We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to San Jose”
Review of Hotel Casa Leon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa Leon
Ranked #30 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great place to stay in San Jose and very close to the center. The owners of the hotels, Patrick and Alina are very friendly and helpful. They gave me suggestions on what to visit, and other important places to shop. The room was very comfortable and the bed mattress was excellent.
This hotel is also very affordable. I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Radu_Atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Leon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here 5 times for one night and we could leave our stuff at his place. The rooms are really clean, every room has a bathroom and the hostel is pretty central. The Owner and his wife are really helpfull and friendly. Unfortunately is there a train track next to the hostel and its loud early in the morning.
But for me it wasn´t really annoying. So if you don´t care about a train passing by, this is a nice, safe place to stay in san jose. We paid 30 dollar for a double room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jostern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Casa León, more a small family-owned hotel than a hostel, is the perfect place if you want clean, comfortable & safe accommodation in a great location at a great price. An avid backpacker, I was in San José 10 days for business so I did not want to spend too much money, be stuck in a stuffy hotel nor be caught in a party hostel.

Patrick & Adina were amazingly helpful and welcoming. They let you mind your own business, or are willing to have a chat whenever. Plus, they will resolve any issue you need.

At first glance I was disappointed that Casa León does not offer food. But the location is so good, that you can just walk to a couple great places within the same block (Fleur de Lys for dinner & drinks or Nuestra Tierra for whatever as it's open 24 hrs) or just walk a couple of blocks to the main pedestrian thoroughfare (Avenida Central) with dozens of choices.

Excellent place - thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Although the hotel (rather hostel) is hard to find, it's worth looking for it as it has nice and proper rooms and a very central location for a rather low price.
Furthermore the owner works part time for a travel agency and is therefore very well informed about what to see in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrgambit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

! stayed here for three nights and was pleased with my stay. Patrick was there to answer and help with anything you have asked of him. The rooms were clean, walking distance to anything in the downtown area. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank burwof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Central location near the Museo Nacional (1 minute to walk). The rooms are clean and have a bathroom (hot water). The Owners (Patrick and his wife) are friendly and helpful. Just ask if you...! You can relax on the terrace and plan your trip.

Great place if you go to san jose!

Gracias por todo!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ramon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Marielp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 77 in San Jose
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#55 of 77 in San Jose
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 77 in San Jose
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 77 in San Jose
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#22 of 77 in San Jose
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#25 of 77 in San Jose
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Leon

Address: Avenida 6, Calles 13-15, | de la Clinica Drs. Echandi 70 mts noreste, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $27 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casa Leon 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since a few years the Casa León is under Swiss Management.Our rooms are equipped with a double bed, private bathroom and ceiling fanValues such as hospitality and cleanliness are of course a matter for us.It makes us happy to see you soon as our guest and to give you useful advises for a happy travel in Costa Rica. Our house is located in the heart of San José, attractions such as National Museum, Gold Museum or the Central Market and the bus terminals are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Leon Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing