We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food and the nicest people”
Review of La Boruca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Boruca
Ranked #5 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best food and the nicest people”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Loved this place, Kenneth is the best host you'll ever find. He really tries hard to make you feel at home. He arranged car services to and from the airport, even when we arrived at 1 am and left at 4:30 am.
His wife cooking is SPECTACULAR, make sure you eat there.

Room Tip: The corner room on the second level has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rastar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
75
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalsmeer, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

After our long flight we were welcomed here. It is away from San José, about 15 minutes by taxi. The place is great, Nice surroundings, good clean spacious rooms and bathroom. Family is warm and welcoming, we and our 4 year old girl had à great time. The owner is very helpfull. Breakfast is fine, but not too much. Dinner is great, but small portion ( for us it was good). The only thing is, you need à taxi to go everywhere, which will make your stay more expensive than expected. So, if you want a nice place to stay outside San José, do go there. But being extra dollars for all the taxi drives you need.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Host Kenneth is helpful, friendly, welcoming. The rooms are lovely and this hotel represents real comfort and luxury after a few days (or weeks) of slogging through rainforest and checking for scorpions under the bed. It's not just relative either - these rooms would be good rooms wherever you found them.

My best sleep and showers of the trip, with very good food in moderate portions. Kenneth is great for advice, booking taxis etc and made the stay that much easier and more pleasant.

Their "restaurant" area is outside, under cover, on a patio, surrounded by trees, plants, a hummingbird feeder, and is candle lit and really romantic. It's situated in grounds that are similarly appealing, with a little orchid garden, a small swimming pool (not sure if this is for customer use or not but I'm assuming most tourists would'nt be there long enough to find out), some great little walkways, trellises etc. Really pretty and Ken and family obviously really care about the impression they give. It's a great operation, really well set up for people seeking a bit of respite from the pressures and hassle either of the city or the jungle.

Tip: If this is as close as you get to San Jose on your trip, get a taxi into the city and experience the bustle - it's worth it to experience the colours, pace, smells and constant tooting of car horns.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

La Boruca has 4 rooms in a lovely outbuilding a few meters from the main house, lovely gardens and peaceful surroundings (even token countryside cows mooing in the distance) this place provided a peaceful oasis coming to and leaving Costa Rica. It's not ideal for discovering San Jose but as a stop over this place is wonderful and Kenneth and his wife are warm and welcoming.

Having internet and lots of films is a great bonus. The showers are big and have a good amount of pressure and proper hot water - lovely! Breakfast is nice, fruit to start and something more savoury afterwards. Not a lot of food but nice and their patio is beautiful :)

Kenneth is very helpful in general and in arranging taxi's to and from the airport and to and from San Jose - these are expensive though so should be factored into your expenses. Our costs were: $26 one way to or from the airport and $12 into or out of San Jose.

Of the two times we stayed there (top and tail of our trip) we ate dinner there once and it was nice, although I do agree with other reviewers that the price was nearly double what you'd pay at a Soda. It was nice but it is true that the portions weren't overly generous, although this didn't bother us on the night it's good to know in advance.

It would be great if this place had a price list or more up front information about how much everything will cost as our taxi from the airport (for example) wasn't quoted in our email exchange. I did assume it would cost but knowing figures in advance are always best.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for a certain type of trip / traveller / amount of time.

Room Tip: If you need sleep ask for the dark room - it doesn't get lots of light in the morning allowing f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

We spent our first and last night at Costa Rica with Kenneth and his lovely family.
The hosts are very friendly and hospitable, as soon as we got there and found our pickup (that Kenneth arranged), he called us to see everything is alright and invited us to lunch at a local restaurant. The place is remote from the big city (Kenneth has drivers that will drop you wherever you need at a reasonable price) and has only four rooms, which makes it very quiet and peaceful. The room we stayed at was very clean, big and comfortable. Kenneth helped us with the car renting, he knows a lot of people, and then with planning our trip, with lots of good tips, and even booked us a great hotel for our first night at the pacific. I have a lot more stories of how he helped us (and others who stayed there) but you get the point- best host we had!
If we ever get back to Costa Rica, we will definitely stay here!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OShapira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was a very nice place to stay for the beginning and the end of our trip. The setting was very tranquil and the many native plants were beautiful. The room was clean and spacious. The computer was also a plus. The problem as others have mentioned is the price of the meals we received and the taxi fare. The taxi fare we were charged from the airport was not bad,$10, which Ken paid and charged to our bill, but going back to the airport we were charged $20. So a total of $60 in taxi fare. Our first night was over $200 when the room was only $50. We did have a bottle of wine with dinner and a few beers, but we still were pretty surprised. The portions of food were pretty small compared to other restaurants we have been going to for the past 10 years in Costa Rica. Also, it is at least a 45 minute drive from the airport and after a 5 hour flight it was a bit too far. We have stayed in many nice hotels much closer to the airport. Our fault for not checking first. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Wauw, where to start?

We stayed in CR for 3 months, hence 43 reviews. Trust us, we have seen CR and we can honestly say this place, these people are more then the possible 5 stars.

We stayed with Kenneth and his family for 4 nights. The garden, the food, the care, the beds, the cleaniness, the prepatory comminication and the stay as a whole are all 5 stars.

However, during these 3 months Kenneth and his family have shown a genuine hospitality that is so typical for the Ticos. Compared to Ticos, Kenneth is an icon. He has helped us numerous times. Whether is car rental, ipad programing, camera purchase, hotel discounts, taxi services, telephone card services, flat tire, recommodations where to stay and where to go, hospital arrangements (unfortunately we had to visit one), Kenneth was there for us.
He was a beacon for us.
We always knew, when we would get into trouble....there's always Kenneth.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
880 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Boruca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boruca

Property: La Boruca
Address: Moravia San Jose, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 15 minutes from downtown San Jose on the hills heading to the Caribbean. The whole property is surrounded by lush gardens our rooms are modern and large all of them have high speed internet and a computer in the room with a nice flat screen to use our movie or music archive our beds are king size orthopedic, we offer hot water safe box and always free helpful advice on Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Boruca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Boruca Hotel San Jose
La Boruca Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing