We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner not being honest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Owner not being honest”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed one night when we arrived in Costa Rica and our taxi wasn't waiting for our arrival. We took another taxi and our driver found it difficult to find the hostel. Our room was warm, no fan, and a loud barking dog kept waking us up. Next day the owner had breakfast ready for our early departure, we planned on staying there on our last night before flying out, so paid up front with cash for that night too. Our plans changed at the end of our trip and we contacted the owner within the time limit to send us our money back by check. He has yet to reimburse us for the last night stay. We wanted to stay closer to the airport due to an early morning flight.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goya19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
33
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

The reviewers before me pretty much pointed it out. Very friendly people, clean rooms and great lounge! Will visit you guys before heading back again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baguslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The hostel is about a 15 min walk from the city center of San Jose or 5min to bus station and 5 min on the bus to the center and also only 5 min away from the San Pedro Shopping Mall.
The interieur of the hostel is amazing, they have design furnitures and such a cool room for relaxing, watching TV, playing pool or even air hockey. Plus they offer many books to exchange and two laptops to use for free.
The price includes a really good breakfast, free wifi, sheets and blankets and towels.
But the best thing about the hostel are the owners. Karlis and Ron are lovely people and they will help you just about everything. They know all the places to go in Costa Rica and can support you to plan your ongoing tour through the country.
I would always come back to see them again and stay in their wonderful hostel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raki2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Pros: The staff is very friendly and treat you like family. They join you for meals and hang out in the common areas. They keep the entire place very clean and the rooms are spacious. It feels like you're staying in a house instead of a hotel/hostel. Free wi-fi and 2 laptops available for guest use. Convenient location: The hotel is within walking distance to a mall and you can easily catch public buses to other parts of San Jose.

Cons: It's difficult to find the hotel. I think the sign needs to be more prominent. It took us close to 45 mins looking for the place. You might need earplugs if you are a light sleeper; there are some bars or other hotels in that area and you can hear music and people talking until late at night.

Overall, a great place to stay in San Jose for a good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I visited Costa Rica for a couple of weeks without making any prior plans, luckily I read about In And Basic and decided to stay there for my first night. Ron and Carlis were wonderful, they helped me with ideas, car rentals and even getting a massage ;-)
Recommended, recommended, recommended !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2011

I visited Costa Rica this month for the first time in my life and had the pleasure of staying at this hostel (not hotel) for four days. They have a website you can visit to see the specifics of this hostel so I won't go into it here, and I should mention that I am a newbie at backpacking (the trip was not a serious venture into backpacking though- phew!). My boyfriend is a super pro however and even he was pleasantly surprised by this hostel!

The hosts, Ron and Karlis, were unbelievably welcoming from the moment we arrived. They were very friendly and easy to talk to, especially since they can speak in English and Spanish. They were very informative as to which tours were the best (as well as a good bargain) and really looked out for us. I would have given the hostel four stars, but because of them I give it five.

The hostel itself is very lovely, and if you look at the pictures on their site you can see for yourself how nice the interior looks. The lounge area, where the pool table is, was a wonderful place to sit and relax and socialize. The backyard had tables and chairs to just sit out and soak in the beautiful Costa Rican weather, perhaps read a book or two also. I personally enjoyed playing pool with the different travelers who happened to be staying there.

As for the rooms, there were lots of pros and only a few cons. The first con would be that the first night we stayed there we requested a private room but the room we got was a bit small and had a very poor shower. But the hosts moved us the next night to a much better room because it had opened up (which is another example of how awesome the hosts are!). This second room was gorgeous - dark wood floors, bigger bathroom, lots of space, and lots of windows. The beds in both rooms were comfortable and I found the pillows to be fine (though perhaps a little bit lumpy). But everything was clean and well maintained.
The second possible con is that everything sort of gets turned off at 10:30. They play really good music so it has a club like feel in the evenings, but at around 10:30 they turn it all off. This is, I am assuming, because the daughter has to sleep and go to school in the morning. So if you are looking for a place where you can come in late at night after partying or something this is probably not the place for you. I, however, LOVED how quiet it got at night because we could really fall asleep in peace. So for those of you who want a good night's rest, this "con" is actually a positive thing! The neighborhood was quiet too so it was very peaceful, even with all the windows.

Breakfast is also provided for if you're on a tight budget. It consisted of pancakes with your choice of syrup, peanut butter, chocolate syrup, and jam. You also could have some fruit on the side too. The kitchen was shared by everyone but was still clean, and tea was free.

As you can tell by this very long review, I was so impressed and appreciative of the wonderful service and experience I had at this hostel. I would highly recommend staying here for those of you who are looking for a place to relax on a budget. Very much worth it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoojung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Clean rooms for sleeping and napping. On site computers for use and a huge big screen TV for relaxing.A relaxing veranda for reading or breakfast. The best part though is Ron and Karlis them selves. They are a wealth of information and go out of their way to help. They can arrange every thing for you from taxies to tours.Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#13 of 77 in San Jose
135 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 83 in San Jose
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 83 in San Jose
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Areka
Casa Areka
#1 of 7 in San Pedro
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In & Basic Hostel Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In & Basic Hostel Lounge

Property: In & Basic Hostel Lounge
Address: 200 m South and 75 m west of Spoon, Los Yoses | Fatima's church North side, San Jose 10511, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 83 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hostel - One home - A different way of living in San Jose...In&Basic is a beautiful custom made hostel, the owners have created an amazing experience in a suburb called "Los Yoses" they want to invite all the travelers to experience a one of a kind Family & Friends Hostel, we want you to see for yourselves a little bit of two small worlds that combine nature and a glamorous House. In&Basic has the doors open to create a new family everyday!..We want you to be part of our family!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your In & Basic Hostel Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In & Basic Hostel Lounge Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing