We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we stayed here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Glad we stayed here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the in & basic hostel for two nights. We had a great stay, met some interesting people and got very good advice and help from the owners Karlis and Ron. The hostel is an oasis of friendliness and rest in the rowdy city of San Jose. It has a very nice common area, a proper kitchen and our room was clean (no bedbugs!). The bed wasn't very comfortable. The bathrooms were fine, could have been a little cleaner. I highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
33
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed there only for 2 nights but the value is the best we came across in San Jose. Located in a nice part of town (San Pedro) with walking distance to the centre, buses and daily shopping. The rooms are modern, themic and very nice (the cleanest in Central America! :), the breakfast was tasty and fulfilling - even if you're late and they make tasty homemade pizzas in the evening if you cant be bothered to leave the place. You can watch all the tv or movies you can muster and there's plenty of internet access for everyone. Upon leaving they were very helpful guiding us further. So all in all a big thank you to the people at In&Basic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monolov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over the new year. Hostel staff were super helpful - the airlines lost my bags and given that it was the new year holiday, it was impossible to contact them on the status of bag tracking. The hostel staff were extremely helpful in tracking the status of my bags while I was out exploring the city

Plus points:
Breakfast (pankcakes!) in the morning was nice, but only from 8-9am; this hostel attracts a fun crowd, it has a home like feeling and chilled atmosphere

Downsides:
- the beds and pillows are not great in quality, but it was otherwise comfortable and clean
- they will try to sell you slightly overpriced tours which you can probably do yourself (but they will try to dissuade you from doing so and push you towards taking their tours)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

La mejor ubicación ( Los Yoses), zona comercial y residencial.
Un excelente punto para tomar Tours en el area del Valle Central.
Ambiente familiar y muy tranquilo.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterfallgardentour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011


We arrived to san jose for the third time just to bring back the car that we ranted and arrived by coinsidense to this amazing hostel. it's new and modern designed,very clean and feels like home. the owners-Ron and Carlis- were very nice and helped us a lot with good advices that saved us money. The morning bannana pancakes were great. i would happily stayed more if i could. Adi

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adiport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Let me give you a little insight on me, I have traveled the world and have stayed at many hostels in my lifetime across the us as well as europe and thailand. Never have I been treated so bad at any of them as this one did. I had been conversing via email with the wife Karlis, she is very nice and accomodating. The husband on the other hand used high pressure sales tactic to get us to buy the bed and tours, in cash. He charged a higher rate for cash. He also said he would charge full price for the 4 hours to hold luggage and take a shower on the day we were leaving. No hot water was provided for showers, no heat in rooms. Upon leaving he said that one person had to pay or we wouldnt be able to leave. He threatened me and cussed me out. Told me I couldn't change a reservation- didn't make one for day of departure. He pushed for us to stay on sun but we left at 7am and he still wanted us to pay for that day. He got mad when he found out we made arrangements through the tour company for a drop off. He confronted them as well. Could not believe how he treated us, it was my friends first time in a hostel, most likely the last with this experience. We had settled everything with the wife, she knew we were not staying on sun not sure why she didn't tell him. He seemed abusive to her as well. They fought in front of us. Owner is not honest and seems to really be hurting for business. Very money hungry. Do not stay here!!!

Room Tip: For hostels maybe going through an association such as hosteling international. There are other ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank luvdaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
We have not knowledge about this guests either this review! Regards Paula //Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed in this hostel for a night in May and another in June as a starting point and a finishing point to our Costa Rica trip. It was such a great choice! We had only booked the first night but after staying there for a few hours that first night we decided to go ahead and book our last night here too as it was so confortable! The acommondations are so clean and so under priced (seriously) . The rooms are exactly as pictured on the site and the same goes for the rest of the house. The hosts Ron and Karlis are so friendly and helpful! They recommended a tour of waterfall gardens in La Paz and though we weren't mentally prepared to pay the $70 pp it was so worth it! No regrets at all :)
We forgot our camera while charging it downstairs our last night and they offered to send it to us by mail, so nice of them!
The pancakes for breakfast were delicious and if it's rainy outside you can comfy up on the living room couch and watch a movie of your choice (big variety) or surf the net on the 2 laptops provided though the top 40s music always going (which goes off at 10pm) is a little loud. Oh and the first night we did the more expensive room ($36 a night) and the 2nd night we booked the cheaper one ($32) Safari with shared bathroom. The shared bathrooms are very clean but I think we should've just paid the extra $4 for the comfort, the first room's bathroom in the room was so spacious! (bring your own toiletries)

I highly recommend the hostel! Please message me if you have any questions and I'll gladly answer.

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#14 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#42 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.2 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 79 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In & Basic Hostel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In & Basic Hostel Lounge

Property: In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Address: 200 m South and 75 m west of Spoon, Los Yoses | Fatima's church North side, San Jose 10511, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 79 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hostel - One home - A different way of living in San Jose...In&Basic is a beautiful custom made hostel, the owners have created an amazing experience in a suburb called "Los Yoses" they want to invite all the travelers to experience a one of a kind Family & Friends Hostel, we want you to see for yourselves a little bit of two small worlds that combine nature and a glamorous House. In&Basic has the doors open to create a new family everyday!..We want you to be part of our family!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your In & Basic Hostel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In & Basic Hostel Lounge Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing