We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this wonderful place, highly recommend it, great value!”
Review of Casa Lima B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Lima B & B
Ranked #4 of 64 San Jose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“LOVED this wonderful place, highly recommend it, great value!”
Reviewed May 20, 2010

The Casa Lima is a great little place with a rainforest in the center court yard complete with many different kinds of birds, a monkey, a coy pond, a waterfall and even it's own rain. It is charming and lovely and very very clean. The leaves that fell one day in the 'rainforest' courtyard complete with plant canopy were gone by the next day.
The room was lovely, simple and the bed was very comfortable. The airconditioning worked just fine. The food was wonderful, pizza and spagetti and sandwiches.
As a woman traveling alone, I was very comfortable and liked it so much that I rarely went out at night, but had dinner in because the food was really good and very reasonable!. It's a secure and safe hotel. The people are helpful, friendly and accomodating. Ask anything and you'll be helped to make choices of where to go. I loved the excursion they recommended. The 'center' of San Jose' which I really didn't like was only a $5 cab ride away. Lots of little local hole in the wall restaurants near by. Simply a wonderful place to stay. In reading some of the complaints by other travelers about things in general, I do wonder why they travel?? If you are in an open courtyard and see a fly, what are you thinking, complain to the big guy in the sky, not about the hotel.
I will be going back to San Jose for more dental work and one thing is for sure, I will stay at the Casa Lima

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    44
    5
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
71
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

This hotel is average at best, the rooms are OK but our "executive suite" rooms had a window that looked into the noisy laundry room and was a bit smelly. (Adding insult we had thought we had actually booked a cheaper room but were placed in a more expensive "suite" which they informed us of when we left).

The hotel shut its pizza restaurant for our first night and only told us at 8.30pm as we sat for dinner, (this would have been fine if they had told us when we checked in) their advice was to walk to a chinese or McDonalds. Breakfast was poor too, involving bread and jam with a few slices of fruit - although the service at breakfast was OK.

On the plus side the service is OK, the maid is great and the staff are friendly. The location is quite good if you want to avoid the centre and it is near malls if you like them.

The hotel is simply not value for money ($75, not including tax - not the $65 we wanted).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluearmyMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Upon our arrival at Casa Lima, we were met by Nelson the proprietor & his staff. Nelson immediately donned an apron and prepared for us, a delicious home-cooked meal, which was a welcomed treat considering the airline did not feed us. This was our first trip to CR and we were supposed to meet up with friends. Unfortunately, it did not work out that way and we were stuck with virtually nothing to do. Again, it was Nelson to the rescue, setting up a tour to the Hot Springs which turned out to be the highlight of my stay. And, it did not leave me broke either. Our 2-bedroom suite was cleaned daily and had a wonderful homey feel. There was a lush garden beyond the dining room - a lovely backdrop for photos. You can take pictures with Don Rico, the resident monkey rescued by the family. Well worth the money. I am definitely returning to CR and guess where I am going to stay (again)? Yep, Casa LIma. Nelson also arranges airport pick up and drop off. Beside the local fare, he can prepare just about treat for the palette. Nelson is the BOMB & Casa Lima is your home away from home!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malaika354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

As owners of a Bed & Breafast, we try to find interesting and unique stays. After a great nine day Caravan Tour of Costa Rica, we wanted a place to just sit back and relax for three days before heading back to work in US. Nelson was a great host. Our host made us great meals-- not just for breakfast --Great Pizza! Wonderful garden courtyard to sit back in and read and relax. Enjoyed spending time watching the many rescued birds and especially Kiko the white faced monkey. A great Value!!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BupaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2010

The host, Nelson Ruiz, made us feel welcome even before we got there. He suggested a car service rather than a taxi and they were great. I was sure we were being taken directly to the B&B rather than being given a tour of San Jose!
Casa Lima hospitality was the best. Rooms were big and clean. The garden is delightful, with Kiko the monkey to entertain and various birds, fish and a tortoise. The food was good and Nelson encouraged us to try new tastes, which turned out to be wonderful. He provided support after our car was broken into, allowing us access to his phone and computer so we could do all the necessary things needed. We felt like family rather than paying guests. And I observed that he treated all his guests that way. I would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in the San Jose area. When I go back to CR, I will use Casa Lima as my base of operations. It will be like coming "home".

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongBeachMom65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We enjoyed staying at Casa Lima because we wanted to get a more authentic feel for the location than a hotel or resort could provide. Casa Lima gave us that and even better service. Nelson was always there to give us advice, book excursions - it was more like staying at a friend's house. The interior (common areas) were nicely decorated and quiet. He also has wi-fi, a laptop we could borrow, and magic jack phone service so we could call the states for free.
As with any B&B, some of the amenities are not the same quality you would get in a hotel, but all the essentials (A/C, private bath, rooms cleaned daily) were there. The price was very reasonable. And in that part of town (2 blocks from the US embassy) we always felt safe.
Also they serve lunch and dinner which was always very good and at a very good price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveFromOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2010

The staff at Casa Lima was Amazing! Ask for their Spaghetti or Pizza. It is increidible. We were newlyweds looking for cozy, quite, and simple. We got it! If you are a resort type of person- don't go there. If you are looking to experience true Costa Rican life, then this is the place to go. All around, I wouldn't have gone any other place. Be sure to say hi to Don Kiko!

:-)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizy312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
876 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 76 in San Jose
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#27 of 76 in San Jose
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 76 in San Jose
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lima B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lima B & B

Property: Casa Lima B & B
Address: Del Colegio Humboldt 175 norte 50 oeste | 50 Oeste, Number 23, Rohrmoser, San Jose 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Lima B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A small-paradise." is what we often hear from our guests’. Casa Lima is a small exclusive bed and breakfast nestled in one of Costa Rica's unique and privileged neighborhood, Rohrmoser. Located only 15 minutes from San Jose city centre and the airport, Casa Lima offers the perfect strategic location for visiting the Central Valley and exploring Costa Rica. Only a short drive away from all the amenities of San Jose and Escazu, yet located in a tranquil and relaxed tropical setting. Casa Lima is only two blocks away from the American Embassy in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Lima B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Lima Bed And Breakfast
Casa Lima Hotel San Jose
Casa Lima B & B Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing