We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, modern yet very homey, great hospitality ,very helpful & cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New, modern yet very homey, great hospitality ,very helpful & cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011


We arrived to san jose for the third time just to bring back the car that we ranted and arrived by coinsidense to this amazing hostel. it's new and modern designed,very clean and feels like home. the owners-Ron and Carlis- were very nice and helped us a lot with good advices that saved us money. The morning bannana pancakes were great. i would happily stayed more if i could. Adi

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adiport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
33
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Let me give you a little insight on me, I have traveled the world and have stayed at many hostels in my lifetime across the us as well as europe and thailand. Never have I been treated so bad at any of them as this one did. I had been conversing via email with the wife Karlis, she is very nice and accomodating. The husband on the other hand used high pressure sales tactic to get us to buy the bed and tours, in cash. He charged a higher rate for cash. He also said he would charge full price for the 4 hours to hold luggage and take a shower on the day we were leaving. No hot water was provided for showers, no heat in rooms. Upon leaving he said that one person had to pay or we wouldnt be able to leave. He threatened me and cussed me out. Told me I couldn't change a reservation- didn't make one for day of departure. He pushed for us to stay on sun but we left at 7am and he still wanted us to pay for that day. He got mad when he found out we made arrangements through the tour company for a drop off. He confronted them as well. Could not believe how he treated us, it was my friends first time in a hostel, most likely the last with this experience. We had settled everything with the wife, she knew we were not staying on sun not sure why she didn't tell him. He seemed abusive to her as well. They fought in front of us. Owner is not honest and seems to really be hurting for business. Very money hungry. Do not stay here!!!

Room Tip: For hostels maybe going through an association such as hosteling international. There are other ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank luvdaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inandbasic, Owner at In & Basic Hostel Lounge, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
We have not knowledge about this guests either this review! Regards Paula //Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed in this hostel for a night in May and another in June as a starting point and a finishing point to our Costa Rica trip. It was such a great choice! We had only booked the first night but after staying there for a few hours that first night we decided to go ahead and book our last night here too as it was so confortable! The acommondations are so clean and so under priced (seriously) . The rooms are exactly as pictured on the site and the same goes for the rest of the house. The hosts Ron and Karlis are so friendly and helpful! They recommended a tour of waterfall gardens in La Paz and though we weren't mentally prepared to pay the $70 pp it was so worth it! No regrets at all :)
We forgot our camera while charging it downstairs our last night and they offered to send it to us by mail, so nice of them!
The pancakes for breakfast were delicious and if it's rainy outside you can comfy up on the living room couch and watch a movie of your choice (big variety) or surf the net on the 2 laptops provided though the top 40s music always going (which goes off at 10pm) is a little loud. Oh and the first night we did the more expensive room ($36 a night) and the 2nd night we booked the cheaper one ($32) Safari with shared bathroom. The shared bathrooms are very clean but I think we should've just paid the extra $4 for the comfort, the first room's bathroom in the room was so spacious! (bring your own toiletries)

I highly recommend the hostel! Please message me if you have any questions and I'll gladly answer.

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed one night when we arrived in Costa Rica and our taxi wasn't waiting for our arrival. We took another taxi and our driver found it difficult to find the hostel. Our room was warm, no fan, and a loud barking dog kept waking us up. Next day the owner had breakfast ready for our early departure, we planned on staying there on our last night before flying out, so paid up front with cash for that night too. Our plans changed at the end of our trip and we contacted the owner within the time limit to send us our money back by check. He has yet to reimburse us for the last night stay. We wanted to stay closer to the airport due to an early morning flight.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goya19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

The reviewers before me pretty much pointed it out. Very friendly people, clean rooms and great lounge! Will visit you guys before heading back again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baguslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

The hostel is about a 15 min walk from the city center of San Jose or 5min to bus station and 5 min on the bus to the center and also only 5 min away from the San Pedro Shopping Mall.
The interieur of the hostel is amazing, they have design furnitures and such a cool room for relaxing, watching TV, playing pool or even air hockey. Plus they offer many books to exchange and two laptops to use for free.
The price includes a really good breakfast, free wifi, sheets and blankets and towels.
But the best thing about the hostel are the owners. Karlis and Ron are lovely people and they will help you just about everything. They know all the places to go in Costa Rica and can support you to plan your ongoing tour through the country.
I would always come back to see them again and stay in their wonderful hostel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raki2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Pros: The staff is very friendly and treat you like family. They join you for meals and hang out in the common areas. They keep the entire place very clean and the rooms are spacious. It feels like you're staying in a house instead of a hotel/hostel. Free wi-fi and 2 laptops available for guest use. Convenient location: The hotel is within walking distance to a mall and you can easily catch public buses to other parts of San Jose.

Cons: It's difficult to find the hotel. I think the sign needs to be more prominent. It took us close to 45 mins looking for the place. You might need earplugs if you are a light sleeper; there are some bars or other hotels in that area and you can hear music and people talking until late at night.

Overall, a great place to stay in San Jose for a good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#13 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#42 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.2 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 80 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In & Basic Hostel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In & Basic Hostel Lounge

Property: In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Address: 200 m South and 75 m west of Spoon, Los Yoses | Fatima's church North side, San Jose 10511, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 80 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hostel - One home - A different way of living in San Jose...In&Basic is a beautiful custom made hostel, the owners have created an amazing experience in a suburb called "Los Yoses" they want to invite all the travelers to experience a one of a kind Family & Friends Hostel, we want you to see for yourselves a little bit of two small worlds that combine nature and a glamorous House. In&Basic has the doors open to create a new family everyday!..We want you to be part of our family!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your In & Basic Hostel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In & Basic Hostel Lounge Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing