We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel 1110
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$75
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$123
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Casa Colon(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$46
$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
19
12
18
15
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
12
18
15
15
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 79 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice place with decent bfst included. Good helpful staff always willing to help. Hottest shower I've had in Central America as well which was a bonus. Recommended.
Good kitchen and nice courtyard to eat in. Location not bad and close to downtown area

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Quinten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hostel was the cleanest one and it seems to be really safe but there were only two or three other guests!!! Rooms are quite new and the staff is really friendly and helpful. I went there twice and I would always come back! I also recommended it to two friends and they were quite satisfied as well!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We ended up in Hostel 1110 by accident after missing our bus from the Tracopa bus station. A taxi driver took us here and at the time we were just grateful to have somewhere to stay. The owner was welcoming and we got a private room. The room was fine but didn't feel 100% clean. It needed redecorating and the bathroom smelled bad. We didn't use the bathroom for that reason. The room didn't have any ventilation and the door didn't lock properly. We saw the dorms and they didn't look great either. The area at night did not feel safe and we didn't go out. The price is good but I think there are better hostels in San José. With a little renovation and care it could be a decent place. Only go here if you are desperate to be within walking distance of the bus station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibber16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hostel is fine if maybe you're staying for a night in San Jose and are weary from travelling and just need to pass out in a bed, any bed.

The beds were pretty uncomfortable (many missing slats) and the room incredibly crowded with bunk beds, barely enough space for your bag.

Breakfast is 2 little slices of white bread, there's margarine in the fridge. Not particularly clean... Our real frustration was that none of the staff had a clue about general travel information- such as bus stations (there are several for different destinations). We really struggled to find out which bus station to go to and where, to get to Monteverde. The staff really didn't know. To run a hostel, we think this is essential!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tokentravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Awful rooms, not clean, no service, dirty shared bathroom, dirty sheets, breakfast is selfservice and includes two slices of bread with jelly out of a huge 'tub'. No restaurants in the surrounded area. Dont go here!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews