We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful owner makes this a great place to stay!!”
Review of La Boruca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Boruca
Ranked #5 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful owner makes this a great place to stay!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for two nights after after she was on the coast on business for a week. I had met her at the end of her business trip and Ken was EXTREMELY helpful in getting us a driver to drive us from Flamingo Beach to La Boruca. He was also helpful in finding us a driver to take us into town for a shopping day. Both drivers were safe (local driver was a former cop) which was extremely important for two women traveling in a foreign country.
Realize that La Boruca is some distance away from the city. Depending on your desires, this can be good or bad. But, Ken seems to be well connected in finding drivers and knowing ways to get where you may want to go. He's extremely helpful and knowledgeable. First night there we had dinner provided by the owners and it was excellent and more food than we could consume! There's a small town that walking distance although it's not much...a grocery store, church, and one shady looking bar. We went and bought "treats" at the grocery store and ran into Ken who graciously gave us a ride back. Ken also gave us a local cell phone to use while shopping in town. Extremely helpful in calling the driver to take us back at the end of the day.
I only have two very small complaints: 1) it was cold the two nights we were there. (it's in the mountains) Very chilly sleeping over night and we weren't well prepared. They do provide extra blankets, however. The water was cold too, which we believe was related to the weather. Ken did say he could turn up the water heater. 2) Ants attacked any food we left open overnight! Ken did warn us, so can't blame anyone but ourselves.
LOVED that they had wifi and a computer with MANY movies in the room. My friend is a movie buff and we watched 3-4 movies during our stay! Wifi couldn't support Facetime on my iPad, however.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PreferToNotSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
75
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

My family and I have stayed at Ken and Suzy's bed and breakfast for 4 nights spread out across our trip and the service has been fantastic. Our rooms were lovely coming with free wifi and a t.v. / computer with a variety of different entertainment within it. This place has everything you would expected from and bed and breakfast plus more. One thing that made a difference to our whole trip was Ken's invaluable advice and tips, he suggested restaurants, places to go and things to do, ALL that we managed to do we're fantastic. So I'm summary lovely B+B, fantastic owners and great advice!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomC1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Another wonderful stay with Ken and Suzy and family. Wonderful rooms and grounds (with a hummingbird nesting on this occasion!) and great food and hospitality.
The new addition of the fitness center is a great improvement, only steps away from the refreshing swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We could not have had a more welcoming experience. Our flight arrived late, our car rental didn't work out, and we were exhausted. Kenneth took care of everything from arranging to have us picked up at the car rental, to preparing us dinner which he served room service so we could relax after our trip. The food was wonderful, the room was comfortable and the wine was great. It was great way to arrive. We had only intended to stay for one night before heading out on our adventure exploring the country, but Kenneth was so accommodating and helpful, and the food and cooking was so amazing, and we enjoyed it so much, we ended up staying fro 3 nights! We hiked in the jungle, went to the Toucan Rescue Ranch, and had a great white water rafting and zip-lining tour- all arranged for us by Kenneth. He waited for us himself to pick us up after the earthquake and flooding delayed one of our returns- no complaints and he wouldn't say but I am pretty sure he waited for us for about an hour and a half. For my boyfriend's 40th birthday, he prepared the meat barbeque- AMAZING! A must have for visitors! The staff, accommodations, food and experience were absolutely top notch at La Boruca, and I will forever stay there when I fly into and out of San Jose. I can't wait to bring my daughter!

Room Tip: Loved the safari room- woke up every morning to the sounds of the breeze and birds in the trees and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband bookended a trip to Panama with stays at La Boruca, and we absolutely loved it. We did not want to stay in San Jose proper, and La Boruca is up in a residential area that is quiet and lovely. Kenneth was incredibly helpful and enjoyable to talk to; he arranged cab rides, tours of a toucan rescue (highly recommended - there are baby sloths!), and otherwise just helped us plan our days really well. On the last day we were there, we were lazy and tired and he brought food to the room so we could watch movies in bed with our dinner. Speaking of which: his wife's cooking is AMAZING. She makes, hands down, the best papas fritas I have ever had. The fish dinner is incredible. They have wifi, a great selection of movies, and the water is from a spring and is incredibly fresh and clear. Much thanks to Kenneth and his family for a wonderful stay. If you find yourself with a layover in the San Jose area, you can't do any better than staying at this lovely place.

Room Tip: The safari room is private and has beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im_elyse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My son and I just returned from a ten day tour of Costa Rica, which we began with a too-short stay at La Boruca. This charming B&B was an ideal launching pad for our adventure, and offered an outstanding introduction both to the beauty of the country and the warmth of its people. Tucked away in a small farming community, the property offers beautiful views, spectacularly landscaped grounds, marvelous birdwatching and a lovely creek. The highlight of our stay, however, was our host, Kenneth, who could not have been more generous with his time or excellent advice. His warm welcome, coupled with his wife Susannah's superb cooking (her "Egg on a Horse" breakfast quesadilla was probably the best thing we ate in CR), make this a memorable stop.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms, all of which are large and modern, and you can't go wrong with any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoTravel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choteau, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

La Boruca was the first stop on our 2 week Costa Rica vacation. My wife and I spent 2 nights there. Ken was a great host! When one of our plans in the area was rained out, he made some excellent suggestions to replace it. The food at La Boruca was top notch, we ate breakfast (included) and dinner (reasonably priced). Our room was perfect (we stayed in the safari room), just enough space for 2 people and our luggage. The computer in the room was very helpful and entertaining as well (we watched a couple movies after we got back form our trips to the city). It is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of San Jose, yet an easy drive to get to the Central Market, Cathedral, and History Museum. Thank you Ken!


P.S. Please give Felix & Marianna an extra rub behind the ears from both of us :)

Room Tip: The Safari Room was perfect for my wife and I. we had plenty of space to relax and put our luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_milo_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
880 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Boruca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boruca

Property: La Boruca
Address: Moravia San Jose, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 15 minutes from downtown San Jose on the hills heading to the Caribbean. The whole property is surrounded by lush gardens our rooms are modern and large all of them have high speed internet and a computer in the room with a nice flat screen to use our movie or music archive our beds are king size orthopedic, we offer hot water safe box and always free helpful advice on Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Boruca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Boruca Hotel San Jose
La Boruca Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing