We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Noisy trains with bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Toruma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Toruma
2 reviews
“Noisy trains with bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Room was right next to a train line which had trains beeping all through the night. It's a fair walk to the city centre. But the thing that annoyed me most was that they didn't have a place for me to store my luggage after checking out. Also there's no kitchen and no restaurant, the showers are unreliable and there are very few electrical outlets to charge your stuff.

I wouldn't come back personally.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeaganBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    12
    4
See reviews for
2
6
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

There is No Restaurant. It closed last year. The advertisements aren't true.

No Bar.

No Hot Water.

The safe in the room is tiny and wouldn't fit an iPad.

Not a good neighborhood.

You have to put a $11 deposit to get a TV remote.

The walls are paper thin so you hear everything. People weren't even being that loud but it was enough to keep me awake all night.

There is a train that runs directly by the hostel. It blows it's horn every 20 minutes or so.

Rooms are not nice in general. There is NO hot water.

This hostel is WAY overpriced.

Don't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderingaround88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ended up here as apparently this was the 'sister' hostel to Hostel Pangea, our initial first choice. Faced with no rooms and lots of luggage we had no choice but to take their offer of a 'free' shuttle to downtown San Jose. We were made to pay first before even seeing the place. When we got here our private room was really just a small dorm with 4 bunk beds and not much else. Despite paying $17 each we had to use a shared bathroom at the other side of the hotel. We paid extra for the use of towels and the free coffee was so weak it was more like slightly coloured water.
The staff we ok but really I am sure you'd get an ok hotel for what you pay here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buffjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Shared a twin room, granted, we didn't spend the extra thirty bucks for the double, but you would have at least thought they would have at least provided a top sheet for the beds?

Warm (not hot) showers, and weak internet connection. Pretty, but fairly Meh

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBanshee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

To start things off, they didn't pick us up from the airport like we agreed upon! We called twice and they finally send somebody an hour later. Then gave us a room in the lobby, which didn't seem bad at first. A few hours later the lobby turned into a party. It was like we were sleeping in the lobby with a whole fraternity. When we told the staff, they simply stared at us and told us there was nothing to do. It got quieter after ten, but the walls are so thin and most of the rooms let out into the lobby, that you could hear everything!

The room itself was very simple. The sheets wouldn't stay on the bed, the towel were full of holes and they didn't have a fan. There was hot water, which was one of the few things good about this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ndash213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Like the traveller who wrote the review in 2008 we also had a sleepless night. It is SO noisy in this hostel, you don't get the sleep that you expect of a hostel charging these prices. When we complainted at the front-desk the manager told me that it wasn't the hostels fault that the room was full of trafficsounds. As if I could do anything about it....I booked a room because I wanted to sleep, and unfortunatelt I didn't.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida2424
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

my friend and I stayed here, and although its located in a better part of town, the pictures on internet were nothing like the place. we were charged $30 a night for a private that should have been only $15 for the night. There was sooo much noise all night from cars and a newly added train, there was not much sleeping. the showers didn't work, dribbling water or no hot water. There were no extra perks of staying here. I would not pay this much money to stay here again. I would keep walking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puravida2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
2.1 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Los Yoses Suites
Apartotel Los Yoses Suites
#61 of 83 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jade
Boutique Hotel Jade
#1 of 3 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 72 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Yoses Hostel
Casa Yoses Hostel
#10 of 72 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
In & Basic Hostel Lounge
In & Basic Hostel Lounge
#15 of 72 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Toruma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Toruma

Property: Hostel Toruma
Address: Central Avenue, between 29 & 33 Sts, Los Yoses, San Jose 68241000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 72 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Toruma 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hostel Toruma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Toruma Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing