We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A simple cheap option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palm House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palm House Inn
Ranked #31 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A simple cheap option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We only stayed 1 day and 2 nights. Rooms clean and sufficient.The position is pretty central and near the National museum. The breakfast is very simple but enough. As mentioned in previous posts the shower drains tend to overflow very quickly.
The reception guys really went out of there way to help us locate our lost baggage at the airport and helped with calls etc.

Room Tip: Our first night we had rooms on the entrance floor next to the reception desk. We had to move for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
23
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

As others have said, this hotel is centrally located and reasonably clean. The room is basic but clean.Terrible drainage in bathroom - water goes everywhere after a shower and you're in a swamp. Whatever you do, don't leave anything on the floor! Breakfast is a bit of a joke. And, while centrally located, the street itself is all barred windows and barbed wire; a bit sketchy. Nearest parking is very expensive, but if you drive a block or 2 you'll find affordable and safe parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Lauderdale
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

On my way to Nicaragua I often stay at this hotel. Not because it's so great, but the location is perfect. Short walk to everywhere in San Jose. The rooms are reasonably clean and small but sufficient for a short stay. No luxury, but also the price is ok with about $ 50/night. What can you expect? The staff is friendly, the breakfast is not worth eating it but as I said before, you can walk to excellent cafes on calle central, watch people and have breakfast.
Basically the price is right, the staff is friendly and it's convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panamacityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is located near the National Museum which makes it an excellent option to visit the main attractions in the city. Although the facade is not very chip, inside the rooms are very clean and the bathroom is new. Staff are very kind and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price. I would recommend it. Good quality-price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLibelula_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

1 star for the polite service who was even able to call our tour company for us when they were running late to pick us up.

1 star for relatively modern rooms complete with an updated bathroom and crown molding. However there were two beds crammed into a tiny room leaving minimal room to maneuver around our suitcases. Also like another reviewer mentioned, we had "stains" on our sheets. And worse part of it all, there was NO HOT WATER even after letting the water run for several minutes. After a long flight, taking a cold shower was not very pleasant.

And finally 1 point for location - well kinda. We had a quiet night's sleep and were in walking distance to a supermarket and restaurants. However we were extremely nervous walking around at night as the area is a bit grungy with no tourists in sight but plenty of locals staring at us.

Overall, I think the hotel was totally sufficient for a night's stay after flying into San Jose. You can start the real trip bright and early the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachsuntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uetikon am See, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The rooms at the Palm House Inn, were not too big but modern, very clean and had everything which was needed. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and we could use the internet for free. As we did not have time to eat breakfast, our bus left very early, we can not give a comment about this point.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi und Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel was in the best spot in town for walking around and exploring. It was right next to the National Museum and across the street was a souvenir market with great shopping. The beds were a bit of a joke. They were on wheels or something and kept moving around. But everything was clean and of good quality. The staff was excellent, especially Juan Carlos who gave us great ideas for places to visit. I would stay there again, just for the location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shai_Gyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#35 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Del Museo
Posada Del Museo
#45 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Alfi
Casa Alfi
#8 of 66 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
#36 of 66 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colonial Escazu
Hotel Colonial Escazu
#3 of 6 in San Rafael de Escazu
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm House Inn

Property: The Palm House Inn
Address: Calle 13 Ave 2 y 6, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palm House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Palm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm House Hotel San Jose
The Palm House Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing