We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise environment into San Josè...”
Review of Hotel Casa Leon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Leon
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

A little Hotel in a good position in the city. The owner is very professional, friendly and helpful. The Hotel is very nice and clean. I booked two differents types of rooms which the more expensive ( but not so expensive: -) ) one was really nice. Anyway also the cheaper room is nice, simple and clean. I suggest this hotel to stay at San Josè.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank rey8801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 130 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights in May 2014.

Initially, I was going to be fairly negative but changed my mind during my stay based on my experiences.

After several emails confirming my arrival and requesting a taxi to meet me at the Tica Bus terminal, I never received a response. I telephoned the night before to confirm my arrival and was told to arrange a taxi myself, which I didn't think was the best customer service.

However, once I did arrive, I soon discovered the owners were away on holiday at the time and arrived back on the same day that I arrived. Patrick (the owner) was incredibly friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. It seems like the people that were looking after the place didn't speak English hence the problems I encountered.

My room was very clean and the temperature of the room itself was perfect. The bed was very comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was in good condition The free WiFi worked throughout and the kitchen area downstairs was superb.

The hotel is situated a short walking distance from the centre of San Jose. There are a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby.

I paid $55 for my stay which I thought was pretty reasonable.

I would of given the hotel 5 out of 5 if it wasn't for the initial communication problems. I would however still fully recommend this hotel for your stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mezzarino1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night in February 2014, it is within walking distance to the town center and the room we stayed in was basic but clean and comfortable. Patrick was very helpful and and even called our bus for us when it was late. No complaints, good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archeo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Price - Quality is great! Casa Leon has nice spacious rooms that are clean, as is the bathroom. Owner Patrick is very helpful. He showed us nice places to visit and the best way to go from the hotel to the main street. The only thing that might be a problem for some people is that the hotel is right next to the traintracks. But the trains stop around 10 pm and start around 5 am. But this didn't bother us. Wifi works fast and is free to use.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lieke86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for one night with two friends. The owner Patrick was super helpful and waited up for us as our flight didn't land till 10pm. He showed us to our room and made us feel at home. Also offers great wifi and if you pay with cash I believe that you get a discount. Wish I had more to stay but we arrived late and left early since we got picked up for a tour at 6 am.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank safarigahry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This is not the fanciest hotel you'll ever stay in, but for the price, it's probably one of the best deals in San Jose. Clean and comfortable rooms, pleasant owner, 5 min walk from the National Theatre and city parks, bakery 100m away. I'd return here. When trying to find it, note it's actually on a little sidestreet next to the railtracks, parallel to Calle 13 and 15, just off Avenida 6.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Accepts credit cards. Has hot water and good private bathrooms with spacious showers. Clean. No breakfast included. Free internet and wifi. Has a communal fridge where you can store food or drinks. Extremely convenient location for all of San Jose's touristic activities. Bus to Cartago and Turrialba right across the street. Lovely helpful Swiss-Tican owners-managers who live onsite and are around to help you out. All this for a price of twenty dollars a night for a single. Unbelievably good deal considering how expensive Costa Rica is. N.B.: There is a train track directly adjacent to the hotel. This did not bother me, and there was no train activity on Saturday or Sunday...

If you're a seasoned traveler who wants a convenient, ensuite base to explore San Jose for a tremendous price, this is it...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#27 of 78 in San Jose
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes
Hotel Arrecifes
#62 of 78 in San Jose
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cocori
Hotel Cocori
#57 of 78 in San Jose
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#38 of 78 in San Jose
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Leon

Address: Avenida 6, Calles 13-15, | de la Clinica Drs. Echandi 70 mts noreste, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $28 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casa Leon 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since a few years the Casa León is under Swiss Management.Our rooms are equipped with a double bed, private bathroom and ceiling fanValues such as hospitality and cleanliness are of course a matter for us.It makes us happy to see you soon as our guest and to give you useful advises for a happy travel in Costa Rica. Our house is located in the heart of San José, attractions such as National Museum, Gold Museum or the Central Market and the bus terminals are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Leon Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing