We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Place feels dead, not at all as advertised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Toruma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Toruma
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Place feels dead, not at all as advertised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A President's former residence, I'm sure this place was cool once, but no longer. The staff were rude/apathetic, the key rarely worked in locks, we were charged $5 extra to check in 3-4 hrs early when they had plenty of room, the pool was ice cold, there is NOTHING around the hostel outside, and they don't have a functioning bar or restaurant of any kind as advertised (they try and send you to another hostel Pangea 3 kms down the road). The place feels dead. Don't book here. Go with a brand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnoobyGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    12
    4
See reviews for
2
6
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Went with a colleague/friend of mine temporarily since hotels were all booekd up. Got this as a recommendation from their sister hotel Pangea. 3 Main Points:

1. Expectations
2. Staff
3. Value for Money

**
Expectations:
Not at all like the pictures. There was no restaurant in the hotel as advertised. Rooms were clean but not the rooms we were promised on check-in. We asked specifically for 2 rooms with single beds or at least a room with 2 separate beds but were duped into a dorm room that had 1 queen bed and bunk beds. Bathroom was clean but literally leaked into the room.

Staff:
Neither the lady (working noon-ish on Saturday) nor the young man (working Sunday) were service minded at all. Lady charged extra dollar for an extra key, but did not put it in the receipt as a deposit. Did not even note it for the man. Not usually a big deal, but he got defensive when I mentioned this and gave a "not my problem" vibe even if he could have easily checked with her or offered to check and have me come back for the tiny deposit(I wouldn't have, it's the gesture that mattered). Very curt. Not very warm.

Value for Money:
Website says a certain amount with no hidden fees, got charged 10 dollars more total. Did not get room key deposit back (they have an inconsistent system). Noise was unbelievable for the amount we paid. They advertise orthopedic mattresses for all beds, but did not deliver either.

All in all, would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Better ask for a room much farther from the lobby, but you won't get your wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's a FABOULOUS!! Stay! at Hostel Toruma! in San Jose, Costa Rica! Right next to Downtown San Jose, and all the famous landmarks, Hot Spots! and Near San Pedro Shopping Mall ! I consider Hostel Toruma my "Retreat Home" When I Land there from United States. I feel "At Home" and feel like a Royality! Being treated Royality! the costs is not too bad! it's reasonable and cheap! But the Pool is lovely! Swimming Pool is Absoultey Stunning!! but COLD!!! Brrr Wish They have Heated! Swimming pool ! But other than that! Just make myself "At Home!" With Hostel Toruma! I DEFIENTLY!!! Will Be coming back! :D (Y)

Room Tip: They EVEN! have Dormitory and Bunk beds for group travelers! or go Solo or in Couple and share the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalCasey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Room was right next to a train line which had trains beeping all through the night. It's a fair walk to the city centre. But the thing that annoyed me most was that they didn't have a place for me to store my luggage after checking out. Also there's no kitchen and no restaurant, the showers are unreliable and there are very few electrical outlets to charge your stuff.

I wouldn't come back personally.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeaganBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

There is No Restaurant. It closed last year. The advertisements aren't true.

No Bar.

No Hot Water.

The safe in the room is tiny and wouldn't fit an iPad.

Not a good neighborhood.

You have to put a $11 deposit to get a TV remote.

The walls are paper thin so you hear everything. People weren't even being that loud but it was enough to keep me awake all night.

There is a train that runs directly by the hostel. It blows it's horn every 20 minutes or so.

Rooms are not nice in general. There is NO hot water.

This hostel is WAY overpriced.

Don't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderingaround88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ended up here as apparently this was the 'sister' hostel to Hostel Pangea, our initial first choice. Faced with no rooms and lots of luggage we had no choice but to take their offer of a 'free' shuttle to downtown San Jose. We were made to pay first before even seeing the place. When we got here our private room was really just a small dorm with 4 bunk beds and not much else. Despite paying $17 each we had to use a shared bathroom at the other side of the hotel. We paid extra for the use of towels and the free coffee was so weak it was more like slightly coloured water.
The staff we ok but really I am sure you'd get an ok hotel for what you pay here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buffjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Shared a twin room, granted, we didn't spend the extra thirty bucks for the double, but you would have at least thought they would have at least provided a top sheet for the beds?

Warm (not hot) showers, and weak internet connection. Pretty, but fairly Meh

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBanshee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bergerac
Hotel Le Bergerac
#40 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaps Place
Kaps Place
#1 of 66 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 71 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Yoses Hostel
Casa Yoses Hostel
#11 of 71 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Voltaire
Hotel Le Voltaire
#18 of 102 in San Jose Metro
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Toruma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Toruma

Property: Hostel Toruma
Address: Central Avenue, between 29 & 33 Sts, Los Yoses, San Jose 68241000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 71 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Toruma 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Hostel Toruma Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing