We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and inviting place to stay near San Jose”
Review of La Boruca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Boruca
Ranked #4 of 65 San Jose B&B and Inns
Turrialba
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Comfortable and inviting place to stay near San Jose”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We found La Boruca through TripAdvisor, and we were very happy with our stay there. We have stayed in many places in Costa Rica, and this was one of the most comfortable and inviting places that we have stayed. For a place to stay near San Jose -- if you don't want to be right in the city (we did not) -- it is perfect. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable, and they are decorated nicely with original art. The beds are very good. They have thought through the details and made these rooms very nice while also making them feel friendly and inviting. The internet access is excellent (we often have had problems with this in other hotels in Costa Rica), and each room has a computer with a large-screen monitor and video and music libraries. Very fun for all of us during our stay. Breakfast was delicious. The owner, Ken was helpful, knowledgeable, friendly, and fun to talk with.

While the hotel is a bit our of town, it was easy to find -- even at night. The surrounding area was scenic. The location was a good point from which to set off to the eastern part of the country.

I highly recommend La Boruca as a great place to stay near San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klrowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
75
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston,Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I highly recommend staying at La Boruca. We stayed here 5 nights from November 30 - December 7, 2012 (2 nights were spent at Manuel Antonio). We traveled with my elderly parents, husband, and 17 month old toddler. The rooms are very clean, and the service is excellent! This is a family own and operated B&B, and Kenneth and his family were excellent hosts. The excellent service started even before we booked the rooms; Kenneth went out of his way to provide guidance when planning our trip before we arrived and during our stay. We said we were staying 5 nights and Kenneth suggested that depending on what we wanted to do that perhaps staying that many nights might be inconvenient for us. Turns out that we have family in the area, so staying here for most of our trip was very convenient. He also suggested places we could go eat and even suggested routes to take when going to the places we wanted to go to. He even lent us one of his navigation systems, which I would almost say is a must to have in Costa Rica. He also lent us a car seat to use, and even provided guidance on choosing the type of rental car contract when the rental company showed up at the hotel. The breakfast served every morning was excellent and just the right amount and they even had a high chair at the table for our toddler. Breakfast included a combination of local fruit, coffee, toast, and a main entree which would be different each day. The only meals we had there was breakfast. They will only prepare other meals per request and requires advance notice. Kenneth is an absolute joy to chat with; my parents absolutely loved chatting him up. He also allowed us to leave a few of our bags on the days we were going to the beach, and he also provided a key to the safe as well. Just be sure you don't lose the key, or else he'll have to break the safe! Luckily that didn't happen to us, but we were warned that it could happen if we lost the key.

I would suggest that if you plan to stay here, pack warm clothing; it gets pretty chilly early in the morning and in the evening. The rooms can get pretty chilly as well. The grounds and landscaping is absolutely beautiful! I highly recommend taking a stroll of the grounds. There are a few insects here and there; they are located in a rainforest setting after all. However, the bug situation was not that bad. Also, the Wi-Fi connection is excellent. There isn't any TV cable available, but there is an extensive library of movies available in the room (the TV is hooked up to a computer in the room). Although SIM cards were not available for iPhone 5 in Costa Rica at the time, Kenneth offered to give me one of his cards and attempted to cut it to fit my phone, but unfortunately it didn't work, so I would highly recommend you contact him beforehand and find out if the cards he has will work for your phone before purchasing one from the airport. Thanks to the Wi-Fi connection, I was able use Face Time to call family and friends in the States, and we used my parents' phones to call family in Costa Rica. I also recommend checking out his gift shop. One of his daughters makes really unique and cute jewelry at a very affordable price. We bought several pieces from her and get compliments when I wear them.

If I had to say anything negative, it would be our experience with the taxi service. Apparently the guy that Kenneth uses isn't an official taxi driver and he was not outside the airport waiting for us like we expected. The guy that wheeled out our bags was nice enough to lend us his phone so that I could contact Kenneth to find out what was going on. Turns out since he is not an official taxi driver, he can't stand outside like the rest of the taxi drivers and wait for their passengers, or else he would get a ticket. A man approached us and told us he was the guy that was going to pick us up and was telling us to follow him to the parking garage across the street which made us quite uneasy. After calling Kenneth again, he convinced the driver to drive up to meet us at the airport exit rather than to go into the garage. It also turns out that the guy that approached us was not the driver either; it was the driver's friend, which was hitching a ride to San Jose. We were obviously not pleased with this since that took space away from us, and we were quite cramped in the vehicle as a result. We also had to stop and get gas right afterwards, and we wondered why he didn't do this beforehand. Also personally I found the driver's friend annoying; he tried to come across as clever and witty but instead came across annoying and arrogant. He constantly talked about American politics and it didn't help that we disagree on many things regarding that topic and several other topics he brought up (he wasn’t from the States but lived in Boston for a few years). Needless to say we were quite uncomfortable and uneasy and made for an awkward ride to La Boruca. I did tell Kenneth about the friend riding with us, and he said he was aware of what had happened and told the driver to not do that again in the future. I will say that the navigation system was able to direct us to La Boruca quite nicely so if you plan to rent a car at the airport and rent a navigation system, it will take you there without much trouble.

On a side note, I highly recommend exchanging money at the banks or even at Walmart; their exchange rates match the current exchange rate unlike the airports which charge a hefty premium. I highly recommend staying here and would stay here again, but probably would not use the taxi service again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitcheky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Excellent B&B outside of San Jose. Great location for using as a base for excursions farther away (such as Poas volcano). Very friendly family runs the B&B. Good price. There is a taxi service to help transport you to various places. Clean rooms. Good food. Very bucolic countryside.You can be in the San Jose area without having to actually be in the noisy city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at La Boruca. The accommodations were beautiful. Ken and Susanna are wonderful hosts. The food was delicious. Thank you Susanna. Ken was always ready to provide information on things to do and see in the area. He provided us with a local cell phone we could use in an emergency. Thank you Ken. We highly recommend this B&B. I could go on and on about La Boruca but I would be repeating everything other reviewers have already said.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room at this B&B. I had selected a room on the top floor but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvs2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent three nights in La Boruca - the first and the last two of our 9-day-long trip to Costa Rica. The hotel is on the outskirts of San Jose - and this is a good thing. The hotel - villa, more like it - is in the middle of a beautiful garden, and the city noise is non-existent there. You wake up to the songs of tropical birds, and the sunsets viewed from the balcony are spectacular. The rooms are spacious and all the amenities of the modern hotel are there. You can eat in your room but the open air dining patio in the garden is a far better place. The food is way more sophisticated than Costa-Rican "comida tipica" (not that there is anything wrong with traditional cuisine, as far as we were concerned). Kenneth and Susanna are very cordial and incredibly efficient hosts. Our transportation to and from La Boruca was arranged for us, when our itinerary changed at the last moment, Ken reacted immediately and saved us a headache of finding our way late at night in a strange city. We asked Ken over the phone to research the tour to Poas for us; when we arrived to La Boruca all the arrangements for the tour were already made, including a few extras, which proved to be absolutely worth the time spent.
As beautiful as La Boruca is, Ken and Susanna add a lot to the charm of the place.

We spent quite a bit of time holding our breath watching a motmot in Monteverde National Park. On the day of our departure we woke up in La Boruca, and a beautiful motmot was watching us from the tree outside the window.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We picked La Boruca because of the reviews and the location. We flew into San Jose that day and rented a car. We were headed to Tortuguero so we wanted to drive out of San Jose and be in the right direction to head to the Carribean. We didn't want to be delayed by San Jose traffic the next day. It was a perfect choice. Ken was very helpful. He checked on the times of the boats heading to Tortuguero for us and prepared us for slow travel.
The room was lovely and the internet worked well. There is beautiful landscaping all around. We ate dinner($16) there and it was very good. We enjoyed breakfast in the morning and then were off for the rest of our adventure. We were sorry to stay only one night but it was a lovely way to start our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have not stayed at many bed and breakfast places, so this was a new experience for us. Ken and Susanna are wonderful hosts, and their place (remote though it is) is very comfortable and welcoming. They were very attentive, taking room service to a new level when I was sick.

Ken is a fascinating guy to talk to, having had a wide variety of life experiences. He is also a computer whiz, so the large screen TV was also the computer monitor in our room. The Internet worked well.

The room was very clean and comfortable, with big windows showing the lush tropical greenery (all planted by Ken and Susanna) outside. The hot tap in the shower is on the RIGHT side, marked with the letter C for "Caliente."

Nice place, great people, Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#26 of 78 in San Jose
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Boruca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boruca

Property: La Boruca
Address: Moravia San Jose, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 15 minutes from downtown San Jose on the hills heading to the Caribbean. The whole property is surrounded by lush gardens our rooms are modern and large all of them have high speed internet and a computer in the room with a nice flat screen to use our movie or music archive our beds are king size orthopedic, we offer hot water safe box and always free helpful advice on Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Boruca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Boruca Hotel San Jose
La Boruca Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing