience in a suburb called "Los Yoses" they want to invite all the travelers to experience a one of a kind Family & Friends Hostel, we want you to see for yourselves a little bit of two small worlds that combine nature and a glamorous House. In&Basic has the doors open to create a new family everyday!..We want you to be part of our family!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your In & Basic Hostel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In & Basic Hostel Lounge Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing