We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Find”
Review of El Balcon de Europa - CLOSED

El Balcon de Europa
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Charming Find”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We enjoyed the old world charm of this intimate cozy restaurant located close to our hotel .
The restaurant was recommended both in a guide book as well as by the hotel. We were happy we stopped in, the wood panelling and old style photos give it a warm atmoshere,, as if you stepped back in time.
The service was good the waiter was friendly and the food was very enjoyable. We lingered over dinner and did not feel in the least bit rushed. A pretty, inviting restaurant with reasonable prices.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eve26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
172 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“great decor, good food”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My mother and I had a great time reading all the philosophy quotes on the walls, and looking at the historic pictures of San Jose and Costa Rica. An added bonus was the English menu, great waiter, good food and reasonable prices. And it was an easy walk from our hotel, the Presidente, just past the end of the pedestrian Calle Central.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TawnyaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice little Central European restaurant in the Center of San Jose”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The old owner was Polish but he retired due to ill-health. His menu was good and varied. You could watch him through open kitchen door and see how clean it was, and he frequently came out to greet guests. The last time I visited it was still good under the new owner and I will try it again one of these days. It is in the heart of the "night club" district with a pick up bar right next door, and since I'm not a frequenter of those places I have no reason to want to be nearby. BUT! Having said that it is still possible to visit the restaurant even with your wife or two ladies together and have a nice old world European meal.

Helpful?
2 Thank drushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Ab
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite Italian Restaurant in San Jose”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I gave this restaurant 5's throughout only because it has remained my favorite for 20 years, and they haven't let me down yet. The head waiter Bennett has been there all that time, and, by now demonstrates more enthusiasm and attention to detail than ever. Was bought by a french woman about 5 years ago, she rejuvenated the franchise. This is a necessary stop for dinner when in San Jose.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank orski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful pasta in downtown San Jose”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I had two different pasta dishes here last week and both were wonderful. The pasta is fresh and as light as you can get in Italy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Balcon de Europa also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing